We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven in the middle of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Save Saved
You added African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A haven in the middle of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent two nights here recently, and were excited to return after a visit several years ago. The rooms are always quite special. African Pride calls this a HIP hotel, and when you enter your room, you'll see why - the quirky lighting in the bathroom and your own ducks to make bathtime, well, different. The chocolates on your pillows with the turndown service are a lovely touch too. Service is also good - nothing was too much for anyone.
Having Melrose Arch on your doorstep is also pleasant. It allows one to amble around, enjoying a rather civilised shopping experience.
The only thing that's disappointing is the gym facility, or at least the lack thereof.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Grant H
What a pleasure to host you on your return!
The TEAM were delighted to hear that we still exude our HIP status!
Thank you very much for the amazing feedback and for staying with us – we look forward to seeing you soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    88
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
32
92
27
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

From the welcome at the door to the decor, rooms ,food ,attention to detail and fun quirky facets. Like ducks in your bath and a restaurant in the pool. This hotel really has it all. Great location too. The cutest thing is the way they do the room for little kids. Can't wait to use this hotel for our event.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Glynda K
It was an absolute pleasure to personally meet and host you!
Thank you for the excellent feedback!
It’s all in the detail – glad you liked the ducks, kids room setup….and Chef’s cupcakes, you made his day!
Look forward to having you back soon!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gugsy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

it's a nice hotel, with very good rooms. The staff are friendly and efficient, and meals were reasonable standard. There are no gym facilities and you have to pay extra to walk up to a local Virgin active. There is limited free wifi. The location is excellent, in a classy part of town with good shopping and dining options.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Gugsy
Thank you very much for staying with us during your trip to JHB!
I am very pleased to hear that you had such a great stay, and that you enjoyed the shopping and dining experience the Melrose Arch precinct has to offer!
We look forward to having you back soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My recent stay at the Melrose Arch was amazing.
My husband and i almost forgot it was check out time at 11am.
The fact that we could select a movie to watch in our room was great.
The March restaurant looks stunning and the breakfast was great.
We were really impressed with the handwritten welcome note (as opposed to typed) we found in our room.
The rose petals in our room was a great romantic touch.

Thanks for making our stay memorable.

Regards
Uche & Belinda

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear BelindaE207
Your HIP feedback is amazing!
The TEAM are elated to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, and that check out time almost passed you by!
This can only mean one thing – you have to come back….we update our DVD library every quarter, so join us for the next box office releases!
Can't wait to host you again - see you soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel represents the best South Africa has to offer, great service, nice specious rooms, wonderful decor in the rooms and everywhere in the hotel, great bathrooms, good restaurant with unbeatable breakfast, the hotel is situated in the heart of the Melrose Arch entertainment area, with lots of good restaurants and cafe's all around,The staff at the reception desk - to mention a few: Mangi, David, Daniel, and all others are very professional, extremely helpful, friendly and attentive, Every stay at this hotel is nothing less then a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Uri O
Your feedback to the TEAM is a great way to start our week!
The hotel and Melrose Arch precinct is an amazing lifestyle complex, showcasing some of the best of what JHB has to offer!
Thank you very much for staying with us - safe travels!
Personal best
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Booked at Hotel for special occasion on a promotional package that included Dinner at the Hotel "March" restaurant as well as the full breakfast.
Rooms unique, well appointed with the overall design interesting and fun.
Dinner excellent with the sampling menu offered exceptional value given most of the items we selected for main courses and deserts were only possible in full portion sizes!! The desserts were amazing!
Breakfast selection the best I have experienced. Quality and presentation impressive.
Very enjoyable stay with good service and attention to detail, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the swimming pool side (inside courtyard) for the best privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Igr2
Thank you for enjoying this special memory with us!
We strive to create experiences to remember, the TEAM are elated to hear that your stay was exceptional!
We look forward to hosting you again for another special occasion!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Although we stayed only two nights and spent very little time in this hotel, we loved it very much. Check in was a breeze and the staff were all brilliant and so helpful in giving us suggestions on certain activities and making various reservations for us.The hotel is located in the relatively new Melrose Arch complex which has a great shopping mall and is full of restaurants and bars all on your doorstep. We ate at both Moyo and The Meat Co. and thoroughly enjoyed both.

The hotel has a lovely outdoor area with a great pool and bar which we had a view of from our room. The room was quirky, modern and very comfortable, with unique touches in decor. The hotel's main restaurant, however, was under construction when we were there so we were unable to try the breakfast you keep reading about.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Jrosslin
Our new March restaurant is open - on your return, I will personally show you around and join you for a cappuccino!
Our JHB “Sea view” rooms are the most popular, as it adds a touch of tranquility to your stay!
The TEAM can’t wait to host you again – thank you for staying with us and your excellent feedback!
See you soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Address: 1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#5 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn’t ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Alternatively, catch the courtesy shuttle from the Gautrain station straight to the hotel where you immediately feel the pulse of urban Africa. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where décor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.