We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel nice view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   67 Jan Smuts Avenue | Westcliff, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa (Formerly The Westcliff)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel nice view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The 4 seasons Westcliff has great rooms perfect service and an outstanding restaurant with a 180 degrees views on the gardens and hills of Johannesburg. All well including the Spa. Family or business recommended. The service and food are great as well.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    14
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
21
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to celebrate our wedding at the Four Seasons Westcliff Hotel in Johannesburg because of its spectacular location and the recent takeover by the Four Seasons brand. We had high expectations and they were greatly exceeded by the reality. The rich experience and professionalism of the management team along with the various and high-quality facilities offered in the property turned our wedding day from a dream to real fairy tale.

The hotel provides an all-in-one wedding solution that includes everything you'd like for a beautiful and memorable day: 1) a splendid rose garden for the ceremony overlooking the Johannesburg skyline; 2) a smaller-sized garden which is well set up for functions and conveniently located in immediate proximity to the ballroom for the main reception; 3) a spectacular reception hall that is elegantly elaborate and stylish. If you ever dreamed of a royal-style wedding, you dreamed of this venue.

The process leading up to the wedding ran as well as the day itself. The experience of the team in organizing weddings showed quickly. They offered recommendations on how to structure the day, shared do's and don'ts, even scheduled the required meetings closer to the day to ensure that all elements have been discussed and agreed upon. Christopher, the Hotel Manager, and his team exhibited nothing but professionalism and acute attention to detail through the whole planning period. This was especially evident when one of the team members, who was also our main coordination person, moved on to another career and had to be replaced a few months before the wedding. A situation which would normally result in substantial disorder and frustration was managed so well that we barely noticed the shift in responsibility and individuals.

What we quickly realized is that because of the comprehensiveness of services offered by the venue (incl. a wedding coordinator) the role of a wedding agent would be completely redundant. From availability of major necessities (e.g. high-quality silverware, table cloths, easels, outdoor and indoor furniture for all parts of the wedding, etc) through taking care of all required rentals (e.g. chair covers, tents, etc.) to an in-house florist who is well familiar with the venue and knows how to accentuate its particular features we really had all main wedding components taken care of by the hotel. We did have to arrange a few vendors but those are the ones that you should personally pick even if you used a wedding agent (e.g. photo- and video-grapher, beauticians, DJ). However, the venue had a list of recommendations even for those vendors. In retrospect, we saved a substantial wedding cost since we didn't have to rely on a wedding agent and it worked exceptionally well.

Finally, the on-the-day coordination and support from the team was extraordinary. We were kindly given early check-in for a few of the rooms we had booked for the night so that we can prepare for and rest before the big events. There were a few calls and visits to ensure everything was in order and the team on site made sure that everything ran as smoothly as it could have. They communicated with one another but also with us to deliver a flawless and effortless flow of events. The rose garden and the Jacaranda ballroom looked picture perfect and the landscape around the hotel allowed for such beautiful backdrops for amazing wedding photos. We also need to compliment the chef on the fully customized menu which would make the toughest foodies happy. It was magnificent overall and so many of our guests came to tell us that this is the most magical wedding they've been to. This coming from guests who are seasoned function goers and lux travelers means a lot.

Thank you, Four Seasons team, for helping us create our fairy tale!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Must see when you're in Johannesburg! Staff was amazing! We got lost with the GPS and we called for assistance - they we're on the ball immediately. From arrival at the gate, valet, reception - everyone just wanted you to feel at home and comfortable. Phenomenal view (overlooking the JHB Zoo), lovely staff - incredible menu - really was sad when I couldn't finish my salad! Beautiful, elegant set tables - so chic. Definitely a lovely spot for a date :) or special occasion celebration. Would LOVE to stay a night in the Hotel to experience the room and everything Four Seasons!

Room Tip: Try and ask for a view over the JHB Zoo
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a very enjoyable stay here with a business meeting group. Highlights are definitely the well trained and very obliging staff, the Flame restaurant (what a view) and large comfortable rooms. Wi-fi worked very well. A few things to be aware of: the hotel is built into a hill, so the lay out is a bit convoluted and requires a fair bit of walking, some up hills and lots of stairs. Staff are always available to shuttle you by mini cart so not a problem. The hotel spa is not really operational yet, but the gym is open as is a small secondary pool. The hotel is not really near anything else, so plan on needing to go by car or taxi everywhere. Would stay here again if I was doing business in the adjacent business centers of Joburg.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautifully revamped hotel with earthy natural tones flowing throughout complimented by the surrounding greenery, leaving one with a good feel of a natural and relaxed environment, yet with unobtrusive opulent luxury. This together with the amazing view, coupled with delightful nibbles and pleasurable drinks, thereafter enjoying our palatable dinner and dessert at Flames served attentively and in a warm and welcoming manner - I did not want the evening to end!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Westcliff for many years under Orient Express Management, it is now a Four Seasons so we went back to see what it was like. We found a renovated hotel and much has changed.

