We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but with negative quick points for remediation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Hotel Eastgate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Hotel Eastgate to your Saves list
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zulberg Close, off Ernest Oppenheimer Road | Bruma Lake, Johannesburg 2100, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but with negative quick points for remediation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have been to this hotel 2 weeks in May 2013.
The hotel presents the following good points:
- The rooms are spacious, clean and provided with kitchenette for people who are interested in cooking light dishes.
- Breakfast contains multiple choices with a live cooking station.
- The staff is very attentive to customers and are very open for discussion.
- The hotel has a service of free home delivery from outside with an approved company which offers a large choice of cuisines for delivery right to your doorstep.
- The happy hour is also a nice idea. It takes place from 5pm to 7pm.
- Free shuttle bus from 7pm to 10pm to 2 nearby malls, perfect for a dinner plan at one of the nice restaurants at both malls.

The negative points are:
- The bruma lake is very poluted. Although the view is nice, when you open your balcony, you are sure to have an attakch of moustics and flyers by dozens. The smell is also a bit strong especially after sunset.
- The transportation fees to other areas of Joba are very costly if arranged by the hotel and the most strange thing is that the price is headcount based and not distance based!! We were very disappointed by this when we wanted to arrange transportation with the hotel. We finally decided to go with public taxi companies which were much cheaper than the hotel transportation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us. There are plans afoot to redevelop the lake - so we are really hoping that these materialise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
3
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I decided to celebrate my birthday not to far away from home. This hotel turned out to be a very good choice. We experienced this Courtyard Hotel to be spotlessly clean with very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are spacious with a fully equipped kitchenette. The rooms each have a patio overlooking Bruma Lake. If you are bird watchers like us, remember your binoculars to enjoy the prolific birdlife on the lake.
This hotel provides a very good buffet breakfast with a big selection of dishes, ranging from fruit, cereals, warm dishes and pastries. We also enjoyed the Courtesy Bar that they provide every evening between 17:00 to 19:00, where free drinks and snacks are served. Teta, who attended to us was very helpful and friendly and replenished our drinks and snacks regularly.
This hotel is not to far from the Johannesburg International Airport (OR Tambo). They also provide a free shuttle service to the popular Eastgate Mall nearby. There is also under cover parking provided right in front of your room.
The only negative comment we have is the ageing and noisy extractor fan in the bathroom.
We certainly will recommend this Courtyard Hotel to our friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind and comprehensive review of our hotel - come and visit us again soon.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

While this hotel ticks all the boxes that one would expect from a traveller, you are left with the impression hat it does nothing more and that it is really a bit tired and in need of a refit.

The hotel is well located with easy access to freeways and OR Thambo airport. The room is spacious comprising a lounge and bedroom but other wise spartan and not really comfortable. Quite frankly, I would rather have less space and a bit more comfort. The patio overlooking Bruma Lake and its bird life is a nice feature. The room and furnishings are pretty much at the end of their life and the linen somewhat threadbare. Maintenance is lacking although not absent. The room was clean and there was plenty of hot water.

The one exception is the breakfast which was really good and the dining room small but well appointed.

I would stay here again but it would not be my first choice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your considered review of our hotel - we will certainly take into account the points you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a long flight and were very well recieved by the all the staff. They were great and a wealth of information. The area is beautiful and seems quite safe. We didn't have even a hint of problems or ever feel uncomfortable. The people in the neighbourhood are very friendly and watch out for you. There is also lots of security both at the hotel and in most of the businesses and parking lots in the area. The lake is nice to look at but you have to keep in mind it is in the middle of a very large city so there is some garbage that has been washed down from the surrounding neighbourhoods. It is full of ducks and other birds and is very pleasant to look at from the balcony.

The suites are large, very clean and comfortable. We didn't make it for breakfast any of the mornings so cannot comment on the food, but the restaurant/lounge is quite comfortable.

The staff go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need and will always point you in the right direction. You can order food from some take-out places in the area or just go out to one of the many restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments about our hotel and its location. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again - at this hotel or at another hotel in our group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel was used as a stopover from the US onway to safari in Botswana. The hotel is a 15 minute drive from Tambo airport.
Negatives: Surly, uninviting welcome; bar area was uninviting. The room was quite awful. We weren't prepared for how dirty the room was, let alone the bugs - many of them. Room smelled of mildew. Needs some serious updating. weren't looking for much - just something clean to crash for the night - this was well below minimum
Positives: Used hotel shuttle for 10 minute drive to a mall where you had a half dozen nice restaurants (incl. a Smith & Wollensky!). driver was excellent. Breakfast and morning staff were absolutely top of the line.
Sum: find another place. while breakfast and morning staff were nice, the room was very poor and that's the only reason to be here

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your overall stay, but glad that you enjoyed your breakfast. We will be looking into the points you have raised to see what can be done to provide an improved service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

;I really like this hotel. It was like living in an apartment complex, with lovely grounds, facing a lake. The rooms have a kitchenette with table and chairs,and are supplied with coffee, tea, and hot chocolate, as well as biscuits every night. It is clean and comfortable, and the breakfast and dinner buffets were very good. Apples and little brown bags of biscuits were put out for taking each day--a nice touch. The staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms are spread out, and you might have to walk down or up one story to get to your room. Be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The rooms are quite big with all amenities and nice view to the lake. Italian Renaissance style appartments rather that hotel, in a very safe area near one of the biggest malls in the city with all kind of stores and restaurants,
Some updating needed with furniture, carpet and bathroom fictures.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Hotel Eastgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Eastgate

Address: Zulberg Close, off Ernest Oppenheimer Road | Bruma Lake, Johannesburg 2100, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Eastgate 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of Bruma Flea Market, local craft displays and Eastgate Shopping Centre. Easily accessible to major motorways and only 10 minutes from OR Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Eastgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Eastgate Hotel Johannesburg
Courtyard Johannesburg
Johannesburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.