We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa

Save Saved
You added Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Saxon Road | Sandhurst, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Quinta do Lago, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Really great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed in suite 200 for 5 nights, which was great in every respect.

Very efficient staff led by the GM George Cohen. Disappointed that our agent ( Carrier) didn't have the foresight to book us a table at restaurant 500.

The whole ambiance is one of calm with great public areas and outside spaces. The only negative was dining in the balcony area of the main restaurant - you get forgotten about!

Like the One&Only in Capetown the hotel offers a very efficient limo service.

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Robert M,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your positive feedback. We are sorry you were unable to experience five hundred whilst staying here, and do encourage you to please schedule it in should you visit us again in the future, as it is well worth trying.

We do hope we can welcome you again soon and please make a point on your next visit to let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards
George Cohen, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    9
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
29
98
10
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a special place beginning with its history. Nelson Mandela lived here for a time and later the building was remodeled into an amazing hotel. It is surrounded by large manicured grounds with interesting sculptures in various places.
The rooms are extremely well furnished with no detail left untended to. Service is excellent with friendly and courteous staff.
And it is the first luxurious hotel I've seen that doesn't have a gift shop, a relief for me. But not to worry, the staff will quickly arrange a car to take you to a nearby major shopping mall.
Sunday brunch is was excellent, with a buffet of starters, then main courses ordered off the menu. But the finale is the desert assortment, an amazing array of items.
The Saxon is a special treat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Ratch37,

My team and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we are grateful for your positive review.

I hope to welcome you back again very soon to spend some more time with us and on your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards
George Cohen, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were sorry we had to check out of this hotel early the next morning, because we would have loved to wander around the beautiful grounds and experience the kind, efficient service a little longer! The room(s) size, the attention to detail, the African art in each room all work together to provide a one-of-a-kind hotel experience - made even better by a Johannesburg thunderstorm, which took our eyes upward to see the beautiful skylights.
A couple of areas that need some adjustment. In the spa, the steam room was not operating, and the dressing room adjacent had rubble on the floor, as though a piece of ceiling or wall board had broken off (?). The young man we asked about the problem seemed to have no training for this area, and repeated that he would have to ask someone. We finally gave up, since no one appeared. Secondly, the lighting system in our room was a bit formidable, though with repetition, we finally figured it out. One suggestion I have would be to have a switch that would turn on a dim light in the bathroom area, rather than turning on all bathroom area lighting if a middle-of-the-night need arises.
Finally, our experience of dinner in the restaurant on the lower level of the hotel was mixed. (Not the Five Hundred) At first we had very attentive service, our water glasses being repeatedly filled, our sommelier very knowledgeable - until our entrees arrived. There were waitstaff everywhere and we two couples had no water in our glasses and seemed not to be able to raise anyone to help - and at that point the restaurant was no longer busy. It seems like this restaurant had not yet worked out all the smoothness in operation that the remainder of the hotel areas exhibited. These are little things in the overall experience, reminding us that perfection is unattainable! (The Saxon comes pretty close...!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Betty12443,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your constructive feedback. While we strive to provide the very best service at all times, there are moments that things may go wrong. I personally appreciate your feedback as this will only help us to improve our service offering to our guests.

We are delighted to read of your positive points as well and you have a keen eye for detail and we love that you took note of the art pieces and the hotel decor.

We do hope we can welcome you again soon and please make a point on your next visit to let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards
George Cohen, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were booked into this hotel for one night at the end of an African safary The hotel is very luxurious and we were even upgraded to the villa suites which really make you just want to stay in and enjoy the wonderful room service, which we did.
If you must spend any time in Johannesburg then this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Janor,

My team and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we are grateful for your positive review.

I hope to welcome you back again very soon to spend some more time with us and on your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards
George Cohen, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We made our first visit to Qunu at the Saxon in March 2013, and have made nine return trips to the Saxon (Qunu and The Five Hundred) since.

Our latest brunch on Sunday 27 October was a fantastic experience. Moving the brunch guests inside to the Qunu restaurant area focuses the attention of the staff, creates a welcoming atmosphere and - most importantly - puts you closer to the food.

Restaurant manager Wesley does a superb job of welcoming guests as they arrive and attending to them throughout their visit. He is backed up by staff such as Molo and Samuel, who aren't shy to crack a joke and make you feel like a valued guest.

Whether brunch, high tea, a meal at Qunu or the one-of-a-kind experience that The Five Hundred has to offer, the food at the Saxon remains a cut above the rest. The dietary requirements of the guests are always carefully considered, and Head Chef David Higgs often makes inspired changes to keep the menu fresh, seasonal and current.

We've had memorable dining experiences in our travels across Europe and into Africa, but The Saxon is the place we call our second home.

Ed Wrede and Leigh Richter

Visited October 2013

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Ed Wrede,

We are truly humbled by your review of our hotel and dining options. To read such a wonderful review from a returning guest means so much to us. I cannot tell you how happy it makes our staff to hear you had a pleasant experience with us and that you enjoyed dining with us. I will make sure Wesley and his team receive your comments.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon to your home in Africa and on your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would love to tailor-make your journey with us.

Warm regards
George Cohen, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

A fabulous property from the moment you drive through the gates. Incredible service and attention to detail and truly worthy of its recognition as one of the leading hotels that exist throughout the World.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Expat Jetsetter,

My team and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we are grateful for your positive review.

I hope to welcome you back again very soon to spend some more time with us and on your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards
George Cohen, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape Town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I recently stayed at the Saxon , wow what an experience , the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful .
The setting is out of this world , hotel gym and spa is also world class .
We ate at the restaurant at the hotel where we had an awesome meal .
Breakfast was outstanding with a wonderful selection . Great Eggs Benedict !
Our room was also beautifully appointed with fantastic attention to detail .
A world class hotel a must recommend .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Beno05,

My team and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we are grateful for your positive review.

I hope to welcome you back again very soon to spend some more time with us and on your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards
George Cohen, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa

Address: 36 Saxon Road | Sandhurst, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#4 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saxon has a story to tell. Originally a private home and host to many honoured guests. The art within the home portrays lives lived with guests and friends spending time together. Elegant. Luxurious. Unforgettable. Merging the finest culinary experiences, the ultimate in luxurious accommodation and the award-winning Spa, the Saxon will take you on an unforgettable journey. This is truly the place you can call home. Let the Saxon treat you to personalised, discreet service and unparalleled South African hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxon Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
Hotel Saxon Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.