We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but very aged hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnyside Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunnyside Park Hotel to your Saves list
Sunnyside Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princess of Wales Terrace | Parktown, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Mauritius
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful but very aged hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Sunnyside Park Hotel is indeed a beautiful hotel nested in a lush garden with wonderful trees and lovely birds as well as nice litte curio-like sculptures. The buffet dinner is very nice and the food tasty but it could really be more varied. I was in the old wing and the rooms there and the public areas are in serious need of renovation- the carpets are old, tired and even stained in a number of places. I must say that some partial renovation seemed to be going on in the public areas. Internet access was fine on the first few days but during the last two days, I simply had no access from my room so I had to do my emails from the lobby. The personnel is warm and very friendly and the tour company within the hotel is simply excellent.

Room Tip: The new wing room seems to be less aged and in better condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    39
    26
    19
    6
See reviews for
12
11
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

It's a real pity. It's a shame. The Sunnyside Park Hotel has history and grace, a useful location and doesn't have the soulless polish of a modern hotel.

However, the age shows. The rooms are old and tired, internet connectivity is basically non-existent and the rickety lifts and staircases one needs to traverse to get to far-flung rooms inspire concern.

The staff are pleasant and helpful and, for some, the location and price are a winner. If you don't expect too much or like the idea of staying in a building with history, it might still be worth trying.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Well, it was mt first time in SA, we were booked in this hotel to be near our ofc in SA where training was taking place. To me, it was a great place to stay, new experience, new food though too much sea food, friendly people though with high need for tips in every thing, it was clean, we were in the new wing and it was spacious though it got very cold in the night. I would recommend it for whoever is visiting SA.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela Bela
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was in Johannesburg to do a music and lighting show for Rennies Travel year end function and was booked into Sunnyside Park Hotel, I was pleasantly supprised, on arrival we were met by friendly, well spoken and helpfull staff, the grounds are stunning as are the rooms. The only thing I found a bit annoying is the supply of coffee and sugar in the rooms, when one has been on the road all day and done a show at night it would be nice to have coffee before bed time and in the morning but when 2 or more stay in the room one can not.
Other than that, a wonderfill experiance and I will certainly be back, well done.

Room Tip: Just explain to front desk what you want and they will not dissapoint you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is very conveniently situated and offers good service, comfortable rooms, pleasant staff and excellent breakfasts in a great atmosphere. I have stayed there many times now and I am always happy to return. The hotel building is a national monument, and visitors should be aware of that: many parts of it cannot be changed - and should not be changed! That does mean there are some challenges and there are parts that are in need of refurbishment. Getting to some parts of the hotel does require the use of stairs. The Wi-Fi network does not consistently reach all parts of the hotel. There are no bar fridges in the rooms.

Room Tip: Specify on booking if you need good Wi-Fi access, and also if you cannot climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumkur, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a very pleasent stay.The rooms were clean and well maintained.The staff were very friendly.The breakfast was great.The swimming pool was great.Pound and penny pub was good.A display board says it is a National monument 1895.The garden was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level Contributor
121 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel has lost the plot!! I do not have any nice things to say about it. I stayed in the old part and I had to walk 2 flight of stairs!! The hotel needs a revamp, it should not be allowed to classify itself as a 4-star, there is nothing 4-star about it. It is very popular as a meeting venue and I think they are quite happy to provide for this group of traveller, at the expense of those who are not there as a group.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
2.1 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
2.1 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#33 of 71 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Parktonian
Protea Hotel Parktonian
#1 of 3 in Braamfontein
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Park Hotel

Address: Princess of Wales Terrace | Parktown, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnyside Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historically restored Johannesburg hotel, the Sunnyside Park Hotel, has been completely refurbished to capture the elegance and charm of a bygone era. Built in 1895 in a Victorian-style, the hotel is centrally located providing the business executive and the leisure traveller with easy access to the Johannesburg CBD, Rosebank, Sandton and the Johannesburg International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Sunnyside Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Park Johannesburg
Hotel Sunnyside Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnyside Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.