We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel to your Saves list
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

It was my second stay. Always nice to stay at the Melrose Arch.

Food is good. Room is great. Hotel is located in very nice area. Nice shops in the area.

Negative: did not have the wine that was on the wine list.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear braets
On your return, I have a bottle of Chocolate Block in your room!
Thank you very much for staying with us and for the excellent feedback – my apologies for the lack of stock; there was a shortage of supply, due to the popularity of this wine.
This matter has been resolved and will not happen again.
We cannot wait to host you again!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    106
    35
    11
    8
See reviews for
37
105
29
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is very modern, my room was a great size with everything I needed inside. A separate shower and big bath making it feel like a home from home.

The staff are very attentive and all really polite and helpful - breakfast was good, I tried both the continental and the cooked and both were excellent.

I stayed here for business, and the location was excellent, everything I needed was on my doorstep in Melrose Arch

Room Tip: 4th floor is where the balconies are
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear 15ian20
The TEAM are exceptionally proud to have delivered a warm and homely atmosphere for your visit.
We really appreciate your excellent feedback with regards to your stay and our breakfast!
Melrose Arch is a great destination, it was a pleasure to host you and look forward to your return!
Safe travels!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Only one word, excellent. In the last 8 months I stayed in the hotel for business purposes roughly 50 percent of my time, for me it became home from home. Pricing ok, all staff, and I mean all staff, friendly, helpfull and caring. Food is to good for my weight. Many regards too all you people in the Melrose Arch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear SibleKras
Thank you for the excellent comments – the TEAM are at your service!
It is our pleasure to host you while visiting JHB and look forward to your return!
We have added some exciting new healthy options to our menu, and are sure you will be delighted with these on your next stay!
We look forward to seeing you soon!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We absolutely love this hotel. We've stayed a couple of times over the past few years and the last time we stayed they were in the middle of a refurbishment. This time it was finished and the results are fantastic. The rooms are beautifully decorated, very clean and comfortable. There is a bath and a separate shower/toilet.
The lighting in the bedroom is very funky with a mixture of red and white lights. The staff are fantastic and very helpful. We have been really pleased with our stay here at all times and would definitely go back there again when we next go to SA ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Wishinguwerehere
The TEAM wish to see you soon again – we can’t wait for your next visit!
The TEAM cherish your excellent feedback regarding their service delivery!
Thank you for making the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel your home when visiting JHB.
Personal Best
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

The interior design is superb, lots of wacky statement furniture, cool lighting and the lobby smells amazing. The hotel attacks all of your senses, and leaves you with a memorable stay.

Hot chocolate and red velvet cake in the cafe bar us a must, so yummy.

The rooms are cool, and I must say well equipped. All the usual stuff, plus free m&m's , biscuits, marie claire, packets of tissues, and rubber ducks !! The bath is amazingly luxurious! Rooms feel luxurious, and well designed. Corner room had a balcony which I didn't use, but would be nice on a hotter day.

Good location right next to shops, cafes and restaurants . Very safe...

All staff attentive and friendly..Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear DPU2011

One of our philosophies at the hotel is awakening the 5 senses - the TEAM were excited to read that we were able to subtly attack yours, on entrance with our scent in the lobby!
Thank you for staying with us and for the excellent feedback, our Red Velvet Cake is a temptation few can resist!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the African Pride Melrose Arch for two nights on our way from the United States to Botswana. The rooms are large, clean and elegant. The staff is very friendly and professional. There are at least three excellent restaurants in the same courtyard. Plentiful shopping is immediately at hand if you've forgotten anything. I offer it my highest recommendation for anyone passing through Jberg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear jrp01778
Thank you for the excellent feedback, and for starting your vacation in the best possible way – a visit to our beautiful hotel!
The TEAM were delighted to host you, and appreciate your comments regarding service delivery!
The Melrose Arch precinct is an excellent destination when coming to JHB!
We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday – and look forward to welcoming you back!
See you soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Melrose Arch is a funky place. Very modern - if you are a traditionalist go elsewhere. The lifts are fitted out like a disco. The floor corridors are lit like a Star Trek vessel. The spacious rooms are a mix of brick, wood and glass. Rainforest shower or large bath as you choose. Great concept for location of room safe. Fantastic breakfast buffet - a bit lower on volume than some places but very high quality. And both times I've been there now the staff bend over backwards to be friendly and accommodating. Set in Melrose Square there is plenty of walking around you can do as well. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Gelatomania

Thank you very much for your funky review!
I am glad to hear you enjoyed our rain showers, no better way to get the day kick started, before joining us in the March restaurant for our famous breakfast!
The TEAM can't wait to host you again, and appreciate your quirky feedback!
Safe travels!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Address: 1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn’t ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Alternatively, catch the courtesy shuttle from the Gautrain station straight to the hotel where you immediately feel the pulse of urban Africa. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where décor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.