We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what We expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Save Saved
You added African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not what We expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Standards definitely dropped on our last visit in December 2012. Overall staff morale seemed low which impacted on the service. The pool was not particularly clean nor child friendly. Also our request to specify dietary requirements to the chef was frowned upon...which indicates disrespect to guests unique needs. Reception not ALLOWED to provide telephone number or email address of the General Manager. So much for being accessible to the guests . Quality of the rooms were fine, but overall experience was not satisfactory. Think the Fire and Ice around the corner will get my business in future....

Ps .... This was my third stay at the hotel.... So this recommendation is not a once off experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Lambat
Thank you very much for staying with us.
The TEAM are very disappointed to hear that your experience did not live up to expectations.
As discussed telephonically all the points raised have been addressed through correction and training.
We look forward to personally welcoming you back for an amazing stay!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    88
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
32
91
27
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Absolutely top class .... Great location, rooms really comfortable with plenty of home comforts..attention to detail is superb. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed due to refurbishment but plenty of others locally, would definitely recommend a stay here

Room Tip: Recommend a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Joeybum
Thank you for your great review, and for staying with us while visiting our beautiful country!
We apologise for the inconvenience of the closure, but look forward to being able to offer you an amazing new restaurant from the 1st February.
The TEAM can’t wait to host you again!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have stayed here two or three times now, and would have done so more if rooms were available! Nice, contemporary design, with a stronger focus on customer service than at the equally designer Fire & Ice (which is also good).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear LondonMariner
The TEAM were really excited to read your review regarding our service delivery!
Thank you for staying with us, and for the excellent feedback.
We cannot wait to host you again, we are unveiling our new restaurant on the 1st of February and am sure you will love the new design!
See you soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

i stay at the African Pride Melrose arch Hotel for about 6 weeks per year and have done so for the past 5 years.It is a great Hotel in all respects.

Food is good but there are many restaurants within a few minutes stroll as well.The service is excellent and the accomodation is very comfortable and afro-mod.

The location is perfect and safety and security are all fine.Staff are very very friendly and welcoming.

I highly reccommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Sayan69
Thank you for the excellent feedback!
The TEAM cannot thank you enough, for staying with us for the last 6 years – we look forward to hosting you for many more ahead!
In 2013 we are proud to offer a number of exciting upgrades to our beautiful hotel!
We cannot wait to see you in the new year - safe travels!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is one of the most beautifully decorated hotels with good use of lighting. Extremely clean and comfortable beds. Excellent location, you can shop in the mall located in Melrose, great variety of restaurants for a private dinner or fun night out with friends without having to drive afterwards. In upmarket area of Johannesburg, close to Sandton and Rosebank with Gautrain bus passing thru the complex.

The service is terrible. From front desk to porters. For a 5 star hotel, they need major training for staff.

Tip, the parking is not free and the valet guys have a bad attitude.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Dineo_m
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for your feedback!
I am glad to hear you got some shopping in just before the festive break.
On behalf of my TEAM, please accept my sincere apologies for the service experience.
As discussed telephonically, all the points will be addressed with the TEAM to ensure that this does not happen again.
This is not the norm at the hotel or the standard of service we pride ourselves in offering.
I look forward to personally welcoming you back in the new year!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stunning hotel with oustanding service, beautiful attitudes.
Very relaxing and quiet professional atmosphere
The pool deck is a place to unwind and take a load off
The food was perfect every single time we had the opportunity to eat, really very tasty everytime
My kind of lifestyle

Room Tip: my room was spacious, it makes it more relaxing if you have more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Johnathan N
The TEAM are delighted to hear that you had such an amazing stay and exceptional experience with us!
In the hustle and bustle of JHB, our poolside is the perfect space for some needed relaxation!
We look forward to your next visit!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is an exceptional hotel with extraordinary staff who go out of there way to make you feel welcome and at home in the lap of luxury. It was perfect for business travel and in a beautiful location. I can not fault anything about this hotel! even the room service was phenomenal!!!
defiantly my hotel of choice for all business travel for 2013!!

Room Tip: all rooms are amazing , the 3rd floor is great tho.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Tara R
Exceptional GUESTS deserve nothing less than extraordinary service!
The TEAM really appreciate your kind words and were proud to be at your service.
Thank you for choosing us as your home while visiting JHB!
Have an awesome New Year – see you in 2013!
Personal regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Address: 1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#5 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn’t ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Alternatively, catch the courtesy shuttle from the Gautrain station straight to the hotel where you immediately feel the pulse of urban Africa. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where décor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.