We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, clean hotel. Nice stay but the little things will bug you.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel to your Saves list
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Safe, clean hotel. Nice stay but the little things will bug you.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I went to Johannesburg for the first time for work, and stayed at African Pride Melrose Arch. Many business people stay there because it's deemed to be in a safe location, a consideration that most travellers are advised on before they enter South Africa. Overall it was an OK stay at Melrose Arch, not one to howl about.

Positives
1. Hotel is new and in a modern area. It'll suddenly seem like you're in midtown San Francisco. Safe.
2. Generally clean.
3. Big bed.
4. Hotel is just 4 stories tall, so walking down the stairs when the lift isn't there is a refreshing option.
5. Hotel can arrange two-way transport to your destination. It cost ZAR160 for a trip to our meeting location about 5km away.
6. There's one universal-ish socket at the desk for most plugs - it was easy to charge my laptop here. The ZA power socket is a one-of-a-kind 3 round pin socket.
7. Really liked the cookies by the coffee maker and chocolates by the bed.
8. I didn't eat at the hotel but the surrounding restaurants are fabulous. Go to JB's corner just 50m from the hotel entrance for breakfast. Meat & Co. just in front of the hotel serves up great carnivorous fare.

Negatives
1. Lighting - The hotel has this avant garde look and feel about it, with lots of quirky wall art and colour themes. What bothered me were the red lights in the room and green lights in the bathroom. The red lights were linked to the other brighter lights so if I turned them off, I would be sitting in a dim room.
2. Inconvenient switches and wall sockets - There aren't any sockets next to the bed. So I can't conveniently charge my phone and use the alarm function to wake up. The socket for plugging in the iron is below the desk.
3. During the turn down service, someone comes in and lights three tealight candles by the bathtub. It sort of freaks me out a little that there are open flames in my hotel room.
4. Window blinds - The curtains draw vertically only. This means guests can have no natural light in, dim light through the semi-sheer blinds or all the light in with blinds up. Horizontally drawn curtains would allow guests to control the natural lighting (and privacy) better.
5. General decor - Personally I feel that the hotel tries to hard to be special. The gaudy colours, clashing patterns and quirky decor end up becoming kitschy. Scaling back with muted colours with colourful accents would give the hotel a more refined persona without losing charm.
6. Given the nature of the Melrose Arch compound, it would be good if the hotel provided kitschy a simple map and directory of the shops and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear gurms

Your detailed feedback is highly appreciated and will assist with our search for excellence.
Our location in the safe and secure precinct is great feature for all GUESTS that stay with us. The array of shops and restaurants, within walking distance ensure variety and convenience as well. I am glad that the layout, cleanliness and bed were all to your liking.
I have taken note of your concerns around the lighting. This is something we will be looking into.
Safe travels!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    102
    35
    11
    8
See reviews for
37
101
29
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel is fantastic property within the Melrose Arch precinct. Highly recommend staying in Melrose Arch as one can walk around as there is 24 hour security and lots of cafes and shops.

The hotel is in a prime spot, right on the main square of the precinct. Tons of food choices right around the hotel. The hotel itself is fantastic -- trendy and cool but with a local flair. The rooms are really comfortable, large and have all the modern amenities in terms of technology and any other items that one may need. Great bathroom with shower, tub, large sink area and lots of space.

The hotel's restaurant is fantastic. Had breakfast and dinner there...everything was amazing. If you do the buffet breakfast, the spread is quite overwhelming. Lots of choices in terms of fruits, juices, cereals, yogurt, breads, eggs and more!

