We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   67 Jan Smuts Avenue | Westcliff, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa (Formerly The Westcliff)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I had booked a birthday breakfast for my husband at the lovely Westcliff Hotel.
From the time we stepped out the car, we were met with the most friendly, courteous people.
The restaurant had arranged a secluded area for us to dine - a lovely birthday card with a breakfast voucher that I paid in advance for was placed at the table courtesy of the Westcliff.
The buffet was laid out well and everything was yummy.
At the end of breakfast the waiters came out with a slice of cake and sand Happy Birthday. Me and my husband were surprised as I did not arrange it - they thought of everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestcliffGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about our courteous staff and our quality food, we are just thrilled you enjoyed the birthday celebration and glad our singing wasn’t too bad !

I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our entire team, it’s nice to receive such heartfelt comments.

Thank you,

Ian Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    82
    18
    20
    7
See reviews for
50
135
18
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is definitely a luxury resort.

The views are amazing! We didn't get a room with a view, so we could only enjoy it at the main hotel/restaurant. There's nothing like having breakfast with all of Johannesburg to take in!

Everyone is certainly friendly, but after backpacking across South Africa for the last two weeks and coming in from the bush, my husband and I definitely didn't fit into their typical clientele. It was a little bit awkward, but the front desk and all of the employees were very friendly and didn't seem to mind that we were dusty from our trek.

It is a bit of a pain to have to wait for transportation to get to your room. I like to go where I want to go, when I want to go. So having to wait for the transportation was a waste of time, and we ended up walking around the property (which is very large).

I enjoyed my experience, but I don't think I'd go back. I just wasn't the most comfortable there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestcliffGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and experience at the Westcliff on TripAdvisor. I will be sure to share your kind words to the Front Desk for their “friendly welcome”, they truly deserve every bit of praise.

The hotel is unique, being built on the side of a small cliff, which does present some transport issues, I am sorry the shuttle vans were not acceptable, we will be adding an elevator for the restaurants, along the side of the building, which may assist a little, but ultimately, there will always be a lot of walking around this hotel.

We hope you had a safe trip home; thanks again for your feedback.

Ian Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The location is stunning, with some of the best views in Johannesburg, but it is not particularly convenient if one is there on business. The rooms were comfortable and attractive, but need upgrading and, in particular, need more sound protection from the traffic noise of the nearby main road. The restaurant was a delightful place to have breakfast in the sun, but the service there at dinner the previous night was terribly slow. The leisure facilities, in particular the pool and the tennis court, are very good and unlike what is available in other Johannesburg hotels. My conclusion: I would return there if I was in Johannesburg on leisure, but not on business where the sub-optimal location and slow service count against it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestcliffGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very kindly for sharing your feedback with me, we actually take all guest feedback very seriously, and in fact I have already posted your comments to our team and will speak further regarding the service levels during dinner.

The hotel is starting to show shines of being tired, and in fact this is why we are thrilled to be slated for a full refurbishment starting early July. This will include all guest rooms, restaurants and banquets, as well all new uniforms for the team; we are giving this old gem a real polish.

We do hope to see you back, especially after the renovations.

Ian Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We slept 1 night in one of the standard rooms with a balcony. The hotel is located just off the highway and easy to find. As it was a really special occasion, we thought it might help to mention this in the reservation, but apparantly it only happens to other tripadvisor travellers that they get surprise upgrades or something special in their room because of special occasions! We had the Higher Tea on Sunday and it was a lavinsh spread. Everything was beautifully displayed and tasted great. The Le Terasse overlooks the city and is a very special and elegant dining area. We also had great service in there. We were less impressed with the salmon that we ordered for room service, it just was'nt as good as expected. The room was a good size and a lavish a spacious bathroom. Unfortunately the soap rack above the bath was missing it's glass base so was good for nothing (see photo). While one of us was in the bath the room service arrived and we realised that the bathroom door could not close properly. As we tried one more time we heard a big bang and one of the panels from the bath fell off (see photo). Later when my hubby was in the bath I tried one more time to close the bathroom door and I kid you not, another panel from the bath came off! This did not feel like 5 star. Breakfast was adequate but not like what I have seen at other 5 star hotels. This hotel is by no means cheap, especially for locals! The grounds around the hotel are stunning and very well kept. There is also a convenient shuttle that goes up and down the hill every few minutes so you don't have to walk everywhere - it is quite a big property. Although it was an enjoyable stay, I would next time stay elsewhere when looking for a 5 star property as there are a number of top notch establishments in and around Jhb.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestcliffGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and experience at the Westcliff on TripAdvisor. I was very disappointed to read of so many missed opportunities to impress. You are right, we take great pride in offering up surprises to our guests with special occasions happening, sorry we failed to provide this for you, really I am.

