We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shaft 14 Northern Parkway, 2159 | Ormond, Johannesburg 2159, South Africa (Formerly Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Johannesburg
Johannesburg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were lucky enough to take up a special offer rate at this hotel and were so glad we did.

Although the hotel was full and although we had booked into a twin bed room, the staff were able to provide a room with a king-sized bed which made for a superb nights sleep.

The complimentary shuttle to their casino across the road was also appreciated.

Breakfast was superb and I was so pleased to be able to order poached eggs which were made the correct way and not in a plastic container like other hotels do.

Staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. With breakfast and access to the park included in the tariff, this represents excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    34
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
45
21
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We just enjoyed two very comfortable nights at the Gold Reef City Resort Hotel which forms part of the amusement park complex at Gold Reef City. We found the hotel rooms to be very comfortable and neat and the staff were corteous, friendly and professional. It was great being in the amusement before it opened and after it closed as this allowed us to be first in the queue at our favourite rides when the park opened. The park closes at 6:00pm and we enjoyed strolling through the empty park at night too.

I highly rate a stay at this hotel as it allows plenty time for kids to enjoy all the rides at the park while also offering comfort and excitement for adults too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed for one night on the 3rd December 2012 and had breakfast at 06:30 the morning of the 4th. What a disaster? Only about 50% of the food was ready (some were cold) at that time. When I asked one staff member where the eggs were, I was met with a strange look whilst she shouted out "CHEF, the Eggs!!". It took another 30 minutes before the eggs arived. At that time I was already finished and I left without having any eggs. Advice to hotel management: Either let the kitchen staff start at 06:00 to have proper breakfast prepared and ready at 06:30, OR tell your guest that breakfast is served at 07:00. This was probable my worst breakfast ever!! Regards Josh.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderbijlpark, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Theme Park Hotel
Deluxe Room is big and stylish, proper baby cot and sleeper couch available for kids, 5min walk to theme park's Kiddies corner, next to restaurant: perfect for traveling with small kids.
Only service could be better: trying to make a reservation and checking in are a hassle. Housekeeping and shuttle staff are great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My stay at Gold Reef over the last weekend was most enjoyable. The theme park setting is a great family get away destination and lots of fun for the entire family. The service provided at breakfast and divver was superb. I waill most certinlt recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

Room Tip: The south side rooms are definitely much quieter and very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked for a night after our Kruger trip, before going to the airport the next day.

We thought we had booked the hotel at the Casino, but found out that, was across the road (a shuttle ride) and we were in the Amusement Park Hotel.
After the reception area (which awas a bit drab) we were walked down the street of the mock mining town to another building and our rooms.

We were very pleasantly suprised how nice and modern they were.
If you ordered breakfast in your room, it was served in the courtyard just outside your room which was very nice.

The food at the hotel restaurant (back down the street) was very good, not the cheapest but good.
After visiting the Casino in the evening, which we did not enjoy at all (scruffy, hot, no aircon) we decided to go back to the hotel restaurant to eat and drink, because we knew we would get good food and good service.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are stayimg with your family and want to enjoy the Theme Park on your door step.
We also found that after a manic Saturday with lots of people there, Sunday morning was very quiet with virtually no queue's for the rides (another advantage of staying in the complex.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We checked into the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel located inside the theme park towards the old town, and we were so impresseed by the standard of the rooms and cleanliness in the rooms. My mate and I shared a twin room, and my other two mates were across the hall in a twin room aswell, the rooms were spacious and had all the necessities we would need :) In the evening we walked down to reception across the road was the shuttle waiting to take us to the casino, it was so relaxing knowing we didnt have to drive back. An after dinner at the casino, at 23:30 the shuttle was there to pick us up an take us back to the hotel. Very Impressed with that! Breakfast was divine! freshh, and not to forget the fyummy waffles! after breakfast, straight to the theme park. Was an Amazing Experience.

Room Tip: We were located in the building across reception, so we didnt have to work far to get the shuttle or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel

Address: Shaft 14 Northern Parkway, 2159 | Ormond, Johannesburg 2159, South Africa (Formerly Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#10 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to an age of elegance and grandeur at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel. Located within Africa's biggest theme park hotel is reminiscent of an authentic turn-of-the-century mining town. Staying at the hotel also gives you free access to a multitude of fun filled attractions and entertainment in the Theme Park. Please note the Theme Park is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays.The adjacent Gold Reef City Casino complex offers a variety of dining and other entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.