We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Best ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   67 Jan Smuts Avenue | Westcliff, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa (Formerly The Westcliff)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Durban
1 review
“One of Best ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is amazing! The layout is unique and your room is like a villa. The facilities inside the rooms and the quality of the finishes are really superb. The staff are so hospitable, so polite and so knowledgeable, quite a rare service quality nowadays. Naturally the view overlooking the Zoo is amazing and enjoying a light lunch on the balcony with my wife will be a memory I will cherish.

We still have tomorrow to enjoy and I can't wait.
Regards
Mark and Leah-Ann

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    16
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
22
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hi this is a lovely reconstruction of a hotel. Unfortunately I did not go into the rooms.
But the restaurants , bars, lounges have being changed a lot. The swimming pool has being closed in and replaced with a few others in the residential area which is a blessing because people having lunch from outside the hotel gave the residents no,privacy. The staff a very pleasing to everyone. Food we had was alright, mine was over cooked and dry. ( Dover sole) . They got our tables mixed up and took along time too sort it out. So hopefully we will stay there next time
And have no hick ups as with the previously hotel.

Room Tip: Did not check the rooms this time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were keen to stay at the newly renovated Westcliff Hotel (Now Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff). The service was exceptional. The rooms exquisite and comfortable. Our room opened out onto a terrace with a spectacular view of the Johannesburg Zoo and surrounding leafy suburbs. What a treat to enjoy a Nespresso watching sunrise on the terrace. Great room amenities and comfortable slippers. WE had dinner at "The View". A true fine-dining experience. Non-fussy, efficient and chilled. Had the skate for main course - WOW. Breakfast was served at the Flames Restaurant and what to say but "yummy". Definitely on the cards for another weekend "stay-vacation".

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joburg
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful business dinner was hosted at The View.

The quality of dinning is top draw with a number of tasting options to choose from. Our meals were , starters - Foie Gras beautifully presented and very tasty . The mains included springbok which was perfectly prepared and rolled in puff pastry. In other main was silk fish , soft and full of taste .

The evening was finished off with a cheese selection and coffee.

This is a great dinning venue , quality service and best of all a great view.

Fine dinning , is at a cost.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is new as I write this review and I thought the property was beautiful. Lovely views of the leafy Westcliff area. Rooms are spacious. Great spa, a nice haven after an international flight. Enjoy a glass of wine on the restaurant terrace. Michelin rated restaurant is closed on Mondays, but regular dining is open. 30 minutes from the airport, so quite convenient.Typical of most restaurants when they open, staff seems a little disjointed - as if they're still learning. I would expect that more time will resolve this issue. It was everything I expect of a Four Seasons.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have just arrived home from what can only be described as one of the best nights of my life. The gorgeous Four seasons was nothing short of mind blowing. Our waiter Themba was outstanding and so hospitable! The food was the best I have ever had! A huge thank you to Themba, the F&B manager on duty and the fantastic team of Chefs who made my 21st birthday celebration with my family an unforgettable one! I am so very grateful and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Four Seasons for 3 day's. The rooms are beautiful and huge. I especially liked the bathroom where you put your cases and storage for clothes. The restaurant is on the top of a building and looks over Jo berg. The food was really nice and well presented. Never got as chance to use the spa but it looked really nice. I am not a fan of Jo Berg because of the safety issues but felt very safe and secure in the hotel as there was good security in the hotel. Room service and staff where polite and courteous at all times.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg

Address: 67 Jan Smuts Avenue | Westcliff, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa (Formerly The Westcliff)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#10 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Westcliff Johannesburg welcomes you to a self-contained sanctuary in the affluent Westcliff residential area. Perched on a cliffside, this resort-style retreat offers panoramic views over the neighbouring Johannesburg Zoo and the dense tree canopy of the city's prestigious northern suburbs. The ambience is like a sun-splashed Mediterranean village laced with courtyards, fountains and gardens. Fully transformed, the hotel's 117 guest rooms and suites offer cool, contemporary decor inspired by modern Africa. Four Seasons Hotel Westcliff Johannesburg is a lively social hub for the city's elite, and the first choice for business and holiday travellers - providing a pampering start or finish for a South African safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westcliff By Orient-Express Hotel Johannesburg
Westcliff Hotel Johannesburg
Westcliff Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.