We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, over priced a bit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Save Saved
You added African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Johannesburg
Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, over priced a bit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel overall was nice and extremely modern. I found the hallways to be dark and a bit frightening at night as I was all the way at the end of the hall. I really liked the local art displayed in the hallways.

They were under construction in the lobby and the breakfast area was transferred to the bar. By now it should be complete and fabulous.

Service was good, just a bit slow in many areas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear mikni2wri
Thank you very much for staying with us, our restaurant upgrade is complete and the TEAM are proud to have delivered an amazing product!
I would love to personally host you for a property presentation on your return.
Your service points mentioned have been addressed with the TEAM and refresher training has been completed.
We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    92
    32
    9
    8
See reviews for
35
94
28
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a truly fun and fabulous hotel! The decor and scene are hip, modern and African. Check-in was a pleasure, which included an interesting conversation on current events in SA with David while he got us situated. The hotel staff in general is welcoming and warm. The rooms are beautifully decorated and QUIET, even on the first floor. The breakfast is not included but well worth springing for - everything delicious imaginable including oysters! The area around the hotel is completely safe and reminiscent of a European pedestrian shopping/restaurant zone, including acres of convenient underground parking. If you want to take a day or two to gently ease into SA before heading further out, you couldn't pick a softer and cooler landing spot. My only comment would be for the hotel to streamline check-out. It took quite a long time and should be better organised in advance. For those looking for a spa or exercise facilities, the hotel has arrangements with venues within walking distance and there is a pool in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Januschka L
The TEAM really enjoyed reading about your experiences and the fact that you had such a cool landing spot!
Thank you for your brilliant feedback, and for staying with us!
We will review our check out process, to ensure that any delays are worked out.
We look forward to seeing you soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Without a doubt this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in.
Ultra modern and filled with the most beautiful artwork and then staffed by the most professional and friendly people.
The hotel is full of surprises everywhere you look. The rooms are large clean on modern.
The maintenance and care taken by the staff have given the impression of a 2-3 yo hotel. In fact it was opened in 2003The only hotel that I know that offers freshly opened oysters for BREAKFAST! The rest of the food and presentation was stunning. 10/10 from me

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear CanberraTell
Without a doubt one of the best comments we have reviewed!
Thank you very much for staying with us and for the excellent feedback – the TEAM really appreciate the kind words!
We can’t wait to surprise you on your return - safe travels!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for my wife's birthday and I was pleasantly surprised by the modern and fun decor, friendly staff and great location for shopping and dining.
The rooms are clean and has great bathrooms - all the decor is carefully selected to create a "loft style" apartment with some tasteful African nuances thrown in.
Being part of Melrose Arch places the hotel close to some fantasctic shopping experiences as well as a wide variety of dining experiences.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Emile_12
Thank you for sharing this wonderful memory with us!
The TEAM are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the myriad of activities that the Hotel and Melrose Arch precinct has to offer!
We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Clearly whoever gave this place 5 stars has never stayed at a true 5-star chain or Asian high end luxury hotel (e.g. Ritz, St. Regis, Mandarin Oriental, Shangri-La). While the property is beautiful and quite fun (loved the lounge area built into the first floor staircase, try it!!), the service is quite bad. You literally have a bunch of people standing around yet cant make a decision on anything (which happens to be quite common in Africa). I would get a phone call at 6pm everyday asking if everything was ok, which I found to be quite intrusive (had the do not disturb light on outside). Several of my service orders were missed (e.g. never brought me extra soap, towels). Dont need the green and red mood lightning in the hotel (this is not a W-hotel people!!)

Also, there is no gym and then tried to charge me ~$20USD to get access to the Virgin Active gym across the street. Come on now, if I am paying for 3 days of accommodations, the least you can do is give me free gym access!!! The killer was on my way to the airport, I had booked the hotel mercedes, but they claimed it was in the shop and tried to give me a small 2 seater taxi came. Oh HECK no! Come on African Pride, you can do so much better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear ndes99
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback.
I will personally be addressing all the points mentioned with my TEAM, to ensure that the shortcomings mentioned are rectified with the necessary training.
The TEAM will be very disappointed to hear that we did not deliver an exceptional experience, we will however revisit our service standards to ensure on your return we exceed your expectations.
I would love to personally be in touch, my email address is gm@melrosearchhotel.com to discuss your stay in more detail.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincere regards
Jean-Claude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night after a safari and was really impressed with this hotel! Fun and funky and in a great location. Great room with a few DVDs and awesome tub and bathroom. We walked around Melrose Arch and had some wine at Winesense and dinner at Moyo, both were great. Finished the night with a few drinks at the hotel bar in front of the fireplace which was really nice. The breakfast spread the next morning was nothing short of insane. Champagne, oysters, tons of options for a super reasonable price. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Elisabeth24
The TEAM are really pleased to hear that you had such a memorable experience in South Africa and at our beautiful Hotel!
From your feedback – I could not have given your vacation a better scripted ending, than drinks at our Library Bar fire place, and our famous Champagne breakfasts!
Thank you for staying with us – we can’t wait to host you again!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Really surprising in every way, the African theme is done very tastefully and we looked forward to coming home to this hotel every day. We sat outside in the sun with the in-pool chairs and sipped cocktails with friends or lay in the cabanas and ate but just loved it. Breakfast was outstanding too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Jono C
Thank you for coming home to us everyday!
The TEAM really appreciated your comments – we opened our new March Restaurant in February this year and cannot wait to host you, upon your return!
We have kept your place in the sun – see you soon!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Address: 1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#10 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#10 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn’t ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Alternatively, catch the courtesy shuttle from the Gautrain station straight to the hotel where you immediately feel the pulse of urban Africa. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where décor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.