We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for a refurb at the Melrose Arch, but still a good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Save Saved
You added African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 71 hotels in Johannesburg
Manhasset, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Time for a refurb at the Melrose Arch, but still a good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located for an American Business traveler who needs places to entertain for dinner due to the multiple choices of places in the "compound" style setting where the hotel is located. The rooms are very clean, but it is time to update the decor. The lobby looks nice, but the rooms have a very modern 1990's feel to them. The hotel desk service is spotty, but a slight notch above average. The travel desk did an excellent job in arranging cars for transport to meetings and such. The breakfast was delicious and service was the best in the hotel in the lobby restaurant. They had a goofy wifi setup, where you got 500MB for free per day, but then were charged by usage from preset plans. One skype call and the free 500 was shot. Would prefer an unlimited option or included it in the room.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the pool are quieter than those that face the Meat Co and Orient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Stewart J
Our refurbishment is on the cards!
We will be unveiling our new restaurant on the 1st February 2013 – the plans are extremely exciting!
Thanks for staying with us, and for the feedback.
The TEAM appreciate your comments and will strive to exceed your expectations!
We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    81
    29
    9
    8
See reviews for
29
80
27
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've been using the hotel for business travel for a few years now and it never disappoints. It can just as well work for a leisure trip.

The location is safe with a plethora of great restaurants on your doorstep. The rooms are spacious and it seems that a lot of work was done to ensure that you don't hear any noise from outside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear ColdAvis
Business or leisure I am elated to hear that the TEAM are up to it!
The Melrose Arch precinct is an excellent destination in JHB.
I am sure you will enjoy our new restaurant in 2013 – we cannot wait to host you again!
Safe travels!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were very impressed with the interior design of this hotel, it's location and the management and staff who run the place. Sometimes contemporary design often fails to impress but not here. Our room was a delight and contained all the modern facilities you needed. The bathroom with it's rubber ducks and candle points was superbly laid out. We ate in the hotel's restaurant and had a very enjoyable meal. Great choices and options for breakfast also. My only slight disquiet was the inclusion of an 'adult' dvd left in the room as part of a selection. Perhaps that was down to the poor quality and lack of script rather than a moral objection. This hotel is a great place to stay when visiting Johannesburg.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Kempr52
Thank you for your amazing feedback – the TEAM are delighted to hear that you had such an incredible experience!
We cannot wait to unveil our newly refurbished restaurant in Feb 2013!
We have taken note of your movie preference for your return visit - it was a pleasure to host you!
See you soon!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here using a two for one voucher on prokard gold account. Given I was getting this was my stag weekend and meant to be a massive treat! I wish I hadn't bothered as severely let down!!!

At check in was told I had been upgraded to a "suite" room and this wasn't the case. I was in the room I had paid for. I questioned this and was told I had not been upgraded and confirming with staff the next day the room I got was not an upgrade but what I paid for. massive disappointment given I had been led to believe I had been upgraded and wasn't.

Upon check in I requested a wake up call for 9:30 the next (1st) morning. Never got it and missed my breakfast with my friends who had come from Pretoria. I did however get a call at 11:00 telling me the Internet was going to be down and upon my asking why I hadn't been woken up as I had ask I was told that I had been called. Then I was told they didn't have any record of my wake up call. Really annoying to not even get a simple answer as to why I didn't get a call.

The tv was set in French so I could not even have set the tv clock for a wake up call the next morning. Upon trying to ring down for help to fix this... Reception was engaged. Then when it did ring.... No one answered.

Upon arrival into the room the first day I had been given two bottles of still water complimentary - which is standard in protea hotel group. These are resealable water bottles and filled each day usually. Upon day two - my free night - this was not provided. The empty used bottles were not removed from the room. Assume it was because I was in fact providing any revenue room for that night.

The room keys in this hotel are an utter nightmare. If you have it within meters of a mobile phone or cell phone you need to go aaaaallllllllllll the way back downstairs to get them to issue you with a new key. Highly annoying. Only once did I return to the room and not have to take the key to be remade.

