We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   67 Jan Smuts Avenue | Westcliff, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa (Formerly The Westcliff)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We enjoyed an exquisite and absolutely creative dinner at The Westcliff - including a wonderful view from the terrace, a professional and friendly service and some amazing details in the menu itself. The excellent composition of the menu, the choice of wine and the dessert (piece of art!) transformed the evening into an unforgettable experience.

The room was nice and clean, we especially liked the spacious bathroom and the really good quality of the beauty products.

In the morning we had breakfast with a variety of juices and egg variations in a relaxed atmosphere. Very attentive service again...

We will definitely come back to visit the Spa and the Pool area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestcliffGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and for your kind words about our restaurant and food, I have passed along your comments to our Executive Chef, always nice to have positive feedback.

In March we are launching a new “Higher” Tea, maybe if you have time, pop by in March and sample our new offering.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Ian Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    82
    18
    20
    7
See reviews for
50
135
18
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a High Tea afternoon at The Westcliff... shuttle service takes you to the tea room, you are served with unlimited ice tea, the service is good, the food is served buffet style, not a variety for vegetarians though, more seafood & meat dishes.. the food was good but not great! The tea selection was limited unfortunately.. which was disappointing! the sweet selection of treats were delicious. Overall the views from the hotel are beautiful overlooking the pool, JHB zoo & the city. The hotel is well kept, the gardens are beautiful & staff friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestcliffGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback; I sincerely appreciate you sharing your thoughts concerning our High Tea. In fact in March this year, we are launching our new “Higher” Tea, which will include a larger food selection. I will let our Chef know about the vegetarian choices, you are right; we need to make everyone feel welcome at our buffets.

Hope to see you in March.

Ian Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Westcliff is a large, sprawling hotel on a steep gradient. This gives it amazing views of Johannesburg and means walking around the hotel grounds is a bit of a pain.

The rooms must have been amazing in decades past, and the size and bathrooms still reflect this. Everything feels a little dated now, right down to recurring electrical problems (TV not working, electricity tripping).

Service is generally very good but obtrusive - I find this very irritating on business trips where I just want to get to my room and not deal with 20 people wanting to help or long check-out procedures.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestcliffGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, I sincerely appreciate you sharing some of the frustrations you feel while staying at the Westcliff. In 2013 we are embarking on a full renovation program, building by building, which will address the TV and dated look and feel.

As for the service, sometimes our team tries too hard and they need to learn to “read our guests” better to see who wants the “full-on” service, and who just wants to be “cared for in a quiet, unobtrusive manner”; with training, we will improve on this point.

Thanks again for your feedback, very valuable indeed; have a terrific summer.

Ian Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have stayed at this Hotel many times and am never disappointed. The rooms are absolutely beautiful, spacious with ovely amenities, the pool area is so relaxing and the staff a pleasure to deal with from the front door man to your housemaid. Little shop at reception sells some lovely things which are not too expensive. Plenty of local shopping 5-15 minutes away anyway.
The restaurants at The Westcliff are fabulous - breakfast is delicious with lots to choose from and the selection is continually refreshed. The view overlooking the main pool and Joburg Zoo is just amazing and when the jacarandas are in bloom you never want to leave. Wait staff are just so professional, our particular waiter remembered each day exactly what we wanted to drink in the way of juices, coffees for our party of 4. The Polo Lounge is also good value and the main restaurant for dinner is not to be missed. We were celebrating a special occasion and it was made more special by the wonderful service we received. Off the premises in surrounding areas there are lots of good restaurants including the fun Moyo at Zoo Lake.
Dont miss the little village of Parkview 5 mins away - gorgeous coffee shops and Seringa Living is worth having a look thru for lovely African collectables.
My experience at the spa was not fabulous but could not take away from a wonderful stay just don't knock yourself out to fit in a treatment would be my advice.

Room Tip: All rooms at this hotel are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestcliffGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and for the very kind words about our Front Doorman, who in fact recently won Employee of the Year, and for our small Boutique; my assistant actually takes care of this shop and she truly has a passion for the items she sells.

We are so thrilled you enjoy our hotel and our hospitality, and we hope to see you again soon.

Have a wonderful summer !

Ian Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary for one night. The room 205 was great with quick access to a private plunge pool. Drinks and dinner and the polo club was great with exceptional service from the staff who were happy to chat with us while we sat around for drinks. We really felt like we were in holiday for the one night and were made to feel welcome. Charges for food and drinks are on the pricey side but in line with 5 star hotels. Breakfast we felt was expensive at R200 per person but still tasty.

The main swimming pool has a great view over jhb and well worth a dip in. As it was our anniversary they decorated our room with rose petals- a sweet touch thanks! We can not fault the hotel on anything except that they forgot to deliver out newspapers in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestcliffGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and for the kind words about our Polo Bar team, they are a fun group. I am sorry we missed your newspaper; maybe we wanted you to have a true vacation, with a break from the news of the world :-)

We all hope to see you back soon; have a great summer !

Ian Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I visited this hotel over the Christmas period, and from the moment I arrived felt special.
We only went for afternoon tea, something they do on a regular basis.
The hotel is built on a steep incline but have no fear the hotel has regular shuttle services for quests to and from all areas.
So Afternoon tea was a spread to be hold, the room it self was beautiful and the views over Johannesburg zoo and the surrounding areas including the hotel's beautiful pool was breathtaking.
Afternoon Tea something I have always wanted to do and was not disappointed a wide selection of savoury foods,cooked meats, salads,sandwiches,soups and sushi followed by beautiful deserts and fresh fruit. This was all washed down with Iced teas coffees and hot tea or alcholic beverages if you choose.
The staff were very attentive and on the whole a wonderful experience

Room Tip: We did not sleep unfortunately
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestcliffGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and for the kind words about our hotel and especially our High Tea. In March we are launching a new “Higher” Tea, which will be unmatched by our current tea settings, please come back and see what special offering we have in store for the people of Jo’burg..

Have a terrific summer.

Ian Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I travel to SA a couple of times per year for work, and ALWAYS stay at the Westcliff. Wonderful service, beautiful grounds with fantastic views, easy transport to dining areas (Melrose Arch and Nelson Mandela Square). If you ever miss the shuttles for these places you can always call for a private car, which are reasonably priced and arrive very quickly. They also really help to plan any excursions you'd like to take (Pilanesburg National Park, Aparteid Museum, etc).

I will actually be checking in again next month! Can't wait to have tea on my terrace again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestcliffGM, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and for the kind words about our hotel, and we are thrilled to welcome you back. Just for your information, in March we are launching a new “Higher” Tea, which will be unmatched by our current tea settings, please come back and see what special offering we have in store.

Enjoy your summer.

Ian Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg

Address: 67 Jan Smuts Avenue | Westcliff, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa (Formerly The Westcliff)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much acclaimed and soon more impressive than ever, Four Seasons Hotel Westcliff Johannesburg welcomes you to a self-contained sanctuary in an affluent residential area. Perched on a cliffside, this resort-style retreat offers panoramic views over the neighbouring Johannesburg Zoo and the dense tree canopy of the city's prestigious northern suburbs. The ambience is like a sun-splashed Mediterranean village laced with courtyards, fountains and gardens. Fully transformed, the hotel's 117 guest rooms and suites offer cool, contemporary decor inspired by modern Africa. Four Seasons Hotel Westcliff Johannesburg is destined to become a lively social hub for the city's elite, and the first choice for business and holiday travellers - providing a pampering start or finish for a South African safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westcliff By Orient-Express Hotel Johannesburg
Westcliff Hotel Johannesburg
Westcliff Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.