We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch on a Sunday afternoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Johannesburg to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Harare, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Brunch on a Sunday afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Ambiance was wonderful as we sat outside listening to the birds and the trickle of the little rock pool and greenery. Took an older person who was supported from the minute we arrived till we sat down to order. The garden gives a sense of space and an oasis in the middle of the city. The service was provided with a smile and the portions for a la carte breakfast were generous with an additional basket of fresh rolls.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    103
    34
    13
    12
See reviews for
18
36
26
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you are conducting business in the area (Sandton, Melrose, Rosebank etc.) then you would be hard pressed to find anything much better. It is not a Grand Hyatt but it is perfectly functional and close to both the Rosebank mall and Gautrain station (20m minutes to the airport).
The rooms are spacious if a little plain and the food is reasonably priced and passable - although the beds are rather too hard for my liking. The staff are all friendly enough but this hotel has a reputation for maids with sticky fingers.
So lock up your belongings and relax after a hard day at the office - but it won't impress the wife or family as a holiday destination.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street are actually quieter than those overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

It is a treat for locals to sample our five star hotels...

We had a delicious afternoon of Cocktail inspired relaxation after arduous shopping in 37degree Celsius heat.

Our waitress went out of her way to get cranberry juice for my Cosmo. It is a beautiful environment and making an effort to connect with the staff bodes well for a full experience of their friendliness...

Come try it out. Recommended by a Proudly South African Blissful Voyager :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

In December my husband & I stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the restaurant, the spa & the shopping mall that is connected to the hotel. This was a stopping point before starting our safari. Even though this is considered a business hotel it is very welcoming serving a wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Forming part of the Rosebank shopping and entertainment development a great place for a 4 star business hotel with all you need. At first take the hotel does not appear to have many facilities but just outside in the mall is all you need for a relaxing weekend of shopping, eating and relaxation - we had a great time and organised via a very helpful concierge a great half day (++) mini safari in a game park, great fun! Stayed on club floor which was really good a real treat after two days on the train up from Cape Town

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hyatt has a nice layout and good location but is somewhat overrated. Staff was pleasant and attentive but the facilities lack five star quality - the gym, although newly renovated, is too basic. Internet did not work at all, then at certain floors only. Laundry did not quite get instructions right. Front desk failed to register that I wanted to prolong for a day.

But the bar area is great for meetings and the hotel is convenient for the Rosebank Malls

Room Tip: Away from Oxford Rd - noisy traffic and not overly insulated windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on my way through Johannesburg. The location is great with lots of shopping nearby. I found the service to be quick and prompt for the most part, which is VERY good for South Africa in general..... If you enjoy shopping, enjoy the usual Hyatt service and want to feel safe and comfortable, I would stay here.

Room Tip: Pool is a bit small, however the spa area and gym are good for a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Address: 191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is situated in the cosmopolitan suburb of Rosebank, a modern district in the North of Johannesburg. Our hotel provides easy access to Sandton, Constitution Hill and African craft markets. With 244 luxury rooms & suites featuring African-inspired decor and fully integrated meeting & conference venues, Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is the business traveller's hotel of choice. Guests are invited to experience the rich wellness of our Amani Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Hotel Johannesburg
Hyatt Johannesburg
Johannesburg Hyatt Regency

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.