We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel to your Saves list
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Abu Dhabi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. We requested a pool view and were allocated the ground floor which meant we opened our suite door and stepped out to the pool. Excellent breakfast. Large bottles of still water, basket of fruit, chocolate M&M's all complimentary. Would certainly recommend staying at this hotel. Cafes and restaurants adjacent to the hotel and good shops on the other side of the road.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear AbuDhabiHappybunnies
Our 1st floor pool facing rooms are great - with the walkway through the summer garden, it all adds to the tranquil and memorable experience we strive to deliver.
The TEAM are delighted to hear that you had such a great stay - thank you for staying with us and the excellent feedback!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    95
    33
    10
    8
See reviews for
37
95
28
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Okay, not a bad location; lot's of restaurants nearby. However, you feel like you are at one of the original W hotels (especially the one behind the Waldorf in New York). Dark halls, weird lighting and open bathrooms; sooooo 1990's.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear James M
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.
The hotel is currently in it's 10th year of operation, and we have started our refurbishment program - as you may have seen in our award winning March Restaurant.
Your comments are noted, and will be looked into when we plan forward for the rest of the hotels' refurbishment program.
I look forward to personally welcoming you back, should you need any assistance with regards to your next trip - please do not hesitate to contact me directly on: gm@melrosearchhotel.com
Sincere regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived , we received our usual warm welcome . We stayed in a standard suite overlooking the pool . In the room we were welcomed with a basket of assorted fresh fruits & snacks .During our stay the room was well serviced with a regular turn down service . The buffet breakfast has a wide variety of hot & cold foods . The staff at the front desk & the valet service cannot be faulted . On the whole , its definitely a place to stay & relax whilst on holiday or business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Selwyn M
The TEAM really appreciate your feedback regarding our service delivery!
We are also pleased to hear, that you had some good leisure time during your weekend break, and trust you enjoyed all the excellent shopping and dining facilities within the Melrose Arch Precinct!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Staying over at the Melrose Arch is an experience in its own right. Very friendly and professional staff. You feel welcome from the moment you walk in. We stayed in an executive suite; the rooms are spacious and luxurious. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Thinuslg3108
Thank you very much for staying with us and the excellent feedback!
The TEAM are very glad to hear that when you travel back to JHB you will come home to us!
See you soon!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Having Just returned from a week in Johannesburg, I can truthfully say, the staff at this hotel played a major role in our having the most spectacular time!
Being greeted with such warmth that I felt like a long lost family member that had just arrived home, was the beginning!

I am deeply ashamed that I didn't take the time to learn the names of the 6 ladies behind the front desk , or the gentlemen who parked and retrieved out car daily and nightly! This is not a crew who are merely doing their job, but the most hard working, charming, whatever you need group of hoteliers I have ever met. NOT ONE member of this hotel's staff was ever unpleasant, rude, or even just a little lukewarm! We witnessed the rudest, most obnoxious couple trying to get free internet in the lobby (NOT GUESTS-I was nosey I listened in) and the cool, firm but still charming way the staff dealt with this was unbelievable - I felt a kick in the pants was warranted.....
The Warmth people talk about in Africa, can be found consistently here, and I was so happy I changed my end of year plans to tuck in a quick stay at this hotel again!
Rooms are lovely, spacious and little touches like a bowl of M&M's in the room, biltong to greet you, refilled bottles of filtered water every day, and rubber duckies to play with in the bath (YES I DID) just add to the smile this place will plaster across your face!

The pool is brilliant too, with the option of taking your cocktails or meals at a table IN the POOL TOO!! And free sunscreen tubes are left in a tub of ice for guests use!

Anyone reading this will know how many hotels in how many cities and countries I have stayed over the years, this one is the most welcoming, efficient, comfortable, happy, lovely, charming place I have stayed in to date! EVER!
I WOULD LIKE TO THANK EVERYONE AT The African Pride Hotel FOR ONE OF THE BEST STAYS EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!! NGABONGA!

Room Tip: All rooms are identical! Choose either Square View or Pool View! Both Views seem good! Rooms are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Chantal42
Your kind words of gratitude towards the TEAM is what we strive to achieve on a daily basis!
Thank you for the excellent feedback, and for sharing this special memory with us - we cannot wait to host you again before year end!
Ukunibonga kakhulu (we thank you!)
See you soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

To start with the positives, I really liked the original decor of the hotel and the rooms. The breakfast is fantastic, and I wasn't disappointed by the bar and restaurant services.
However, they are several aspects that left me with an overall bad impression. My room wasn't particularly clean. I was there for business and the lighting system is not at all convenient if you need to work. I had every day of my four nights visit a problem with the service: repeated misunderstandings and mistakes from the reception desk (drivers, visitors, recommendations) and had to deal with some pretty scornful waitresses.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Alix1710

Thank you very much for staying with us while visiting JHB!
The TEAM are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and Food and Beverage outlets. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapses experienced in other area's within the hotel - this is by no means the norm.
We are currently busy with an extensive service training program, where all areas of the hotels' operations and services rendered will be reviewed and retrained.
I would like to personally welcome you back to the hotel on your return to SA - please contact me directly when you are traveling again, on: gm@melrosearchhotel.com as I would like to assist with your reservation.
The TEAM look forward to hosting you again.
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Really satisfied with the great service and friendly staff. Was not too thrilled when my wife said she booked us in at Melrose Arch Hotel for my Birthday. Don’t really like hotels, but went with it. Food was great, especially the breakfast. Good bar service and cocktail knowledge. The room and hotel in general was really clean, can’t say that for most hotels 5 star or not. So just want to say thank you Melrose Arc, you impressed us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Pieter N
The TEAM are delighted to have converted you to a hotel enthusiast!
We would also like to thank your wife, for making the decision to spoil you in such a special manner for your birthday - a visit to our beautiful hotel!
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your memories!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Address: 1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#10 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#10 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn’t ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Alternatively, catch the courtesy shuttle from the Gautrain station straight to the hotel where you immediately feel the pulse of urban Africa. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where décor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.