We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa

Save Saved
You added Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Saxon Road | Sandhurst, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I travel a lot for business and leisure but it is rare that I am speechless about service or hotel experiences in general. In my book there are hotels and there are HOTELS. The Saxon goes beyond that, the team is just fantastic. From the moment you arrive you are literally carried through the ultimate and relaxing experience. I had to work and had some meetings at the hotel and the team at the hotel could just not do enough to make my meetings go seemless. I used the spa and had the best massage ever. The new no. 500 restaurant is a different world, interactive and authentic South African fine dining with the best ingredients and the wines presented by Francis - just perfect! Try the villas, it is like your own house with a couple of other friends staying with you (not literally) but you share the public space which is more like a wonderful house than a lounge, perfect.

Room Tip: Villas! Just try them out, you will never stay in a "normal" hotel again, the butler servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Worldtraveler30,

Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor and a very happy new year from all of us at The Saxon.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. i will most certainly share your comments with the Spa, Francis and the rest of the team.

Should you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact us on sales@saxon.co.za. We hope to welcome you back very soon,

Best regards
George Cohen
Managing Director - The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    9
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
28
96
10
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This excellent property has got to be the most luxurious hotel I've ever stayed in! From it's location smack in the middle of Jo'burg's most upscale private neighbourhood, to its jaw-droppingly beautiful rooms, this place is the ultimate in luxury and style.
Decorated in an elegant modern-African style, with safari shades and the most well-curated collection of artwork, every corner is photo-worthy.
The rooms are practically overflowing with comfort via well-thought out furnishings and amenities - including the most covet-able FULL-SIZED and complete bathroom products - including hand-wash and hand-lotion!
My suite had bookshelves stacked to the brim with books of every category, and was located in separate villas, each with their own dining areas and small pool.
The meals were so good, there was no need to leave the hotel (their degustation wine-pairing menu is a must), and they served the best breakfasts I've ever had the pleasure to stuff myself with.
If you have to connect in Jo'burg, please make it a point to break your journey at the sensational Saxon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear madchinaman,

Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor and a very happy new year from all of us at The Saxon.

We are pleased to hear that we are "your new favorite" and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Should you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact us on sales@saxon.co.za

Best regards
George Cohen
Managing Director - The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

There is no other way to describe our experience there then saying we felt inside the hotel like in heave. I'm a frequent traveller and have stayed in 5 stars hotel (or so called ) all over the world and i have to say that this is one of my best experience whether we talk about the room, the property or the service.
First of all we were welcomed by a wonderful member of the staff, Ludovic who we highly recommend. Not only was he making sure that everything was perfect and that all our questions were answered but he reached all our expectations and even more.
For exemple I had forgotten some table i had to take for malaria and in less then 30 min Ludovic sent a car to a local pharmacy and bring it to us. just an exemple of how helpful he was and always with a smile. Also he spoke a very good french.
Upon arrival , there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us in the room.
The room itself was incredible, beautiful furniture, comfy bed, luxurious bathroom, i had never seen anything quite like it and i know what i'm talking about when it comes to great hotels.
The rooms and property are super clean, the different pool areas are wonderful as well as the terraces you can have lunch or afternoon tea at.
THere is also a good gym which is free of charge.
You will feel safe in this place as there is very high (but discreet) security around this hotel.
The breakfast was simply delicious with a lot of choices, as well as the dinner was.
i hightly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for high standart and personalized service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Alx567,

Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Saxon time and again. Unfortunately Ludo is no longer with the hotel but rest assured that his colleagues will be just as helpful.

Should you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact us on sales@saxon.co.za

Best regards
George Cohen
Managing Director - The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalkoy, Turkish Cyprus
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have stayed here a few times before but it is an ever changing animal. David Higgs, the chef there, has now opened a fine dining restaurant upstairs called Five Hundred.....it was excellent, the Joburg equivalent of Le Manoir de Quatre Saisons, we were both very impressed. The rooms maintain their quality and the Spa was a good experience for us. Presently the main restaurant is undergoing renovations but the set-up is still very good, and the works did not disturb us at all. We find the staff friendly and informative always very helpful. We will be back.

