We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destroyed Valentines Day Plans” 1 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Save Saved
You added African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 71 hotels in Johannesburg
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Destroyed Valentines Day Plans”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Marches Restaurant at the Melrose Arch hotel is staffed by incompetents. After making a booking on the 2nd of Feb for Valentines Day, I called to confirm the reservation on the 12th only to be told that they could not find my reservation and that they would make a plan.

I then received an email a few hours later, confirming what they had planned for the evening and letting me know that I would be put on a waiting list.

I would not entrust the Hotel or Restaurant for a special event as they will let you down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Word_Traveller_ZA
I am delighted to hear that we were able to assist, and that you had an excellent Valentines evening with us!
My sincere apologies for the miscommunication surrounding your reservation, this was addressed with the TEAM, and will not occur again.
As discussed telephonically, we cannot wait to host you again!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    81
    29
    9
    8
See reviews for
29
80
27
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

great boutique hotel with awesome and happy staff.
great place to stay (rooms are a perhaps a little strange and try-hard in design) but the common areas, staff and service was almost perfect. the breakfast was really good as was chilling on the terrace watching people. lots of nice shops and cafes etc surrounding the hotel and completely secure and safe

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Pickypeterpan
The TEAM are delighted to hear that you had such an excellent experience at the hotel, and that you had the opportunity to explore and enjoy the Melrose Arch precinct.
Thank you for staying with us, safe travels!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maun, Botswana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel pushed all the right buttons for us. We were warmly greeted and shown to our room by a friendly porter with a good sense of humour. We loved the stylish well appointed room with all its amenities and well thought out details and wished we could have stayed longer to better enjoy all the facilities. The pool area was very inviting and I imagine it is a great place to spend a few hours. Our only complaint was the tough steak we had for dinner in the restaurant but the breakfast buffet more than made up for it. This was the best breakfast buffet I've seen in a long time and we especially enjoyed the oysters and caviar. We left feeling refreshed having been very well looked after - nothing was too much trouble!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Cathy K
On behalf of my TEAM, I would like to thank you for your amazing comments, and for staying with us!
The TEAM were delighted to hear about your buttons…bring them with on your return!!!
We cannot wait to host you again - see you soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

It's not my first stay and my overall impression didn't change
Nice hotel, so so amenities , rooms are not so big- definitely not a 5 star hotel
Located in an isolated area but there are some shops and restaurants around

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Shlbre
Thank you very much for staying with us, the TEAM really appreciate your feedback!
We do have different room categories and can offer an upgrade on your return!
The precinct is a great place to visit, with numerous restaurants and designer shops to explore.
See you soon!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

First time in Joburg and I stayed here for 3 nights. Amazing people here. The staff are really friendly. Great personalities. The rooms are very nice. Tastefully furnished and practical. The food....well I have not eaten much at the hotel as there are so many nice to eat places around the hotel? Would I come back? For sure with deeper pockets though!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Amani M
It was a pleasure to meet and host you!
The TEAM are very pleased to hear that you had such a great stay at the hotel, and an excellent first trip to JHB!
We look forward to having you back soon!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I booked this hotel on a recommendation from a very chic friend, expecting to be disappointed.. Well I was totally shocked; it was totally awesome modern chic hotel... I was in room 309... room was spectacular, I could have stayed in the shower 24/7..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Francis B
The TEAM are delighted that you were totally shocked with our awesome hotel!
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for the excellent review!
We appreciate your kind words, and cannot wait to welcome you back!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Standards definitely dropped on our last visit in December 2012. Overall staff morale seemed low which impacted on the service. The pool was not particularly clean nor child friendly. Also our request to specify dietary requirements to the chef was frowned upon...which indicates disrespect to guests unique needs. Reception not ALLOWED to provide telephone number or email address of the General Manager. So much for being accessible to the guests . Quality of the rooms were fine, but overall experience was not satisfactory. Think the Fire and Ice around the corner will get my business in future....

Ps .... This was my third stay at the hotel.... So this recommendation is not a once off experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Lambat
Thank you very much for staying with us.
The TEAM are very disappointed to hear that your experience did not live up to expectations.
As discussed telephonically all the points raised have been addressed through correction and training.
We look forward to personally welcoming you back for an amazing stay!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg
Address: 1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn’t ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Alternatively, catch the courtesy shuttle from the Gautrain station straight to the hotel where you immediately feel the pulse of urban Africa. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where décor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.