The reception area is completely different, there is a whole new Spa and new Pool area, although the Spa was not open or the new pool area when we were there last week. There is a great new Gym and business Center.

Now what I am going to say next is a matter of taste in decor, the old Westcliff was an English Classic style hotel, very comfortable, cozy, and very luxurious. The new decoration tries to be more modern, the old restaurant areas, famous Polo Bar are gone as well as the old swimming pool near the restaurants. The new area is much larger, the iconic Polo Bar is gone, the two new restaurants, in our opinion are not as nice as the old ones, they were classic with white linen and beautiful decor, now they are as a million other restaurants but I can see that it makes sense from an economical point of view for the operator.

The service is slow, probably slow in the kitchen but the waiters are fabulous, quick and friendly, eager to please and well trained. We preferred the old breakfast buffet, it was extensive and delicious, the new breakfast buffet is more modest but there is a menu from where you can order extras.

The new rooms are very comfortable and again its a matter of taste, more modern now, the TV´s are better than the old ones, the bathrooms and closets are the same. Air cons are good, we had some plugs that did not work in our room but maintenance were quick to fix them, no shaving plugs in the bathroom but this must be some safety measure or something. Free guest Wi-fi works just fine.

Room Service - the first night we ordered room service the food came all cold, soups and pasta sauce horrible to eat cold. We mentioned this the next day and had a visit from the Room service manager, Carlos, he is a seasoned and very experienced Four Seasons Manager, eager to hear what we thought and even more eager and quick to rectify the temperature of the food, it started arriving on the following days hot and delicious. It now came in a heated box and perfect, delicious all of it! (they don´t have an easy time serving room service due to the layout of this hotel but they are stars and quickly arrive at your room).

There is one thing that is OUTSTANDING and must be mentioned. The staff, all the staff without exception are fantastic. They could not be more friendly or give better service, they are very well trained and give the guest a seven star service. Special mention to Carlos the room service manager, to Sandy in room service and to another young man from room service (unfortunately don´t know his name). Exceptional service at this hotel.

So in conclusion, this continues to be the best hotel in Johannesburg and we will be back hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Room 204 for great space, Room 201 for great view and room 701 is close to the elevators serving the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Checked in March 18th, 2015 and checked out March 20th. The staff was extremely helpful and yet remained unobtrusive. The room had obviously just been redone and so was in excellent condition. Same with the overall hotel. The landscaping was very nice but a work in progress. As was the hotel's fine dining restaurant. We had been told it had not yet opened after the renovation process and yet dozens of hotel guests were seen through the windows eating dinner. Not sure what was going on there. Meals in the bar area were nothing particularly special but better than average. The restaurant staff was not very good. For example, the same waiter reappeared fifteen minutes after taking our order only to inquire whether someone had taken our order. Thirty minutes later the very simple dish was delivered. Most of that problem came from confusion generated in the restaurant staff by a passing rain shower (part of the roof deck bar restaurant is not under cover). The staff handled the repositioning of outside guests with barely controlled chaos. Nonetheless, the location, views, room, amenities and general staff were outstanding. A great example of that was when we arrived. Two people were inside JNB immigration to meet us. We were whisked through immigration and customs to a waiting limo for the ride to the hotel. After a twenty-hour travel day that was fantastic. Perhaps our travel company requested that treatment, but the hotel ensured it was carried off to perfection. Another example: The next morning we inquired at the front desk if a tour of Soweto and Mandela's home could be arranged after breakfast. The driver, who spoke excellent English, was waiting for us when we were ready. He drove an immaculate, comfortable Mercedes and was an absolute pleasure. All things considered, we would definitely revisit The Four Seasons Westcliff.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg

Address: 67 Jan Smuts Avenue | Westcliff, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa (Formerly The Westcliff)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#21 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Hotel Westcliff Johannesburg welcomes you to a self-contained sanctuary in the affluent Westcliff residential area. Perched on a cliffside, this resort-style retreat offers panoramic views over the neighbouring Johannesburg Zoo and the dense tree canopy of the city's prestigious northern suburbs. The ambience is like a sun-splashed Mediterranean village laced with courtyards, fountains and gardens. Fully transformed, the hotel's 117 guest rooms and suites offer cool, contemporary decor inspired by modern Africa. Four Seasons Hotel Westcliff Johannesburg is a lively social hub for the city's elite, and the first choice for business and holiday travellers - providing a pampering start or finish for a South African safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westcliff By Orient-Express Hotel Johannesburg
Westcliff Hotel Johannesburg
Westcliff Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.