We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great attention to detail and lovely back drop of Johannesburg urban forest.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg

Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   67 Jan Smuts Avenue | Westcliff, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa (Formerly The Westcliff)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great attention to detail and lovely back drop of Johannesburg urban forest.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The Westcliff has everything you need and deserve when looking for a 5 star hotel. The hotel has just been renovated with great attention to detail and a bed that you would try put in your bag and take it home its so amazing.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Four Seasons is known the world over as one of the most luxurious hotel groups, founded by Issie Sharp some time ago. His motto "Treat Others as You'd Want to be Treated" has clearly not come to this property in Johannesburg. Although my wife and I ate at Flames and didn't stay at the hotel, as we live in Sandton, you do experience the very sad state of this newly opened hotel. On entering, no one told us where to park, so we drove up to the top only to find no parking. On trying to speak with a guard for directions we got no where as he spoke no English! On returning to the restaurant after having parked the car we were greeted by an idiot of a maitre'd who not only didn't have our reservation, but wouldn't listen to us either. The meal itself, I must say, was very good whilst the service was a disaster. No one knew how to open let alone serve a bottle of bubbly. The consistent burning of the bread rolls with the smell throughout the restaurant is unacceptable. And there are builders running around, building material lying around, a half finished elevator and rubbish throughout. My honest suggestion is that they close the property and get it fixed and ready before anyone stays or visits.

Room Tip: Don't stay until it is completed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSJohannesburg, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear arcjnb,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your recent meal at Flames. We value your feedback and were very concerned to read about your experience with regards to your overall experience and service you received. Please accept our deepest apologies for these inconveniences. We would very much like to have the opportunity to speak with you. Many of the difficulties associated with our opening weeks are promptly dissipating. The elevators transporting guests to the restaurants which were still undergoing safety tests during our first few weeks of operation are now in working order. We are looking forward to a future opportunity to welcome you to Flames and our other restaurant outlets opening next year.

Sebastien CARRE
General manager
Tel +27 (0)11 481 6101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having previously experienced superb and superior hospitality at Four Seasons hotels around the world, we were looking forward with anticipation to the Christmas Eve dinner we had booked at the brand new Four Seasons Westcliff Hotel, in their flagship restaurant, The View.

Being a fan of the Four Seasons group, I had made this reservation as soon as booking opened to ensure that we secured a table. This was in late October. I was only a little disconcerted when I followed up for a booking confirmation to be told that there was no booking. So I re-booked and paid the full amount in advance as requested. I was subsequently sent a chef’s menu from which to make final dinner choices. The menu looked superb and all seemed to bode well for a memorable Christmas Eve dinner.

On 13 December I received a call from the General Manager to advise that he was concerned about our booking. We would be the only guests in The View restaurant and he was worried that we may feel uncomfortable. His suggestion was that we should take a table in the The Flame restaurant for a buffet-style meal.

For us, buffet is not an option as a dining experience and certainly not at R2,500.00 a head in a purportedly five-star establishment. We are also not perturbed by the prospect of being the only guests in a restaurant so we thanked him for his consideration and advised that we would keep the booking as it was. I was now feeling a little uncomfortable; this is not what I was expecting from a Four Seasons hotel.

On 21 December I was again contacted by the General Manager with a further proposal for our Christmas Eve dinner reservation. They would like to serve us in a suite. I am sure the suite would be beautiful, but ultimately it would be room service. Again thanks for the offer, but we would rather stick to the original plan.

It then transpired that this was not possible, as in fact The View restaurant has not yet been fully completed. They have apparently been let down by the contractors and this had become our problem. This is when I became decidedly annoyed. Frankly this unprofessional behaviour and service is unacceptable from the Four Seasons or any five-star hotel. To leave things to the last minute, make sub-standard alternative suggestions and express surprise when we said ‘no thank you’ has left us aghast. There are not many restaurants offering superior meals over the festive season, so to approach us three days before the event is just not cricket. This service is what one would expect of a three-star hotel.

It seems Four Seasons Westcliff has minimal understanding of customer service at a superior level. What a bad start for a much anticipated international hospitality brand.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthAfrica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having previously experienced superb and superior hospitality at Four Seasons hotels around the world, we were looking forward with anticipation to the Christmas Eve dinner we had booked at the brand new Four Seasons Westcliff Hotel, in their flagship restaurant, The View.

Being a fan of the Four Seasons group, I had made this reservation as soon as booking opened to ensure that we secured a table. This was in late October. I was only a little disconcerted when
I followed up for a booking confirmation to be told that there was no booking. So I re-booked and paid the full amount in advance as requested. I was subsequently sent a chef’s menu from which to make final dinner choices. The menu looked superb and all seemed to bode well for a memorable Christmas Eve dinner.

On 13 December I received a call from the General Manager to advise that he was concerned about our booking. We would be the only guests in The View restaurant and he was worried that we may feel uncomfortable. His suggestion was that we should take a table in the The Flame restaurant
for a buffet-style meal.

For us, buffet is not an option as a dining experience and certainly not at R2,500.00 a head in a purportedly five-star establishment. We are also not perturbed by the prospect of being the only guests in a restaurant so we thanked him for his consideration and advised that we would keep the booking as it was. I was now feeling a little uncomfortable; this is not what I was expecting from a Four Seasons hotel.

