We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“style and luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel to your Saves list
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“style and luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very convenient and upmarket hotel, very service oriented. Breakfast is amazing. Hotel decor is very unique. Additionally there's an in room DVD player with various film's to choose from. Excellent for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Lawi786

Thank you for your amazing response!
Our TEAM cherish service related feedback the most!
We are ecstatic to hear you enjoyed our new breakfast spread!
It was a pleasure to host you "in style and luxury"
See you soon - have a great weekend!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    118
    39
    14
    8
See reviews for
40
117
31
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Spent four days here, and loved every minute of it. The breakfast was over the top and so was the room. We had a normal double room, but it felt like luxury room. The bathroom had both shower and bathtub.

Everything is very close to one and another at Melrose Arch. You can go shopping right outside the doorstep of the hotel. Makes everything very convenient. The staff came with some good suggestion to restaurant. They even had my favorite store, Tiger of Sweden, in walking distance!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Helen H

We pride ourselves on creating tranquil and discreet experiences!
The TEAM were delighted to host you!
I am very pleased to hear that you spent 4 amazing days with us, and enjoyed all the facilities, and services on hand!
Thank you for staying with us, and for your wonderful feedback - look forward to having you back!
Kind regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, Kent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

A good hotel for business and perfectly placed for the excellent meat feast of a restaurant opposite - The Meat Co.

My room was generally clean and a little quirky in their design (gloss red cupboards and open bathroom where you can watch TV while relaxing in a deep and interestingly shaped bath.

Breakfast was good - not brilliant. And the bar area was quite inviting and contemporary.

Service was good and obliging although wifi just didn't work for my entire stay,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear RSL72

Thank you for staying with us and your excellent feedback!
We have made it our mission to offer the best breakfast in JHB, I am sure on your return you will enjoy our new selection! 
We are in the process of upgrading our Internet service which will ensure speed and reliability.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room, and our facilities!
Travel well - see you soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel is in a safe area with shops and restaurants to hand, meaning that unlike many other places, as a female staying here alone I feel comfortable going for a walk around to get some air. Have stayed here a few times and the staff are always helpful, the rooms and bathrooms are large and comfortable and the pool area is very nice.
Its a sort of boutique style decor but true to Africa.
You can use the nearby Virgin Active gym, which is a huge, really nice one. Try nearby Tasha's for breakfast or lunch - its Ottolenghi at a quarter of the price !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Holsandbus

For single lady travellers - there is no better place to stay in JHB!
Luxurious accommodation, safety, amazing food, service, and loads of shopping!
Thank you for staying with us, and for your great feedback!
The TEAM look forward to hosting you again - safe travels!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great hotel, fantastic service and perfect bathrooms.
Location is safe with great restaurants just across the street. Spend some time here 6 years ago and the experience is still the same.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Reeijm
It is a great pity we haven’t seen you in 6 years, however it is excellent to host you again!!!
Thank you for coming back, and for your feedback!
Our location is ideal for all travelers, the Hotel and Melrose Arch precinct has a myriad of retail, and dining options available.
Next time try our March Restaurant - Chef’s Deconstructed Venison Pie is amazing.
We look forward to having you back again!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed for 4 days at this wonderful spot. We reside in Australia but are south Africans . Service was excellent as was the room and breakfast dining area. Buffet and quality/quantity of portions excellent. Coffee in front of the fire in the coffee library wonderful. Location fantastic as its in a quaint area with all shops restaurants and cafes in minues walk from hotel. Breakfast room staff, reception staff and doorman could not do enough to assist. Pure luxury in very safe/secure environment. We have stayed here twice in two years and prefer it to previous stays in hotels nearer sandtone city. Lovely to eat in vibey environment at night without having to travel by car. If you want a good rest and eateries and shops at your door, in a safe location its a great spot. would definitely stay here again. In particular staff hospitality and staff helpful/friendly and couldn't do enough for us

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Bushk
It is a privilege and pleasure to host you!
The TEAM really appreciate your feedback – a special thanks for your mention regarding our service culture and delivery!
We look forward to being your “home” every time you travel back to SA!
See you soon!
Best regards
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

In a trendy section of Johannesburg one would expect a trendy, upscale hotel and this is it. Staff are well trained and attentive. The Library bar is nicely designed. Too bad their outdoor seating doesn't have a smoking area for cigar fans. The rooms are spacious and airy. One criticism: the dresser is adjacent to the bed on one side. Although a space for the phone is built in it seems awkward. Overall it is a strong alternative to the W, Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear 007…HotelSpy55!
Thank you for staying with us, and for the feedback!
I am pleased to hear you had an excellent stay - the Hotel and Melrose Arch precinct is the best address to visit when in JHB!
We are in the process of looking at enhancing our hotel, with a planned refurbishment on the cards, I will raise your comments with our design TEAM.
Look forward to hosting you again!
Jean-Claude & TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Address: 1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel has become an international destination in its own right, attracting discerning GUESTS who take pleasure in modern elegance and sophistication. Sheer style and individuality is what redefines the travel experience when staying at Africa's first truly HIP 5-star Hotel. The luxurious African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Johannesburg, South Africa is situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city", that offers an extensive array of shops and restaurants to be explored. So, if shopping is on the cards, you couldn't ask for a better position. The entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind comfort. If you want to arrive in style, simply book a transfer in one of our luxury vehicles. Engulf yourself in the trendy precinct that is Melrose Arch, which offers GUESTS everything and more at your doorstep. Loosen your tie and make your way outside to the Pool Bar. Make use of our complimentary internet access, take off your shoes and have lunch at our unique tables that sit in shallow water; perfect for that midday cool down. Want to get out and explore? With the vast attractions that Johannesburg has to offer, why not visit the nearby Military Museum or the musical landmark of Sophia Town; both of which have played huge roles in the history of our country. With so much to do within close proximity, a visit to our own March Restaurant is a must and offers a truly sensual dining experience; where decor meets a whimsical fusion of international flavours and cooking techniques.Too early for bed? Make yourself comfortable in the leather couches of the Library Bar. Indulge in a nightcap and be kept company by a selection of great authors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.