We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great introduction to Johannesburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Hotel Eastgate

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Hotel Eastgate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zulberg Close, off Ernest Oppenheimer Road | Bruma Lake, Johannesburg 2100, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Great introduction to Johannesburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a long flight and were very well recieved by the all the staff. They were great and a wealth of information. The area is beautiful and seems quite safe. We didn't have even a hint of problems or ever feel uncomfortable. The people in the neighbourhood are very friendly and watch out for you. There is also lots of security both at the hotel and in most of the businesses and parking lots in the area. The lake is nice to look at but you have to keep in mind it is in the middle of a very large city so there is some garbage that has been washed down from the surrounding neighbourhoods. It is full of ducks and other birds and is very pleasant to look at from the balcony.

The suites are large, very clean and comfortable. We didn't make it for breakfast any of the mornings so cannot comment on the food, but the restaurant/lounge is quite comfortable.

The staff go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need and will always point you in the right direction. You can order food from some take-out places in the area or just go out to one of the many restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments about our hotel and its location. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again - at this hotel or at another hotel in our group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
3
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel was used as a stopover from the US onway to safari in Botswana. The hotel is a 15 minute drive from Tambo airport.
Negatives: Surly, uninviting welcome; bar area was uninviting. The room was quite awful. We weren't prepared for how dirty the room was, let alone the bugs - many of them. Room smelled of mildew. Needs some serious updating. weren't looking for much - just something clean to crash for the night - this was well below minimum
Positives: Used hotel shuttle for 10 minute drive to a mall where you had a half dozen nice restaurants (incl. a Smith & Wollensky!). driver was excellent. Breakfast and morning staff were absolutely top of the line.
Sum: find another place. while breakfast and morning staff were nice, the room was very poor and that's the only reason to be here

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your overall stay, but glad that you enjoyed your breakfast. We will be looking into the points you have raised to see what can be done to provide an improved service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

;I really like this hotel. It was like living in an apartment complex, with lovely grounds, facing a lake. The rooms have a kitchenette with table and chairs,and are supplied with coffee, tea, and hot chocolate, as well as biscuits every night. It is clean and comfortable, and the breakfast and dinner buffets were very good. Apples and little brown bags of biscuits were put out for taking each day--a nice touch. The staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms are spread out, and you might have to walk down or up one story to get to your room. Be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The rooms are quite big with all amenities and nice view to the lake. Italian Renaissance style appartments rather that hotel, in a very safe area near one of the biggest malls in the city with all kind of stores and restaurants,
Some updating needed with furniture, carpet and bathroom fictures.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

In a relatively safe area of the city, though we were warned to take a taxi to the large mall only a ten-minute walk away, with the warning "It's safe INSIDE the mall." The lake visible from all rooms is home to lots of birds. Buffet was good in the evening--we ate lunch elsewhere, so no comment on that. Drinks and snacks free during happy hour, though the bar staff seemed to be in a perpetual state of confusion. Rooms were excellent.

Room Tip: All seemed to be good, though you might want to choose a downstairs one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Very comfortable rooms with a basic kitchen, just a sink, microwave and dishwasher, so not for the ambitious cook. It is cool walking along the raised paths to the rooms, its more like being in an apartment block and not like a hotel. The pool is really nice and it is lovely to lay in the sun and relax by the pool. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Spent two nights at the Courtyard as part of a packaged tour. The hotel is convenient vis-a-vis the airport but there isn't much to see in the surrounding neighborhood. The public areas are nice and comfortable. The rooms are large and clean but in need to updating - from furniture, to carpet, to bathroom fixtures and tile. The breakfast buffet was outstanding - with a large selection of cold and hot dishes - and dinners at the hotel restaurant were more than adequate. Free drinks during evening cocktail hour was a nice treat. However, overall service was spotty. Computer service was down so internet access was not available at all. Only one 6oz bottle of water was provided as a room amenity and even when requests for additional bottles was made, none was provided. Several tour members asked to have additional bottles of water placed in the room and charged to their account (for brushing teeth, taking meds, and just quenching thirst at night) - while the front desk reassured us that that would be done, nothing materialized. This happened repeatedly. Overall, an ok place as a stopover. But otherwise, I personally would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Hotel Eastgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Eastgate

Address: Zulberg Close, off Ernest Oppenheimer Road | Bruma Lake, Johannesburg 2100, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Eastgate 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of Bruma Flea Market, local craft displays and Eastgate Shopping Centre. Easily accessible to major motorways and only 10 minutes from OR Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Eastgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Eastgate Hotel Johannesburg
Courtyard Johannesburg
Johannesburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.