We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frayed around the edges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnyside Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunnyside Park Hotel to your Saves list
Sunnyside Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prince of Wales Terrace, Parktown | 2 York Road, Johannesburg, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Atlanta
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Frayed around the edges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Hotel has old and new parts. I stayed in the new part. Room standard with firm bed, windows that open or heat/air although it shut itself off at times, flat screen tv with limited channels, coffee/tea, safe, odd cabinets, large enough closet with hangers and shelves, duvet or blanket Plastic edge of shower door falling off, some discoloration of grout, toilet in small space, sufficient counter space, separate tub and shower, laundry line, hair dryer.

Inconsistent service. All hotel personnel polite and tried to help when asked.
Some towels were frayed. Housekeeping uneven--sometimes received face cloth, sometimes not; once received shower cap; sometimes bath floor swept, sometimes not; twice entered room and serviced despite Do Not Disturb sign on door.

Front desk staff always on phone, but would eventually hang up to help in person guest. Sometimes bellman overwhelmed with daily bus tour group.

Lots of staff standing at attention at breakfast until on unspoken command they would collect their own breakfast and disappear into the kitchen leaving only 1 or 2 staff. Plenty of room except 7:30-8:30 weekdays.

I saw several irons/boards sitting outside doors for delivery/pick up.

Housekeeping and grounds maintenance (leaf blower) begin promptly and noisily at 8am each day.

Several machines not working in exercise room, but there was one treadmill, bicycle, crosstrainer, and step machine working as well as weights available. The controls for the ceiling fans are sort of hidden. TV turned on/off by standing on stool. Door does not close/lock.

Tour company staff friendly and helpful.

Small garden pleasant. Many benches covered with bird droppings. Can sit at outdoor restaurant.

Internet inconsistent and low bandwidth. Occasional short power interruption at night.

Same large selection at breakfast each day. I had a citrus salad in the dining room that was great and a beef burger in the pub that was inedible. Can dine/drink outdoors.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    20
    14
    5
See reviews for
10
10
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed for one night to be close to Parktown at a reasonable rate. The hotel is old, but reasonably clean and safe. We asked reception to order us a taxi to Parktown North, which they promptly did and a gentleman arrived shortly after. About 5 minutes into the trip we realised that he was an unlicensed cab and his rate was exorbitant and he could not produce a receipt. Perhaps being locals (i.e. South Africans) we were too trusting and just assumed the Hotel would call a licensed and trusted cab service.

Room was adequate and had aircon. There is a shower in bath. I realised I had no hairdryer in my room early the next morning. After three requests I had to check out and left with damp hair. Very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Recently took my family for breakfast at The Sunnyside. Couldn’t believe it when I was charged R135 each for 2 children, aged 8 and 12 years. To add insult to injury, the service was pathetic, or more accurately, non-existing. I had to get up a number of times to find a waiter to ask for coffee, cutlery and side plates. Definitely not a place I will return to.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I travel to South Africa frequently with work at Wits and because of its proximity, stay at the Sunnyside. It is an aging beauty and service can be spotty (forget wireless in your room and I've learned not to expect an iron!) but overall have found it to be reasonable. Jasonleg is right - the food is OK, wait staff can be indifferent and seating during peak breakfast hours can be dicey especially as a woman traveling alone. For a change I stayed at a Protea my last visit and will go back to Sunnyside next time if only because of proximity and the Protea was no better.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

i booked this hotel with advise from my distributor and the hotel was fine. security was first class and the room was good. the pub was opened 2 days after my stay started but shut earlier than the manager advised me.,when checking out check the bil as mine was incorrect. overall the stay was good and i would return

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is located in Parktown which is not a great area to stay in if you are on vacation. I consult at an office just down the road so it is convenient.

The overall atmosphere is of a hotel with some former glory. Now it is faded and looks rather tired and tacky. Some rooms have been modernized like the one I stayed in but earlier this year stayed in one that was not.

Buffet dinner is overpriced but breakfast was basic and as long as you can find a seat-okay.

Staff are polite bordering on disinterested.

Stay again? Yes as there are no real other alternatives.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

The reviewer who recently gave this venue a 5 must have been staying in a different room if not the different era that the hotel harks back to . . . My room was more like a long corridor positioned over the kitchen (smells) and adjacent to a large compressor system (noise). My window overlooked an extremely dank and dirty raised yard - so much for the advertised garden views . . WiFi was a joke and the business centre did not have a printer, so I was unable to print out the documents I required for an early morning meeting (staff tried the reception printer but the results were unusable). Missed breakfast due to the printer fiasco so can't comment on that . . .Yes the area is well positioned for business meetings - but there are choices . .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunnyside Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Park Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Terrace, Parktown | 2 York Road, Johannesburg, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnyside Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historically restored Johannesburg hotel, the Sunnyside Park Hotel has been completely refurbished to capture the elegance and charm of a by-gone era. Built in 1895 in a Victorian-style, the hotel is centrally located providing the business executive and the leisure traveller with easy access to the Johannesburg CBD, Rosebank, Sandton and the Johannesburg International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunnyside Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Park Johannesburg
Hotel Sunnyside Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnyside Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.