Upon returning to my room on the last night - free night - the linen on the bed had holes in it. (Photis attached) This in my mind is not acceptable for a five star hotel. Upon trying to ask about it my call to reception went unanswered. I literally have no clue how that is ok but it was what was given to me.

I then went to bed and saw the chocolate on my pillow had a finger nail mark on it. So that was not very appetising and needless to say I wouldn't have eaten that for all the money in the world!!!

I was booking into their sister hotel Fire and Ice the day I was checking out of the African Pride Melrose Arch. On the day of my checking out I asked if I could have a late check out given check out was 11am and check in at the other hotel was 2pm and was told this was not possible. I was also told assisting me to the other hotel was not possible. I have problems walking and well that was just very disappointed and wish I had stayed at the Wanderers hotel where I usually stay as their beds are always spotless and a fraction of the price than this hotel, and the MD Caroline runs the most fantastic hotel with staff always going the extra mile for their guests!!!

As a five star hotel sadly they fell very short on this stay and given how special this was meant to be for me.... I would save your money and get a MUCH better experience down the road for half the price at the Wanderers. They truly know how to look after their guests unlike this place!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Mr. Watmough
Thank you very much for taking the time to discuss your stay with me.
The TEAM have looked into all the points mentioned, and the necessary steps have been implemented to ensure this does not happen again.
Please accept my sincere apology for the experience - I look forward to personally welcoming you back!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Ideally situated near restaurants and in the midst of the hip Melrose precinct. The standout features are the tables in the pool for a "dipping" experience whilst dining. The Library Bar for its intimacy and ambiance. Regretfully a heavy downpour of rain did create havoc. The two rooms we were initially checked into had water leaking in and the Melrose precinct had a power failure for the entire evening. Nevertheless the hotel was well equipped with a generator which adequately made the hotel function at 90 percent. What stood out for me is how management went about managing during this stressful time. Since the rooms leaked they kindly moved us three times to a room that we were satisfied with. All of this was done with no fuss. Because of our inconvenience Samuel politely offered us a free nights accommodation with breakfast. Thank you Samuel, it was a wonderful gesture. You were the star of our trip. Keep on smiling :)

We had a wonderful dinner at the March restaurant. Great quality of food, albeit pricey. Thanks to Fifi for looking after us.

We had arranged a special breakfast and thanks to Hanroe for catering to our special dietary requirements by acquiring halal meats the day before. Again well done Fifi.

Finally thanks to Mangi at the front desk for all of his assistance

Room Tip: Face the pool area towards the end of the passage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Seedat

After an incredibly stormy weekend….your excellent feedback was well received by the TEAM!
We really appreciate your amazing comments and for staying with us!
When situations like this arise, it is how we react, the TEAM were equal to the task.
Please accept my apology for the power issues experienced during your stay, we were affected by the electric storm in JHB.
I look forward to personally welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the Melrose Arch Hotel for two nights in October and it is a fabulous contemorary hotel. We had a deluxe room which was very impressive, infact as nice a room as I have ever stayed in, for me it had the wow factor. The bathroom and shower were superb and came with it's own rubber ducks which was a clever, amusing little touch. The bathroom / bedroom is open plan ( there is a curtain you can pull across if you want to) with a seperate shower room and toilet. The hotel is in a gated area which has everything you could possibly need in the way of restaurants, bars and shops and lot's of atmosphere. The staff get a ten from me as does the breakfast. Would I stay there again? Yes, for sure I would, would I recommend it? absolutely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Suffolk Stella

My TEAM really appreciate your kind words, and are elated to hear that you had such an incredible experience at our hotel!
We have some exciting developments at the hotel coming soon, to ensure that we continue to offer a unique and dynamic product to all who visit!
I look forward to welcoming you back – safe travels!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg
Address: 1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn’t ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Alternatively, catch the courtesy shuttle from the Gautrain station straight to the hotel where you immediately feel the pulse of urban Africa. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where décor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.