On 21 December I was again contacted by the General Manager with a further proposal for our Christmas Eve dinner reservation. They would like to serve us in a suite. I am sure the suite would be beautiful, but ultimately it would be room service. Again thanks for the offer, but we would rather stick to the original plan.

It then transpired that this was not possible, as in fact The View restaurant has not yet been fully completed. They have apparently been let down by the contractors and this had become our problem. This is when I became decidedly annoyed. Frankly this unprofessional behaviour and service is unacceptable from the Four Seasons or any five-star hotel. To leave things to the last minute, make sub-standard alternative suggestions and express surprise when we said ‘no thank you’ has left us aghast. There are not many restaurants offering superior meals over the festive season, so to approach us three days before the event is just not cricket. This service is what one would expect of a three-star hotel.

It seems Four Seasons Westcliff has minimal understanding of customer service at a superior level. What a bad start for a much anticipated international hospitality brand.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to the opening of the Four Season restaurant hoping that this would be even better than the previous Westcliff Hotel after the takeover by 4 seasons. We then booked a few weeks later for sundowners on the terrace restaurant called Flames.
Unfortunately it did not come anywhere near expectations. On the second occasion they lost our booking completely because staff were completely confused. Flames was meant to be fully booked but as far as we could tell only quarter full on the night. The service was very poor with drinks taking over 30 mins to be served. We were 11 and ordered some snacks from the menu to have with our drinks. You were lucky if you got two items on a plate which for a party of 11 was ridiculous , the waiter should have advised that the portion sizes were small. We were recommended to try their signature dish a form of pizza , it was tasteless , you could have got better from a local bakery. We then asked if we could eat inside but they said fully booked, they then found a table outside , still plenty of room as far as we could see so we could not understand the fully booked excuse. Again the food took its time , some arrived cold and had to be sent back, and it is very pricey compared to other high quality local restaurants. The wine list is very limited and not good quality , they were asking 3 to 400 rand for a bottle you can buy in the market for 70 rand.

The hotel has been refurbished but when you see the quality of work especially the painting of the walls and doors in some areas it is shocking, even in some of the toilets taps did not work.

So overall a bad experience , having said that the staff were trying their best and always helpful, I think it was just down to lack of training on customer service and knowledge of the food and wine so they could describe it to their guests. So hotel management need to relook at this in detail and get it right sooner rather than later because we will not be going back their in the immediate future.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSJohannesburg, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear David B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your recent meal at Flames. We value your feedback and were very concerned to read about your experience with regards to certain aspects of the service and quality. Please accept our deepest apologies for these inconveniences. We would very much like to have the opportunity to speak with you. Many of the difficulties associated with our opening three weeks ago are promptly dissipating. We are looking forward to a future opportunity to welcome you to Flames and our other restaurant outlets opening next year.

Sebastien CARRE
General manager
Tel +27 (0)11 481 6101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived 3 days after the hotel opened, having not been warned that the hotel was not really complete, nor had they had the opportunity to test the hotel and restaurant out prior to guests arriving. The comments made by other guests do reflect a lot of the frustrations we experienced. However, we raised our concerns with the Management Team whilst we were there and Mr Carre could not have been more empathetic about our concerns. All the staff went out of their way to try and remedy our issues I.e. Julanda, the spa manager, Priscilla and Ahstaak in Guest relations. This hotel has a stunning location and you just know that once it is complete and the teething issues are out of the way it will be a fantastic place to stay. We will be back to see it at its best.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSJohannesburg, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Louise C,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. We are pleased that you found our our staff to be friendly and attentive and that you could see the full potential of our beautiful property. We will look forward to hearing your feedback about the fully completed hotel upon your return in the near future.

Sebastien CARRE
General manager
Tel +27 (0)11 481 6101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Brand new hotel. Staff are very helpful. Electric carts to take you around. Restaurant very good. View of Johannesburg Zoo. Excellent restaurant with great food and service. A little hilly so electric carts come in handy.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSJohannesburg, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Haoutside

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to our hotel. It gives me great pleasure to read how much you enjoyed the Flames restaurant and service at our beautiful hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sebastien CARRE
General manager
Tel +27 (0)11 481 6101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg

Address: 67 Jan Smuts Avenue | Westcliff, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa (Formerly The Westcliff)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#34 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much acclaimed and soon more impressive than ever, Four Seasons Hotel Westcliff Johannesburg welcomes you to a self-contained sanctuary in an affluent residential area. Perched on a cliffside, this resort-style retreat offers panoramic views over the neighbouring Johannesburg Zoo and the dense tree canopy of the city's prestigious northern suburbs. The ambience is like a sun-splashed Mediterranean village laced with courtyards, fountains and gardens. Fully transformed, the hotel's 117 guest rooms and suites offer cool, contemporary decor inspired by modern Africa. Four Seasons Hotel Westcliff Johannesburg is destined to become a lively social hub for the city's elite, and the first choice for business and holiday travellers - providing a pampering start or finish for a South African safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westcliff By Orient-Express Hotel Johannesburg
Westcliff Hotel Johannesburg
Westcliff Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.