Room Tip: Personal choice whether you like to be apart at a villa or in the main building. Our choice would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaxonBoutique, Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Cyprusmal

Thank you for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that again your stay with us was most memorable and we hope that we will welcome you back to The Saxon very soon. I will pass on your feedback to David and the rest of the team. Thank you very much.

On your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would like to exceed your expectations of the Saxon even more.

Kind regards,
George Cohen, Managing Director
The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

As you might expect, this hotel is seriously good! It's in a secluded setting in the prosperous suburb of Sandhurst with beautiful grounds leading out from the infinity pools that adjoin the main house. By the entrance to the main house there is a spectacular aerial walkway that takes you through the trees to three separate villas which have further suites and spacious common areas.

The service is impeccable - helpful, intelligent and friendly - without a hint of the underlying arrogance that can spoil the service in many other top flight establishments. The suites in the villas are delightful, with a spacious main room, private patio and an open plan bathroom area that is cleverly designed still to be discreet.

We entertained a number of guests to dinner in the dining library and the meal was well up to the standard that you might expect, both in terms of the quality of the food and the presentation of the dishes.

If, like me, you visit the Saxon on a business trip you have a dilemma - do you tell your other half all about it? Because if you let on about how wonderful it is, it's pretty certain you'll find yourself coming back together for a vacation trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaxonBoutique, Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear SixNineOne,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we will welcome you back to The Saxon very soon, along with your partner dispite the dilemma as we would love to welcome you back on a more relaxed basis. I will definitely pass on your comments to our team.

On your next visit please do let sales@saxon.co.za know as we would like to exceed your expectations of the hotel even more.

Kind regards,
Miguel Brunido, Sales Manager
The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The spa at the Saxon is very disappointing. Staff are not attentive, not properly trained, not effective at communicating and generally disinterested. Restaurant is ok though. Nice steaks and fair service. Waiters need to be better versed on the menu, food origin and preparation and wines.

Very, very disappointing. We expected much more. Good window dressing, but poor execution. Just like the Westcliff.

Room Tip: No tips for the selection of a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaxonBoutique, Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear PieterP,

Thank you for your commentry on the Spa at The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas & Spa.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the disappointment that you experienced on your last visit. We would like to assure you that this is not the normal standard of the Saxon Hotel. The Saxon Spa always strives for faultless service and we will endeavor to ensure that this does not happen again. Corrective measures are already in place. When considering another appointment at The Spa, please contact the manager Wesley Grobler directly on wesleyg@saxon.co.za as he will ensure that you are well taken care of.

We hope to welcome you back soon and to extend the service that is expected from The Saxon.

Regards
George Cohen - Managing Director
The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas and Spa offers unparalleled luxury in a tranquil environment. Appointing high-level detail and sophistication in decor throughout the hotel, it is no doubt one of the premier luxury hotels worldwide. The cuisine and service are, as expected, of high standard and the staff always professional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaxonBoutique, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Tebogo K,

Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back time and again.

Should you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact us on sales@saxon.co.za

Best regards
George Cohen
Managing Director - The Saxon Boutique Hotel, Villas & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa

Address: 36 Saxon Road | Sandhurst, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#4 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saxon has a story to tell. Originally a private home and host to many honoured guests. The art within the home portrays lives lived with guests and friends spending time together. Elegant. Luxurious. Unforgettable. Merging the finest culinary experiences, the ultimate in luxurious accommodation and the award-winning Spa, the Saxon will take you on an unforgettable journey. This is truly the place you can call home. Let the Saxon treat you to personalised, discreet service and unparalleled South African hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxon Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
Hotel Saxon Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;