We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Hotel Rosebank

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Hotel Rosebank to your Saves list
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Oxford& Tyrwhitt Ave | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
GABORONE
Level Contributor
213 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is another return trip to this great hotel in the centre of Rosebank and the welcome and service were excellent. The self catering apartment has everything you need and the buffet breakfast provides a great start to the day - including the famous muffins.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    50
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
13
6
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a rather unusual hotel, with no internal corridors, but quite typical for the area.

It is in the upmarket Rosebank area, a thirty second, safe walk, from the nearby Rosebank Mall. The shopping centre has loads of really good restaurants and is jointed up to the Hyatt hotel, which is nice for evening drinks.

The shopping centre also has a Woolworths department store which is the equivalent of M & S in Ireland or the UK. There are also a wide range of shops, which are good value, so pack light and buy there!

The hotel itself consists of small blocks of small suits and rooms, your door will be in the open air. Surrounded by nice palm trees and a quiet safe ambience. The hotel is quite good value, considering how safe and secure it is. The rooms are of a very good standard but are a little outdated, but just a little.

I had a one bedroom suite, all rooms have a fully working kitchen with crockery etc. There is a dining table, sitting room and a spacious bedroom with a nice bathroom. Even the singel rooms are very spacious, but given the cost it's wise to go with a suite, for the extra space and comfort. There is also car parking available.

Breakfast is fine, but I tended to walk accross to the mall to get some, cheaper and the dining room is small and the food very plain if you are here for a long stay. There is an outdoor pool too, with free coffee, pastry and juice on reception. And drinks in the evening.

Be warned if you are travelling for business the WIFI in the hotel is virtually non functioning. There are expensive options to buy time, but in my experience it did not work. I could never get online using the hotel network.

Room Tip: Some rooms have steps up to them, others are ground floor level. Others have a long walk from recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thanks for your comprehensive review of our hotel. We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Good security, Free drink at the lobby, good take away muffin in the morning.

Only breakfast service but You can eat at the opposite department and recharge to your hotel or order direct to your hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for your review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

It is nice hotel just opposite a big shopping mall known as rosebank, one can get all type of restaurant and shopping for daily routines. walking distance to metro station. Nicely done apartment hotel, enough space to park car. Good for business meetings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for your comments and for staying with us - hope to welcome you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for 1 night on a business trip to JHB. Friendly service at check-in, clean room, more spacious than expected, nice little kitchenette. Opposite the road from Rosebank Mall making it easy to get food from a variety of restaurants that also deliver! Enjoyable stay, would do it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Courtyard Rosebank turned out to be a great place for our four-night stay in Johannesburg.

The hotel is directly next to/across from the Rosebank Gautrain station and the Rosebank mall complex. If you don't know Joburg, that means you can take the efficient, clean, safe Gautrain from the airport to the Sandton station, switch lines with absolutely no worry, & go one stop to Rosebank. When you come up from the train, the two-story hotel complex is within sight--again, no stress. Gautrain can also take you to the Hop On-Hop Off bus pickup point at the Park station.

The malls across the street include numerous restaurants, a movie theater, a grocery story & more. (The grocery closes at 6pm, as do many of the other mall stores, but restaurants remain open later.) Much of the mall is open-air, which is pleasant--you don't feel as if you are sealed off from the world. It's not as upscale as the malls at expensive Sandton, which to me was a very good thing.

The hotel itself is clean, with friendly staff & nice rooms. There are studio, one-bedroom, & two-bedroom rooms. All have kitchenette facilities with dining tables. We stayed in the reasonably priced one-bedroom suite, which meant we had a nice little apartment, comfortable for just hanging out. The pool was also a calm place to relax. This is not a luxury property; it's just a surprisingly good mid-market place to stay.

The hotel does not have a restaurant, although it serves breakfast. Several restaurants across the street will deliver--but we found it much nicer to cross the street ourselves for dinner.

You get 15 minutes free wi-fi a day, but otherwise there is a charge for Internet access via the AlwaysOn system. It's pricey at 50 rand per hour, but AlwaysOn seems to be everywhere in South Africa.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for your review - we're glad you found our hotel convenient and comfortable - that's exactly what we want to be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We needed a place close to Rosebank, and the Mall, at fairly short notice.After the madness of traffic congestion and Police Traffic Blocks, jamming roads over a busy weekend, what a treat to find. a 'mini home from home' on a busy Johannesburg weekday,
Efficiency, from the bookings, to the check out were unobtrusive, efficient and friendly!!
Quality room, and service with relaxing drinks by the pool after the traffic madness, made this a 'gem' in the midst of a minefield!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks so much for your generous review - we are very glad you enjoyed our "oasis".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 71 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#6 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
3.4 mi away
Genesis Suites
Genesis Suites
#13 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hotel Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Rosebank

Address: Cnr Oxford& Tyrwhitt Ave | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#25 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated in prestigious Rosebank on Oxford Road, opposite the Gautrain Rapid Rail station. Major shopping centres, craft markets, restaurants and cinemas are all within walking distance. The hotel is easily accessible to all motorways linking the key business centres in Gauteng. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rosebank Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Johannesburg
Courtyard Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.