We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Johannesburg to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Really good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I echo other recent reviewers' comments. This is a quality hotel in a good location in the Rosebank complex. Service and food are very good and the open air pool (6th floor?) is very relaxing after a tough day. It's easy to walk out to the many restaurants nearby, so I did not get the chance to try the hotel restaurant, but i will next time.

Room Tip: Try the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    120
    43
    13
    14
See reviews for
21
40
29
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I don't usually give five stars for my reviews , but this was an exception. We stayed at the Hyatt regency, Rosebank , Jo'burg for 3 nights, and it was worth the money we paid. The location must really be commended. Situated right behind the sprawling Rosebank mall area, direct access via the hotel too. We being vegetarians had very few options for dinner during the New Year's Eve , with all the restaurants outside being closed. However , the staff at the all day cafe was so nice, they delivered us nice veggie sandwiches with fries to our room, which was really great!!!! Great work guys!
The breakfast was also commendable , the only suggestion would e to have a counter for hot food in the dining area itself , instead of us ordering for it every time from the back counter.
The concierge were very helpful, they booked us a guided tour of the lion park, which was awesome!
The gym was also very well maintained and was pleasantly surprised to find it open 24 hours!
Overall , a great hotel to stay in!
Will return for sure!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a beautiful place and the service is perfect. Friendly and helpful staff that helps you in organizing your stay. The rooms are nice, clean and luxurious as you may expect from this hotel branch. The breakfast buffet is outstanding, multiple types of fish, cheeses, bread and fruits. There is also a good fish restaurant in the shopping mall. While this is Hyatt, Wifi is only free at the bar, a little pathetic nowadays. Also, some staff members were not helpful to my wife, there is still a gap between man and woman in South Africa. Unfortunately, the swimming pool was closed due to maintenance but the gym offered a good place to work out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
409 reviews 409 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
726 helpful votes 726 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was met at the airport as agreed and received a room on the Hyatt Gold floor (I am a member). The room is just your typical good size business hotel room. The bathroom, however, is larger and nicer than in many hotels, with black marble, a separate shower, a large soaking tub, and a very fluffy robe. There is a safe and an ironing board, a TV, an ipod docking station, and a mini bar (haven't looked yet).
The lobby, especially the outdoor part, is very scenic and seems like a great place to while away the afternoon (which I hope to do later this week). The spa is very nice (and super affordable - I just had a 90 min African massage, a 30 min scrub+spa tub soak, and bought a jar of product the massage therapist used - all for ZAR 1200 - which is just over EUR 100 I think; I only wish they had fresh fruit and hot tea) and so is the gym - again, larger than in many hotels and well equipped with modern machines.
There is a fantastic looking small outdoor pool which I haven't tried, a steam room, a sauna, and a hot tub.
Overall a great choice and I would not hesitate to recommend. Haven't tried their food, but breakfast selections, which I am looking at now for tomorrow, look good (and cheap!) with plentiful continental, egg, fruit, yogurt, cereal, meat, etc. options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Johannesburg was my last stop in South Africa and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for four nights with a safari in between. I really have to compliment the staff - everyone was terrific. I decided at the last minute to do a safari and the hotel was able to rejig my reservation allowing me to go to Pilanesberg for three days. The hotel is connected to what seemed like a couple of different malls which was convenient because the Hyatt in a residential neighbourhood. The rooftop pool was beautiful and the gym modern and well equipped. This is an excellent hotel to get work done, or for relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofn, Iceland
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

With these chain hotels, you always look for something different, something special. And there's always a temptation not to like them, to complain that they all look the same. Hyatt, in particular, at the top end does manage to create a certain look and feel. But unlike with some chains, the Hyatt does it so well: it does classy, tasteful and sumptuous.
The Johannesburg Hyatt has huge rooms (and I could see that mine was one of the smaller ones) with acres of carpet, acres of marble, huge TV, huge windows and a bed big enough to graze small horses. Or even medium-sized ones.
The bathrooms are spacious but not on the same scale, with a separate glass shower cabin, although the overall effect was reduced by a remarkably feeble shower head. The water trickled out. Normally in these kinds of hotels the water pressure blasts you into the opposite wall and you have to peel yourself off with a spatula, but this shower was like drizzle.
The public areas were grand, as to be expected, with incredible smiley, helpful, eager staff everywhere. There's a huge gym and a rooftop pool alongside a spa.
The hotel is by the Rosebank Mall, but more importantly it's just 30 seconds walk from the north exit of Rosebank Gautrain station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINGAPORE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a world class hotel. Unbelievable service. Staff was polite, eager to serve, and exceptionally friendly. food was delicious. Well worth the price. Pleasant outside patio for Alfresco dining. great location to shopping center and rail transport to and from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Address: 191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#19 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is situated in the cosmopolitan suburb of Rosebank, a modern district in the North of Johannesburg. Our hotel provides easy access to Sandton, Constitution Hill and African craft markets. With 244 luxury rooms & suites featuring African-inspired decor and fully integrated meeting & conference venues, Hyatt Regency Johannesburg is the business traveller's hotel of choice. Guests are invited to experience the rich wellness of our Amani Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Hyatt Regency Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Hotel Johannesburg
Hyatt Johannesburg
Johannesburg Hyatt Regency

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.