We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian Johannesburg with a twist of contemporary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel to your Saves list
Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shaft 14 Northern Parkway, 2159 | Ormond, Johannesburg 2159, South Africa (Formerly Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Victorian Johannesburg with a twist of contemporary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a unique hotel in Johannesburg as it is situated in the Gold Reef City Theme park but has its own access point. The hotel is scattered around the quaint "Victoria" village that may have been a suburb of Johannesburg over a 100 years ago. The reception is situated in the old banking hall, the bar is in its own saloon building across the street and each hotel room is in its own little house off the street. The disabled room has an enormous bath room and is well equipped with rails etc. Great pool area if you just want to chill, and 3 different banqueting halls. There is a chapel in the village and the room rates are really reasonable should you want to host a wedding! All in one safe place. An interesting way to spend a night or two in Joburg, and perfect location for the Apartheid Museum, The Calabash (World Cup Soccer Stadium) and tours into Soweto.

Room Tip: Ask to be allocated a street room, adds to the experience. Facing North is always good in the south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne W, Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Dubaidiva1

Please forgive the late response to your reveiw, we have recently been granted access to respond to the tripadVisor reveiws so we are in the process of catching up the correspondence with all our valued tripAdvisor members.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we truly appreciate the time you took to send us this feedback - I have shared your comments with my team.

We hope to welcome you back to the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Wayne Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    44
    18
    4
    9
See reviews for
69
31
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for a visit to the park and the room we received was just opposite a service entrance. We woke up pretty early due to slamming doors and people talking to each other. The room itself was spacious and clean and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne W, Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Martijn M

Please forgive the delay in response, I have only recently been allowed access to respond to guest reveiws - we are currently busy catching up correspondence with all our valued TripAdvisor guests.

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback with regards to your stay at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel. We have noted your concern over the noisy service room - you will be pleased to know that this has been addressed and the room has been re-located further away from the guest rooms.We apologise for the inconvenience caused.

It wasa pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back to the Gold Reef City Theme Park when you are next in the area again.

Yours In Hospitality

Wayne Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

In May 2013, I booked 4 rooms online for a break for family (extended and my own) for a 1 night stay on Saturday, 8th June 2013. We all had great expectations for this break since the kids were looking forward to the rides, etc, having heard about Gold Reef City!

On arrival at the main vehicle entrance to Gold Reef City, I was directed to the hotel car park, which is seperate from the main theme park carpark. Parking was aplenty! Since my name was on the list of guests, Security allowed me into the premises for check-in.

The check-in process was efficient, quick and problem-free! Peggy was friendly and efficient too! I checked in for all rooms, which were placed on the same floor, as requested. As this was an early check-in (which I did not request when I made the book-in), only 1 of the 4 rooms was ready. This was already more than I expected! Our rooms were in the building that houses the conference centre.

I did not make use of any porter services, but carried my luggage to my room. The room was spotless, neat and luxurious! We unpacked, and left the room to enjoy the theme park with the kids!

I called the reception upon our return to request a babycot (here again, I forgot to ask for this when making the booking, or when checking in). Housekeeping brought this to my room in less than 5 minutes! Family members requested extra towels on Sunday morning, and this was also brought to them shortly thereafter without any questions asked!

Breakfast the following morning at Barney's was also excellent! The variety of food available, and the service, was outstanding!

Having visited Disney World a few years ago, I can definitely make the comparison, and safely say that the service at this hotel is world class!

However, there were a few issues (not related to the service from staff):

a) Hot water in the shower was not available at 22h00 on Sat night, nor at 09h30 on Sunday! The water was luke warm to cold, hence a tad annoying. Not sure whether the demand for hot water is simply higher at these times!

b) We had 2 baby strollers with us. These strollers had to be carried up a flight of stairs everytime we left/returned to our room, which was on the 1st floor. Had I known this at check in, I would have requested ground floor rooms.

c) Since this specific building has tables and chairs within the courtyard, the noise made by guests who use this courtyard reverberates greatly! There were guests who returned to the hotel at approx 23h00, but made alot of noise at this time in the courtyard, before heading to their room/s. This was quite a disturbance.

Apart from the above issues, overall, we all had a fantastic stay!!! The cherry on the top is that guests at this hotel are naturally granted free access to the theme park, since this hotel is within the theme park itself! And, yes, you do hear the rides, horns, etc, but this ends at 17h00, so the evening is peaceful, unless the other guests are noisy!

Room Tip: Should you want to sleep in on a Sunday morning, avoid rooms 121 / 122 in the building that houses t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The rooms are very spacious, neat and well decorated. the lighting also is amazing. i love the welcome feeling we get, from the chocolates and preparing of our beds during the night. its such a warm feeling and one feels home away from home. they really knw how to pamper their guests. the first sight when we enter is always a WOW! they just need to look at customer service. i was not impressed with how we checked in. we even had to take our selves to the room without being escorted.

Room Tip: i always opt for the best when booking a room. i am definitely sure and with no doubt that Gold Reef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in 2006 for two nights and i cant recommend it highly enough! It was spotless, had a lovely homely atmosphere even though its a huge hotel! It was a great novelty seeing the monkeys running around outside too

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The rooms are spacious and luxurious. The surroundings are v unnatural with fake crocodile, elephants etc. It is set in a huge compound and gated. Security is v tense in S Africa, almost everywhere there are guards and security checks. The hotel has a casino. Breakfast spread was wide and luxurious. We enjoyed our breakfast. It is crowded but service was good even though with the crowd.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been to the Gold Reef City Theme park many times in the past. However this time around it was something special and different because we opted to spend a night at the the Theme Park Hotel in celebration of my daughters 7th birthday.

And what a good choice it proved to be!!!

First of all, the hotel is just great. Rooms are modern and well appointed, dispersed all around the 'village'. The breakfast was absolutely fabulous. Kids loved the options and so did dad. We suppered at the Back of the Moon in the casino hotel so I cannot comment on the dinner at the Theme Park Hotel.

Next, the best part ... the rides and thrills. Access to the Park is included when you stay ... this means you save a few bucks. We came early and enjoyed the rides after a quick early check in. This was great since there was little queues. Enjoying the rides and thrills with kids can be exhausting, so I was very pleased to be able to kick back over a few beers in the evening and not have to be rushed when the park closed, to return home as we usually do.

After checking out, we kept our luggage at reception and explored the Theme Park further.My kids love the mine tour. Staying over allowed us to do much more that a day visit would accomodate.

In closing, another awesome escape with the kids. Loved it.

Room Tip: Rooms close to reception are better since you are near to Barneys and the action. Don't forg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel

Address: Shaft 14 Northern Parkway, 2159 | Ormond, Johannesburg 2159, South Africa (Formerly Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an age of elegance and grandeur at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel. Located within Africa's biggest theme park, the hotel is reminiscent of an authentic turn-of-the-century mining town. Staying at the hotel also gives you free access to a multitude of fun filled attractions and entertainment in the theme park. Please note the Theme Park is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays during Gauteng School holidays.The adjacent Gold Reef City Casino complex offers a variety of dining and other entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels, Despegar.com, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.