We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg

Best prices from these 4 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   67 Jan Smuts Avenue | Westcliff, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa (Formerly The Westcliff)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Johannesburg
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Westcliff has been bought by Four Seasons and is closed for a year for renovations, which were, in fairness, required. I am writing this review as a thank you for the wonderful times and memories I had there over the years. Work got me to Johannesburg very frequently for a while, and since that time a friend took me to the Pink Palace for sundowners, I never stayed in another hotel.

Occasionally in one’s life, hotels become more than just a place to stay. Maybe it’s just because work gets you there very often, and habit makes you attached. Maybe it’s linked to the people who are with you, or your state of mind when you are there. Maybe it’s about the hotel’s charm, its uniqueness, and its character. Probably, it’s a combination of all the above.

I will always treasure in my mind all those wonderful evenings spent watching the sunset and the stars over a bottle of local wine; the walks at night, wandering slightly tipsy through the little alleys and the maze of corridors and staircases; the white restaurant with its glimmer and shine; bumping into old friends and making an ordinary night into a great one; sitting by the fireplace in the Polo Bar, whisky in hand, as the cold winter wind was biting; eggs benedict for breakfast on my own private terrace; the concierge and every member of staff, always smiling, always efficient; watching the world go by below the line of the infinity pool, sitting on the prow of a pink temple of style and beauty.

I am sure the new hotel will be gorgeous, with the guarantee of Four Seasons service to make it even more special. I may never visit again if business takes me away from South Africa, as is likely. I will nevertheless keep all those memories of that home from home in a little drawer in my head. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    82
    18
    20
    7
See reviews for
51
136
18
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel has closed for upgrades and this review is perhaps of no help but is my own attempt at thank you to the Westcliff team. This was my favourite hotel in Joburg on the back of 4+ years of visits to the city, at least once per month and my last visit was in May 2013.

There were so many positives (the tangibles for now): the room size, balconies (not something common in mordern hotels and one the smoker in me appreciates), the quality of the bathroom and bed, the peace and quiet after a long business day, the security, the logistics across the hotel area, and one of the best breakfast views in the city ! I have seen few properties live up to their obligations of providing hospitality - the Westcliff was one of them.

I have seen the ocassional lapses and there are limitations e.g. service response times (I understand primarily due to the hotel layout !), a small spa, a room service menu that required upgrades, the hotel location from shopping and other entertainment areas (compensated for by the good shuttle connectivity), some ageing furniture.

Thank you to the team for the years of genuine warmth, excceptional can-do attitude, the service and so many other intangible but visible positive qualities. The Four Seasons will need to come up with an exceptional product to top the iconic Westcliff reputation. But for now I am (temporarily I think) testing several options to find other properties I can connect with and so far the 4 alternative properties do not come close to the WestCliff hospitality.

Room Tip: block 9, ground floor near the pool was my favourite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Not to go into great length, since I note from recent reviews that the hotel has closed for extensive renovations so I am sure will be very different when it re-opens!

I had a great stay at the Westcliff. For the standard the hotel was meant to be there were a few issues - broken sockets, room tray left outside for a long time etc, but overall I loved it here. The staff were brilliant and so friendly, the pool area beautiful - I had a peaceful afternoon here sitting in the shade with cold drinks trying to catch up on some work. The hotel itself - buildings and gardens/grounds - are just stunning.

I am looking forward to seeing pictures of the new version!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashhad, Iran
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is located away from the town in a close distance from the central zoo which you can see some animals from the top restaurant balcony. this is a five star hotel with an excellent service but with some difficulties as the hotel is old just like a villa close to the beach you can smell the walls age. Cars are all new and take you to restaurant and bring you back. It is hard to walk in the street of hotel steepness. The business center is excellent ! The pool is excellent ! Tennis court is perfect! And you can find a good concierge at the hotel lobby.Restaurant serves you best fishes ever made.

Room Tip: Rooms which are closer to lobby have a private pool :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed November 2012. Very accommodating staff. Personalized service. A group of three went for dinner off property, not only did we get dropped off, but driver picked us up precisely at the prearranged time.

Accommodated our group and others in the business lounge. Provided computer access to change airline reservations and check attractions with no additional charges.

Excellent service in a first class setting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

It used to be a magnificent hotel with superb location. No more as it closed just very recent. All staff were very sad and lost their jobs - with no prospects of being rehired. Building needed urgent renovation - but service remained very high by a highly committed staff- quite irresponsible - in a country where its so difficult to get employment .
Orient express needs to take responsible action towards employees - and not make hundreds of dedicated people redundant without proper notice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestcliffGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

Although your information is correct about the hotel closing, Orient-Express very much values all of our employees worldwide, and as such negotiated with the Johannesburg CCMA a very good deal for all employees; of course these details are confidential and I’m sure you understand the privacy of our employees is of utmost importance to all involved.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your views on TripAdvisor, and I do agree, the service levels at The Westcliff have been and will remain top level. The staff and management of this hotel are very proud of the service we offered over the past 15 years and we look forward to the next 15 years and beyond.

Ian Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A perfect location in Johanneburg, with a fatastic view, close to the Joburg Zoo. It's a well protected and safe place, with spacious rooms and a wonderful restaurant that offers outstanding views over Joburg.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel offers all services at highest standards. Breakfast and dinner is delicious - nearly a place in heaven.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestcliffGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and experience at the Westcliff on TripAdvisor.

For your information, the hotel is now CLOSED for an extensive 9-12 renovation of the entire property. Please do visit our web site for ongoing updates on the renovation plans, as well watch for the announcement of our exciting re-opening.

Thank you to all who have supported The Westcliff over the past 15 years.

Ian Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg

Address: 67 Jan Smuts Avenue | Westcliff, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa (Formerly The Westcliff)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much acclaimed and soon more impressive than ever, Four Seasons Hotel Westcliff Johannesburg welcomes you to a self-contained sanctuary in an affluent residential area. Perched on a cliffside, this resort-style retreat offers panoramic views over the neighbouring Johannesburg Zoo and the dense tree canopy of the city's prestigious northern suburbs. The ambience is like a sun-splashed Mediterranean village laced with courtyards, fountains and gardens. Fully transformed, the hotel's 117 guest rooms and suites offer cool, contemporary decor inspired by modern Africa. Four Seasons Hotel Westcliff Johannesburg is destined to become a lively social hub for the city's elite, and the first choice for business and holiday travellers - providing a pampering start or finish for a South African safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westcliff By Orient-Express Hotel Johannesburg
Westcliff Hotel Johannesburg
Westcliff Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.