We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saxon spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa

Save Saved
You added Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Saxon Road | Sandhurst, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 71 hotels in Johannesburg
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Saxon spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Really? The Saxon Spa the best in Johannesburg? No - definitely not! Mediocre is more like it. And the staff was really also not interested in making my daughter's birthday celebration at the spa a memorable one. What a disappointment! The package we chose had three different treatments all of which were shorter than advertised and agreed to with the reflex session being 15 minutes shorter. A small breakfast was included. On returning to the change rooms to leave, we were informed that we still each had a drink and a fruitlet as part of the package. On settling the bill, we were presented with yet another bill for those last two drinks which we didn't even order! No - not a great experience. I felt short changed. Could have had much better for less somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Loraine B,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and a happy new year.

I do apologize for you not being satisfied with your recent Spa experience and that your celebration was not a memorable one. We at The Saxon pride ourselves in the levels of service that we offer our guests, and always try to exceeded your expectations. Apologies that this was not the case. George Pindak, our Spa Head of Operations will be in touch with you shortly. We hope to welcome you back to The Saxon very soon .

Should you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact us on sales@saxon.co.za

Best regards
George Cohen
Managing Director - The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    7
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
84
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We visited the Saxon for Dinner last Thursday, aware that this Hotel has been the worlds leading Boutique Hotel since 2001 as well as its rich association with Nelson Mandela at a pivotal time in South African history.
Pre dinner patio drinks gave us the opportunity to appreciate the gardens as well as experience the astonishing attention to detail in service, decor and ambiance. In the dining room executive chef David Higg's visited our table to say hello and the sommeliers recommendation was faultless. My meal of lobster on a gnocchi base was perfectly cooked and presented.
Considering my longstanding association with fault finding, my sole complaint is that the dining experience was as close to excellence as any I have enjoyed anywhere, leaving me with nothing to add to the 'cons' column. The Saxon really is something special and a real treat for any visitor to Johannesburg interested in fine dining in a historic location. I imagine if Gordon Ramsey was visiting Johannesburg, this would be his first choice.
I am already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear tripping10,

Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor and a very happy New Year.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us and that all was "faultless". at The Saxon we strive to exceeded expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Saxon time and again. I will pass on your comments to David Higgs and hist team.

Should you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact us on sales@saxon.co.za and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards
George Cohen
Managing Director - The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I travel a lot for business and leisure but it is rare that I am speechless about service or hotel experiences in general. In my book there are hotels and there are HOTELS. The Saxon goes beyond that, the team is just fantastic. From the moment you arrive you are literally carried through the ultimate and relaxing experience. I had to work and had some meetings at the hotel and the team at the hotel could just not do enough to make my meetings go seemless. I used the spa and had the best massage ever. The new no. 500 restaurant is a different world, interactive and authentic South African fine dining with the best ingredients and the wines presented by Francis - just perfect! Try the villas, it is like your own house with a couple of other friends staying with you (not literally) but you share the public space which is more like a wonderful house than a lounge, perfect.

Room Tip: Villas! Just try them out, you will never stay in a "normal" hotel again, the butler servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Worldtraveler30,

Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor and a very happy new year from all of us at The Saxon.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. i will most certainly share your comments with the Spa, Francis and the rest of the team.

Should you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact us on sales@saxon.co.za. We hope to welcome you back very soon,

Best regards
George Cohen
Managing Director - The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This excellent property has got to be the most luxurious hotel I've ever stayed in! From it's location smack in the middle of Jo'burg's most upscale private neighbourhood, to its jaw-droppingly beautiful rooms, this place is the ultimate in luxury and style.
Decorated in an elegant modern-African style, with safari shades and the most well-curated collection of artwork, every corner is photo-worthy.
The rooms are practically overflowing with comfort via well-thought out furnishings and amenities - including the most covet-able FULL-SIZED and complete bathroom products - including hand-wash and hand-lotion!
My suite had bookshelves stacked to the brim with books of every category, and was located in separate villas, each with their own dining areas and small pool.
The meals were so good, there was no need to leave the hotel (their degustation wine-pairing menu is a must), and they served the best breakfasts I've ever had the pleasure to stuff myself with.
If you have to connect in Jo'burg, please make it a point to break your journey at the sensational Saxon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear madchinaman,

Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor and a very happy new year from all of us at The Saxon.

