We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip-off prices” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnyside Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunnyside Park Hotel to your Saves list
Sunnyside Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Carse o Gowrie and York | Princess of Wales Terrace, Johannesburg 2000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rip-off prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Recently took my family for breakfast at The Sunnyside. Couldn’t believe it when I was charged R135 each for 2 children, aged 8 and 12 years. To add insult to injury, the service was pathetic, or more accurately, non-existing. I had to get up a number of times to find a waiter to ask for coffee, cutlery and side plates. Definitely not a place I will return to.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    33
    26
    18
    6
See reviews for
12
11
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I travel to South Africa frequently with work at Wits and because of its proximity, stay at the Sunnyside. It is an aging beauty and service can be spotty (forget wireless in your room and I've learned not to expect an iron!) but overall have found it to be reasonable. Jasonleg is right - the food is OK, wait staff can be indifferent and seating during peak breakfast hours can be dicey especially as a woman traveling alone. For a change I stayed at a Protea my last visit and will go back to Sunnyside next time if only because of proximity and the Protea was no better.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

i booked this hotel with advise from my distributor and the hotel was fine. security was first class and the room was good. the pub was opened 2 days after my stay started but shut earlier than the manager advised me.,when checking out check the bil as mine was incorrect. overall the stay was good and i would return

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

The hotel is located in Parktown which is not a great area to stay in if you are on vacation. I consult at an office just down the road so it is convenient.

The overall atmosphere is of a hotel with some former glory. Now it is faded and looks rather tired and tacky. Some rooms have been modernized like the one I stayed in but earlier this year stayed in one that was not.

Buffet dinner is overpriced but breakfast was basic and as long as you can find a seat-okay.

Staff are polite bordering on disinterested.

Stay again? Yes as there are no real other alternatives.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

The reviewer who recently gave this venue a 5 must have been staying in a different room if not the different era that the hotel harks back to . . . My room was more like a long corridor positioned over the kitchen (smells) and adjacent to a large compressor system (noise). My window overlooked an extremely dank and dirty raised yard - so much for the advertised garden views . . WiFi was a joke and the business centre did not have a printer, so I was unable to print out the documents I required for an early morning meeting (staff tried the reception printer but the results were unusable). Missed breakfast due to the printer fiasco so can't comment on that . . .Yes the area is well positioned for business meetings - but there are choices . .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Most things were marginal about this hotel. Rooms are OK, but after staying in two separate rooms over two week period, I had to call the maintenance several times. Pool was not heated, and not usable. The entire property was old and generally uninviting. Breakfast was good, but inconsistent.
Overall, I would suggest looking elsewhere unless location is a must for you. There are no other options that I know of in this immediate area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Staff were friendly and went out of their way to help, particularly with the several bags needed at the beginning of our month-long trip. The hotel has a warm, old-worldly feel. Lovely grounds and fine woodwork in hallways are well-maintained. Room was comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunnyside Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Park Hotel

Address: Corner of Carse o Gowrie and York | Princess of Wales Terrace, Johannesburg 2000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnyside Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historically restored Johannesburg hotel, the Sunnyside Park Hotel has been completely refurbished to capture the elegance and charm of a by-gone era. Built in 1895 in a Victorian-style, the hotel is centrally located providing the business executive and the leisure traveller with easy access to the Johannesburg CBD, Rosebank, Sandton and the Johannesburg International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunnyside Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Park Johannesburg
Hotel Sunnyside Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnyside Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.