We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, greet service team as always.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Save Saved
You added African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Winchfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location, greet service team as always.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Room great, location great.

Shame no gym on site and they feel the need to charge you 200 rand a day to use another one nearby. Thought a basic requirement of an international hotel?

Try the club sandwich on the room service menu - it's out of this world. Best room service food ever.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear TheWorleys

Thank you for the excellent feedback, and for staying at our beautiful hotel!
We are looking into a long term solution regarding the gym facilities and usage thereof.
If you enjoyed our Club Sandwich - on your return I recommend our Gourmet Burger, fit for a king!
Can't wait to host you again!
Personal best
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    88
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
32
91
27
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We arrived early after long flight from Singapore and the Hotel graciously provided an early check in. The decor of the Hotel is quite eclectic which I especially liked. The room is spacious and the bathroom was such a delight especially with the roomy shower.
After a long hot shower we both crashed and the bed was extremely comfortable and provided a good rest which we both needed.
The staff are just fabulous all are attentive, courteous and it is just a pleasure staying here as a guest. The breakfast the next morning was terrific.
We are coming back later this month and I can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Sallymay4
Our rain showers are just the medicine one requires after a long haul flight, prior to crashing onto our beds!!
Good to hear you had a great rest, before an excellent breakfast!
The TEAM look forward to hosting you soon – thank you for staying with us, and for the outstanding feedback!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

During a recent visit to Johannesburg we stayed at The Melrse Arch. We were delighted with the service we received at this bouquet hotel especially enjoying the size and color lightning scheme of of balcony room on the top floor.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear charlieGoldCoast
The TEAM thank you for your wonderful comments, and for staying with us!
The five senses incorporated into the hotels’ design, and our extensive service training program with the amazing TEAM, are there to ensure an unforgettable experience – thank you for sharing yours!
See you soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

It was my second stay. Always nice to stay at the Melrose Arch.

Food is good. Room is great. Hotel is located in very nice area. Nice shops in the area.

Negative: did not have the wine that was on the wine list.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear braets
On your return, I have a bottle of Chocolate Block in your room!
Thank you very much for staying with us and for the excellent feedback – my apologies for the lack of stock; there was a shortage of supply, due to the popularity of this wine.
This matter has been resolved and will not happen again.
We cannot wait to host you again!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is very modern, my room was a great size with everything I needed inside. A separate shower and big bath making it feel like a home from home.

The staff are very attentive and all really polite and helpful - breakfast was good, I tried both the continental and the cooked and both were excellent.

I stayed here for business, and the location was excellent, everything I needed was on my doorstep in Melrose Arch

Room Tip: 4th floor is where the balconies are
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear 15ian20
The TEAM are exceptionally proud to have delivered a warm and homely atmosphere for your visit.
We really appreciate your excellent feedback with regards to your stay and our breakfast!
Melrose Arch is a great destination, it was a pleasure to host you and look forward to your return!
Safe travels!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Only one word, excellent. In the last 8 months I stayed in the hotel for business purposes roughly 50 percent of my time, for me it became home from home. Pricing ok, all staff, and I mean all staff, friendly, helpfull and caring. Food is to good for my weight. Many regards too all you people in the Melrose Arch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear SibleKras
Thank you for the excellent comments – the TEAM are at your service!
It is our pleasure to host you while visiting JHB and look forward to your return!
We have added some exciting new healthy options to our menu, and are sure you will be delighted with these on your next stay!
We look forward to seeing you soon!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We absolutely love this hotel. We've stayed a couple of times over the past few years and the last time we stayed they were in the middle of a refurbishment. This time it was finished and the results are fantastic. The rooms are beautifully decorated, very clean and comfortable. There is a bath and a separate shower/toilet.
The lighting in the bedroom is very funky with a mixture of red and white lights. The staff are fantastic and very helpful. We have been really pleased with our stay here at all times and would definitely go back there again when we next go to SA ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Wishinguwerehere
The TEAM wish to see you soon again – we can’t wait for your next visit!
The TEAM cherish your excellent feedback regarding their service delivery!
Thank you for making the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel your home when visiting JHB.
Personal Best
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Address: 1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn’t ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Alternatively, catch the courtesy shuttle from the Gautrain station straight to the hotel where you immediately feel the pulse of urban Africa. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where décor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.