We are pleased to hear that we are "your new favorite" and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Should you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact us on sales@saxon.co.za

Best regards
George Cohen
Managing Director - The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

There is no other way to describe our experience there then saying we felt inside the hotel like in heave. I'm a frequent traveller and have stayed in 5 stars hotel (or so called ) all over the world and i have to say that this is one of my best experience whether we talk about the room, the property or the service.
First of all we were welcomed by a wonderful member of the staff, Ludovic who we highly recommend. Not only was he making sure that everything was perfect and that all our questions were answered but he reached all our expectations and even more.
For exemple I had forgotten some table i had to take for malaria and in less then 30 min Ludovic sent a car to a local pharmacy and bring it to us. just an exemple of how helpful he was and always with a smile. Also he spoke a very good french.
Upon arrival , there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us in the room.
The room itself was incredible, beautiful furniture, comfy bed, luxurious bathroom, i had never seen anything quite like it and i know what i'm talking about when it comes to great hotels.
The rooms and property are super clean, the different pool areas are wonderful as well as the terraces you can have lunch or afternoon tea at.
THere is also a good gym which is free of charge.
You will feel safe in this place as there is very high (but discreet) security around this hotel.
The breakfast was simply delicious with a lot of choices, as well as the dinner was.
i hightly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for high standart and personalized service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Alx567,

Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Saxon time and again. Unfortunately Ludo is no longer with the hotel but rest assured that his colleagues will be just as helpful.

Should you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact us on sales@saxon.co.za

Best regards
George Cohen
Managing Director - The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalkoy, Turkish Cyprus
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have stayed here a few times before but it is an ever changing animal. David Higgs, the chef there, has now opened a fine dining restaurant upstairs called Five Hundred.....it was excellent, the Joburg equivalent of Le Manoir de Quatre Saisons, we were both very impressed. The rooms maintain their quality and the Spa was a good experience for us. Presently the main restaurant is undergoing renovations but the set-up is still very good, and the works did not disturb us at all. We find the staff friendly and informative always very helpful. We will be back.

Room Tip: Personal choice whether you like to be apart at a villa or in the main building. Our choice would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaxonBoutique, Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Cyprusmal

Thank you for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that again your stay with us was most memorable and we hope that we will welcome you back to The Saxon very soon. I will pass on your feedback to David and the rest of the team. Thank you very much.

On your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would like to exceed your expectations of the Saxon even more.

Kind regards,
George Cohen, Managing Director
The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

As you might expect, this hotel is seriously good! It's in a secluded setting in the prosperous suburb of Sandhurst with beautiful grounds leading out from the infinity pools that adjoin the main house. By the entrance to the main house there is a spectacular aerial walkway that takes you through the trees to three separate villas which have further suites and spacious common areas.

The service is impeccable - helpful, intelligent and friendly - without a hint of the underlying arrogance that can spoil the service in many other top flight establishments. The suites in the villas are delightful, with a spacious main room, private patio and an open plan bathroom area that is cleverly designed still to be discreet.

We entertained a number of guests to dinner in the dining library and the meal was well up to the standard that you might expect, both in terms of the quality of the food and the presentation of the dishes.

If, like me, you visit the Saxon on a business trip you have a dilemma - do you tell your other half all about it? Because if you let on about how wonderful it is, it's pretty certain you'll find yourself coming back together for a vacation trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaxonBoutique, Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear SixNineOne,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we will welcome you back to The Saxon very soon, along with your partner dispite the dilemma as we would love to welcome you back on a more relaxed basis. I will definitely pass on your comments to our team.

On your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would like to exceed your expectations of the hotel even more.

Kind regards,
Miguel Brunido, Sales Manager
The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa

Also Known As:
Saxon Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
Saxon Boutique Hotel
Hotel Saxon Boutique
Address: 36 Saxon Road | Sandhurst, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saxon has a story to tell. Originally a private home and host to many honoured guests. The art within the home portrays lives lived with guests and friends spending time together. Elegant. Luxurious. Unforgettable. Merging the finest culinary experiences, the ultimate in luxurious accommodation and the award-winning Spa, the Saxon will take you on an unforgettable journey. This is truly the place you can call home. Let the Saxon treat you to personalised, discreet service and unparalleled South African hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.