We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and comfortable hotel where you can also enjoy a nice view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Hotel Eastgate

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Hotel Eastgate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zulberg Close, off Ernest Oppenheimer Road | Bruma Lake, Johannesburg 2100, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great and comfortable hotel where you can also enjoy a nice view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I decided to celebrate my birthday not to far away from home. This hotel turned out to be a very good choice. We experienced this Courtyard Hotel to be spotlessly clean with very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are spacious with a fully equipped kitchenette. The rooms each have a patio overlooking Bruma Lake. If you are bird watchers like us, remember your binoculars to enjoy the prolific birdlife on the lake.
This hotel provides a very good buffet breakfast with a big selection of dishes, ranging from fruit, cereals, warm dishes and pastries. We also enjoyed the Courtesy Bar that they provide every evening between 17:00 to 19:00, where free drinks and snacks are served. Teta, who attended to us was very helpful and friendly and replenished our drinks and snacks regularly.
This hotel is not to far from the Johannesburg International Airport (OR Tambo). They also provide a free shuttle service to the popular Eastgate Mall nearby. There is also under cover parking provided right in front of your room.
The only negative comment we have is the ageing and noisy extractor fan in the bathroom.
We certainly will recommend this Courtyard Hotel to our friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind and comprehensive review of our hotel - come and visit us again soon.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
3
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

While this hotel ticks all the boxes that one would expect from a traveller, you are left with the impression hat it does nothing more and that it is really a bit tired and in need of a refit.

The hotel is well located with easy access to freeways and OR Thambo airport. The room is spacious comprising a lounge and bedroom but other wise spartan and not really comfortable. Quite frankly, I would rather have less space and a bit more comfort. The patio overlooking Bruma Lake and its bird life is a nice feature. The room and furnishings are pretty much at the end of their life and the linen somewhat threadbare. Maintenance is lacking although not absent. The room was clean and there was plenty of hot water.

The one exception is the breakfast which was really good and the dining room small but well appointed.

I would stay here again but it would not be my first choice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your considered review of our hotel - we will certainly take into account the points you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a long flight and were very well recieved by the all the staff. They were great and a wealth of information. The area is beautiful and seems quite safe. We didn't have even a hint of problems or ever feel uncomfortable. The people in the neighbourhood are very friendly and watch out for you. There is also lots of security both at the hotel and in most of the businesses and parking lots in the area. The lake is nice to look at but you have to keep in mind it is in the middle of a very large city so there is some garbage that has been washed down from the surrounding neighbourhoods. It is full of ducks and other birds and is very pleasant to look at from the balcony.

The suites are large, very clean and comfortable. We didn't make it for breakfast any of the mornings so cannot comment on the food, but the restaurant/lounge is quite comfortable.

The staff go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need and will always point you in the right direction. You can order food from some take-out places in the area or just go out to one of the many restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments about our hotel and its location. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again - at this hotel or at another hotel in our group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel was used as a stopover from the US onway to safari in Botswana. The hotel is a 15 minute drive from Tambo airport.
Negatives: Surly, uninviting welcome; bar area was uninviting. The room was quite awful. We weren't prepared for how dirty the room was, let alone the bugs - many of them. Room smelled of mildew. Needs some serious updating. weren't looking for much - just something clean to crash for the night - this was well below minimum
Positives: Used hotel shuttle for 10 minute drive to a mall where you had a half dozen nice restaurants (incl. a Smith & Wollensky!). driver was excellent. Breakfast and morning staff were absolutely top of the line.
Sum: find another place. while breakfast and morning staff were nice, the room was very poor and that's the only reason to be here

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your overall stay, but glad that you enjoyed your breakfast. We will be looking into the points you have raised to see what can be done to provide an improved service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

;I really like this hotel. It was like living in an apartment complex, with lovely grounds, facing a lake. The rooms have a kitchenette with table and chairs,and are supplied with coffee, tea, and hot chocolate, as well as biscuits every night. It is clean and comfortable, and the breakfast and dinner buffets were very good. Apples and little brown bags of biscuits were put out for taking each day--a nice touch. The staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms are spread out, and you might have to walk down or up one story to get to your room. Be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The rooms are quite big with all amenities and nice view to the lake. Italian Renaissance style appartments rather that hotel, in a very safe area near one of the biggest malls in the city with all kind of stores and restaurants,
Some updating needed with furniture, carpet and bathroom fictures.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

In a relatively safe area of the city, though we were warned to take a taxi to the large mall only a ten-minute walk away, with the warning "It's safe INSIDE the mall." The lake visible from all rooms is home to lots of birds. Buffet was good in the evening--we ate lunch elsewhere, so no comment on that. Drinks and snacks free during happy hour, though the bar staff seemed to be in a perpetual state of confusion. Rooms were excellent.

Room Tip: All seemed to be good, though you might want to choose a downstairs one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
Suites, Pool, F...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Eastgate
Garden Court Eastgate
#18 of 72 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
0.0 mi away
St. Andrews Signature Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
12.5 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
#33 of 72 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Pool, Luxury, Q...
Show More
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
#21 of 72 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
4.6 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Eastgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Eastgate

Address: Zulberg Close, off Ernest Oppenheimer Road | Bruma Lake, Johannesburg 2100, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Eastgate 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of Bruma Flea Market, local craft displays and Eastgate Shopping Centre. Easily accessible to major motorways and only 10 minutes from OR Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Eastgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Eastgate Hotel Johannesburg
Courtyard Johannesburg
Johannesburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.