The staff are really helpful and the travel desk is absolutely the best. Lots of individuals choose Sandton as their base in Jo'burg. My recommendation is to go with Melrose Arch -- both for this hotel and the area. I will be back and this hotel will certainly be my base.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear barca212
Being the best in Johannesburg is what we strive for! Thank you for sharing your amazing experience with the TEAM on TripAdvisor.
Our newly renovated March Restaurant is certainly one to delight the taste buds and the TEAM will be delighted with your comments.
This prime spot looks forward to your next visit!
See you soon - personal best!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel has a great location inside the trendy Melrose Arch complex, there are some great shops, restaurants and cafes within safe walking distance.
The hotel is very smart and service was superb. We checked in quite early, about 11 am but they didn't flinch and found us rooms straight away.
The rooms are not as large as I expected , but are well fitted out with all mod cons. I liked the large walk in shower with good quality toiletries provided. The bathroom is open plan with the bedroom which would not be ideal for some people when sharing.
The 'hidden' safe in the wall was a quirky and fun idea.
The DVD player and selection of discs was a nice touch, and also the fresh coffee & french press which was provided.
It was suprising to find in such a modern purpose built hotel, which has obviously been very well designed, that there was no adequate bedside reading light, it was too dim to read at night, and only one bedside light which again is not ideal if sharing.
In fact the room is more suitable for a single traveller, and probably someone on business as there is a very comfortable desk/office set up.
I liked it and wished I had time to stay for more than one night. But it is an expensive hotel and despite all the super facilities I am still not sure if the extra cost, compared to the other hotel in Melrose Arch, is justifiable. I hope to go back again some time to do some more research on that !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear safaribird
Thank you for the review and feedback regarding your stay.
Attention to detail is what we aim for!
I am thrilled you enjoyed all the small touches. I note your comments regarding the lighting, which is something we will look into.
We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy it all over again!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel overall was nice and extremely modern. I found the hallways to be dark and a bit frightening at night as I was all the way at the end of the hall. I really liked the local art displayed in the hallways.

They were under construction in the lobby and the breakfast area was transferred to the bar. By now it should be complete and fabulous.

Service was good, just a bit slow in many areas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear mikni2wri
Thank you very much for staying with us, our restaurant upgrade is complete and the TEAM are proud to have delivered an amazing product!
I would love to personally host you for a property presentation on your return.
Your service points mentioned have been addressed with the TEAM and refresher training has been completed.
We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a truly fun and fabulous hotel! The decor and scene are hip, modern and African. Check-in was a pleasure, which included an interesting conversation on current events in SA with David while he got us situated. The hotel staff in general is welcoming and warm. The rooms are beautifully decorated and QUIET, even on the first floor. The breakfast is not included but well worth springing for - everything delicious imaginable including oysters! The area around the hotel is completely safe and reminiscent of a European pedestrian shopping/restaurant zone, including acres of convenient underground parking. If you want to take a day or two to gently ease into SA before heading further out, you couldn't pick a softer and cooler landing spot. My only comment would be for the hotel to streamline check-out. It took quite a long time and should be better organised in advance. For those looking for a spa or exercise facilities, the hotel has arrangements with venues within walking distance and there is a pool in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Januschka L
The TEAM really enjoyed reading about your experiences and the fact that you had such a cool landing spot!
Thank you for your brilliant feedback, and for staying with us!
We will review our check out process, to ensure that any delays are worked out.
We look forward to seeing you soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Without a doubt this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in.
Ultra modern and filled with the most beautiful artwork and then staffed by the most professional and friendly people.
The hotel is full of surprises everywhere you look. The rooms are large clean on modern.
The maintenance and care taken by the staff have given the impression of a 2-3 yo hotel. In fact it was opened in 2003The only hotel that I know that offers freshly opened oysters for BREAKFAST! The rest of the food and presentation was stunning. 10/10 from me

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear CanberraTell
Without a doubt one of the best comments we have reviewed!
Thank you very much for staying with us and for the excellent feedback – the TEAM really appreciate the kind words!
We can’t wait to surprise you on your return - safe travels!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for my wife's birthday and I was pleasantly surprised by the modern and fun decor, friendly staff and great location for shopping and dining.
The rooms are clean and has great bathrooms - all the decor is carefully selected to create a "loft style" apartment with some tasteful African nuances thrown in.
Being part of Melrose Arch places the hotel close to some fantasctic shopping experiences as well as a wide variety of dining experiences.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Emile_12
Thank you for sharing this wonderful memory with us!
The TEAM are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the myriad of activities that the Hotel and Melrose Arch precinct has to offer!
We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Address: 1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn’t ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Alternatively, catch the courtesy shuttle from the Gautrain station straight to the hotel where you immediately feel the pulse of urban Africa. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where décor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.