The hotel has served us very well, but as you noticed, it is getting very tired and ready for a face-lift, this is why I am thrilled to announce a full refurbishment starting very soon. This will include all guest rooms, restaurants and banquets, as well all new uniforms for the team; we are giving this old gem a real polish.

I was sorry to read of the salmon issues, normally our food gets rave reviews, hopefully this was just a once off.

We do hope to see you back, especially after the renovations.

Ian Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel itself is lovely. The beds are comfortable and the service is good. The favial i had with their sugnature products was goid as well. I really enjoyed my tomato soup at the polo lounge.

There were a few little things that surprised me though that they need to work on:

1) The phones at both this hotel and the mount Nelson (where I stayed in CapeTown) are terrible. They are out dated and didn't work well at either hotel. They had to remove one of the phones in my room because it would randomly ring once or twice and hour for no reason.

2) the scale provided was outdated as well and not functional.

In general, it looks like the hotel put a lot of money into their bathrooms and such, but for some reason the little things were all out dated.

Once they get the little things fixed it will be a better hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestcliffGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and experience at the Westcliff on TripAdvisor. You are right; the hotel does look a little outdated, this is why I am thrilled to announce a full refurbishment starting very soon. This will include all guest rooms, restaurants and banquets, as well all new uniforms for the team; we are giving this old gem a real polish.

We do hope to see you back, especially after the renovations.

Ian Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed overnight enroute to Livingstone as part of a packaged excursion off the Queen Mary 2.
The hotel was stunning and there was little reason for wanting to leave the property and venture into Johannesburg as apparently the only safe places were purported to be shopping malls which I had little interest in. The polo bar was in particular a great place for relaxing, the pool had a great view and the setting amongst the gardens and shrubbery of the rooms was a credit to the gardeners.
The rooms are a little "laura ashley" for my taste but did not detract from the overall experience, the large bath and the accompanying accroutrement with it particulary appreciated.
Fantastic dinner and breakfast. Would have no hesitation about staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top of the hil closer to the restaurant had bettere access to the facilities and were l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestcliffGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff and the hotel, I will be sure to pass your kind comments to the entire team. The grounds are stunning, our crew of 8 dedicated men do a wonderful job tending to our gardens.

There is a lot to see in Jo’burg, and one must not be too worried to venture out, if you visit the many tourist destinations, you will be safe, one must always have their wits about them in any big, cosmopolitan city, Jo’burg is no different.

We definitely hope to see you back again soon.

Ian Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a beautiful property with stunning views from the restaurant. The food in the restaurant and in the more casual dining area is excellent. Breakfast is more than generous. The rooms are huge and the bathrooms are palatial.

On the minus side, the hotel’s cars and tours are ridiculously expensive and the free shuttle does not go to the mall frequently enough – as a result one feels somewhat stuck at the hotel. I eventually got the name of a private taxi service from a local contact so that improved things.

Also, some of the hotels rooms need a little bit of sprucing up. I had to move rooms in the middle so I saw several rooms.

I was there for an event that took place at the hotel so I did not have to go out each morning for business or for tourism. I am not sure how the hotel would rate in terms of convenience in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestcliffGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and experience at the Westcliff on TripAdvisor. You are right; the hotel does need “sprucing up”, this is why I am thrilled to announce a full refurbishment starting very soon. This will include all guest rooms, restaurants and banquets, as well all new uniforms for the team; we are giving this old gem a real polish.

I was sorry to read of the shuttle issues, as this van is available to go to mall whenever requested. There is no schedule, when requested, we send the van to either Rosebank or Sandton; I am very sorry this was not clearly conveyed.

We do hope to see you back, especially after the renovations.

Ian Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg

Address: 67 Jan Smuts Avenue | Westcliff, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa (Formerly The Westcliff)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much acclaimed and soon more impressive than ever, Four Seasons Hotel Westcliff Johannesburg welcomes you to a self-contained sanctuary in an affluent residential area. Perched on a cliffside, this resort-style retreat offers panoramic views over the neighbouring Johannesburg Zoo and the dense tree canopy of the city's prestigious northern suburbs. The ambience is like a sun-splashed Mediterranean village laced with courtyards, fountains and gardens. Fully transformed, the hotel's 117 guest rooms and suites offer cool, contemporary decor inspired by modern Africa. Four Seasons Hotel Westcliff Johannesburg is destined to become a lively social hub for the city's elite, and the first choice for business and holiday travellers - providing a pampering start or finish for a South African safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westcliff By Orient-Express Hotel Johannesburg
Westcliff Hotel Johannesburg
Westcliff Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.