We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Saxon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa

Save Saved
You added Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Saxon Road | Sandhurst, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Sun Valley, Idaho
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Super Saxon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We used this hotel as a base when visiting several safari camps. This property is to say the least, fantastic! A 5 star rating is severly underrated for this place. Rooms were spacious, beautifully appointed with African tribal artifacts, and had a complimentary bar. The restaurant food was fantastic, and room service food was restaurant quality. The extras such as, spa, wines, and food were very fairly priced for the wonderful quality. The property is relatively close to the new financial center, but a ways away from the airport. Really not convenient for a one night stay between flights. The staff was top drawer and there must have been 2 staff assigned to each room. It was a very friendly atmosphere through out the entire complex. Going to Joburg for more than a night, then this is the place. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear HannahG,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us whilst you explored our majestic country and I hope to welcome you back again very soon. On your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards
George Cohen, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    9
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
28
96
10
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Wonderful resort, great service. However, if you have food issues BEWARE! I cannot have gluten. I explained it to each of the eateries and the wait staff. One afternoon, I ordered an appetizer and questioned if it was gluten free. The chef of the moment came out and said it was absolutely fine. NOT SO! I was sick the next day and told them. Emailed them. No response, no apology Disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear EvaS258,

May I first and foremost apologise for your experience and stress to you the fact that our chefs will ensure every dietary need our guests have is met at all times.
I am sorry to hear you were not well and we are currently reviewing the matter and will revert shortly.

Please accept the sincerest apologies from our culinary team and myself.

Kindest Regards,
George Cohen
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

How much can you improve and reinvent yourself? Learn the lesson by visiting the Saxon again and again.

We went for dinner at the Qunu Restaurant (a location we've known and enjoyed for 10 years although we do live in the area) only to discover a new gorgeous, refreshed warmer decor making it more welcoming than ever. Not that there was anything wrong with the previous decor, but the decor at the Saxon never looks dated....The Qunu restaurant was recently revamped with beautifully updated furniture and a gorgeous plant wall. The menu has a wider selection and variety. The meals are always ultra fresh, excellent, gorgeous and very price competitive.....The staff tries very hard to provide the best service possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear evelynegomis,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience at Qunu Grill and we are delighted to hear you like our updated look and feel for the restaurant.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your dinner at Qunu Grill and hope to welcome you back again very soon. On your next visit please do let reservations@saxon.co.za know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards
George Cohen, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Went to the Qunu Restaurant at the Saxon Hotel to celabrate a friends birthday. At the heart of Sandton it's an awesome place, awesome service and good value for money. Very elegant, the experience was breathtaking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Lerato M,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your friend's birthday at Qunu Grill.
Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your dining experience with us.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal at Qunu Grill and hope to welcome you back again very soon. On your next visit please do let reservations@saxon.co.za know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards
George Cohen, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mombasa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My stay was faultless, treated like a king, professional and friendly staff. The entire set up was well thought out and the staff is impeccable. The room I was allocated was more than a room , the bed was so comfortable that I could sleep all day if that was possible. The Gym and Spa was also great. I would like to commend the entire staff and say a big thank you to all of them without forgetting the MD Mr George Cohen. As a hotelier I was very impressed and will not hesitate to recommend to anyone looking to be pampered and treated like a royalty. Keep up the excellent work

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Mombasahotelier,

From one hotelier to another, may I thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will make sure I pass your feedback onto our team. We take great pride in the levels of service and security we offer our guests. On your next visit please let us know to expect you at sales@saxon.co.za as we would love to make you feel even more at home at The Saxon.

Kind regards
George Cohen, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed one night only (unfortunately) in this wonderful oasis amidst the not so peaceful JNB environment. The Saxon is surely one of the best city hotels we ever stayed in: luxurious in an easygoing, elegant way; very comfortable suites, superbly equipped; stylish lounge, bar, restaurant and terrace; two unusuallly designed and very enjoyable pools; superb food and drinks with matching service. Expensive but highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Managing Direct at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear JuergenBr8,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcoming you back again very soone. On your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would love to make you feel even more at home with us.

Kind regards
George Cohen, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We chose the Saxon on two separate visits because of its reputation for quality, and we were not disappointed. When a guest in our party had a severe reaction to a stinging insect, they summoned a private physician immediately, even though it was in the evening. Very attentive service. It's clear from the moment you enter the grounds that this is where foreign dignitaries stay for utmost security and comfort. It's so sad that security is such an issue in Joburg, and one hopes that the economic pressures creating such high levels of theft and violence are resolved soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Managing Director at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear BWords,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your feedback onto our team. We take great pride in the levels of service and security we offer our guests. On your next visit please let us know to expect you at sales@saxon.co.za as we would love to make you feel even more at home at The Saxon.

Kind regards
George Cohen, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa

Address: 36 Saxon Road | Sandhurst, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#4 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saxon has a story to tell. Originally a private home and host to many honoured guests. The art within the home portrays lives lived with guests and friends spending time together. Elegant. Luxurious. Unforgettable. Merging the finest culinary experiences, the ultimate in luxurious accommodation and the award-winning Spa, the Saxon will take you on an unforgettable journey. This is truly the place you can call home. Let the Saxon treat you to personalised, discreet service and unparalleled South African hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxon Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
Hotel Saxon Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.