We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Table” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ten Bompas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ten Bompas to your Saves list
Ten Bompas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Bompas Rd | Dunkeld West, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I have not stayed at the hotel but we have enjoyed both breakfast and dinner on several occasions in small and larger parties. We have always enjoyed the innovative menu, the attention to detail and friendly service.

In pleasant weather a breakfast on the pool deck is delightful and you have the option of the elegant dining room when eating outdoors is less attractive.

Somehow if there is a 'family occasion' to be celebrated, Ten Bompas always seems to spring to mind first.

Frank & Jenny

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Frank and Jenny, thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on Ten Bompas on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stays and your meals at Ten Bompas. I would like to let you know that there are some changes afoot. We are changing the interior of the hotel restaurant and it should open mid June serving French inspired cuisine. At the same time we are busy developing 8 Bompas and will open two new conference rooms and a lounge and terrace overlooking the hotel's vegetable gardens. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ten Bompas and to our new restaurant. Warmest regards Peter and the Ten Bompas Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
15
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

First I must mention that I have been visiting Ten Bompas on and off for 10 years. And there has been a steady decline in the experience the last few years. The service today has been lacking, it was like it was our waitress' first day and that she has never waitered before. The breakfast was a combination of partially cooked mushroom, old looking potatoes and messy poached eggs. Asked for Dan the manager twice, still waiting... Could not in good conscience recommend Ten Bompas to anyone. I still struggle to understand that this kind of experience is acceptable in the current world economic situation.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Alwyn

Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent experience at Ten Bompas. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast. We prefer not to overcook fresh produce and we poach our eggs in a pot of boiling water with the result that they are not perfectly shaped. Nevertheless as soon as the waitress was told that the food was not to your liking she should have offered a replacement or taken the meal off the bill. This is a good lesson for us all and we have had a meeting with our serving staff this morning empowering them to do just that. I understand that our General Manager did ask for your telephone number - as he was out when you table concluded their breakfast meeting. Of course he should have attended to the complaint when he first became aware of it. My apologies for your disappointment but my thanks for the lessons we have learnt from this. If you do decide to return to Ten Bompas for another breakfast, please let me or Danie know as we would be delighted to offer it to you with our compliments. Warmest regards, Peter Aucamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We often stay over in Johannesburg en route to other South African destinations. We stayed at Ten Bompas for the first time this year on two separate nights because the hotel we normally use was booked. This might prove to be our first choice in future, and we would definitely recommend it. The rooms/suites are very spacious and well laid out, with every amenity including coffee machines. We were able to add an extra bed so our three children could share one room, and there was still plenty of space. There are ipod docks in each room and good wifi signal. There were also lots of lovely extra touches which made the stay special: complimentary mini bar and spirits, with delicious hot snacks provided each evening. Meals are generally delicious: the inclusive breakfast had lots of choice and the chef was especially helpful in adapting choices for our daughter. Dinner was also great, in particular the banoffee pie which we rated the best ever. The staff were friendly and helpful and made our stay very enjoyable, even though we were there for just the one night each time. The mood was calm and peaceful, even in the centre of the city, and we will definitely use Ten Bompas on future trips.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Ismelda

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your recent visit to Ten Bompas Hotel. Thank you for providing such detailed feedback on your stay and it is gratifying to see that you enjoyed the meals in the hotel's restaurant. We started our own vegetable garden in the beginning of 2012 and hope to make produce sourced from the hotel's gardens more of a feature in our restaurant. Although we always served coffee on a complimentary basis we thought it a good idea to also introduce Nespresso machines into the suites for guests who preferred to make their own. It is good to see that you liked this feature. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to Ten Bompas! Warmest regards, Peter Aucamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Gorgeous suite which has all the amenities you would need for your comfort. The suite is beautiful, It has a large shower, steam bath, fireplace and a complimentary bar.

All I can say is this is one of the best Hotels I have stayed at and I have travelled to and stayed at many hotels. I hope it has maintained it's standards

I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Cocoa-Mocha2012

Thank you for letting us know of your experience at Ten Bompas Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will visit us again. Warmest regards Peter Aucamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for two glorious nights at the end of our Southern African tour. From the moment we walked into the front doors we were made to feel so welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff took a real interest in what we wanted and needed without being noisy and intrusive.
The room or rather suite - was beautiful. The bed after long busy days were just what the doctor ordered. Pillows can always be an issue when travelling - but not here. We had friends over for dinner one evening and the food was really good. We felt safe and secure in a city that does not always feel that way. We will come again and hopefully bring friends with us next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Meredith. Thank you so much for this post, we are delighted that you enjoyed two nights at Ten Bompas. Thank you also for mentioning the efforts of the staff and the kitchen. It was wonderful to have you stay with us and we hope to see you again. Warmest regards Peter Aucamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

A birthday weekend to cherish...
The staff at 10 Bompas helped my husband to give me a fabulous treat. The open mini bar and spacious room also added to the stay. Weather was lovely so we really enjoyed the garden.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Blissful Voyager - Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at Ten Bompas. It was wonderful that you and your husband chose Ten Bompas for your birthday treat. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our team contributed to this. Warmest regards Peter Aucamp and the Team at Ten Bompas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We went to Ten Bompas for a birthday dinner on Saturday, 17. It should have got the warning bells ringing that we were the only party on a Saturday night (much later, another table was occupied). At first, we enjoyed the atmosphere, kids were playing in the garden, just the service was slow and unattentive.

The wine arrived- warm with no ice bucket in sight. We had to specifically find the waiter again to ask for both an ice bucket to cool it and for ice to regrettably dilute a fine wine. Not what you expect from an establishment that clearly wants to play in the first league.

It got dark. No one brought a light. We had to find our waitress again (she hardly ever checked on us), and asked for a light. We ordered food. Had to do it twice, as the waitress came unprepared and noticed at the end that she would not be able to remember 8 starters and 4 main courses. She got a notebook and returned. We repeated our orders a few times, especially since my son is a fussy eater and we wanted just plain Tagliatelle (on the menue) without any of the trimmings, just with butter. She asked if he wanted avo. We confirmed, but repeated another 2 times to her: JUST butter and avo - nothing else. She confirmed.

Food took forever to arrive -weird, since we were the only guests at that time. Then only 5 of 8 plates arrived. 3 arrived 8 minutes later! My son's Tagliatelle arrived with all the trimmings, and not as ordered. I told the waitress, and she sheepishly said that the food is pre-mixed and it can't be changed ( I didn't think this would be Wimpy - I thought the food would be prepared fresh!). She also said nothing when we ordered, even after we repeated a total of 3 times during the lenghty order process that we want nothing else.

She took his plate back to the kitchen. Another eternity later he was served - now with chicken!!! Which part of: 'JUST butter, NOTHING else' was too hard too understand?

Another mix- up with the desserts, which I repeated 3 times to her, and she recited back wrongly 2 times...

The only redeeming factor was the food, which is undeniably brilliant. But this can't weigh up warm wine, waiters that disappear all night and a complete disregard of customer wishes.

A pity for the chef, he can't save such poor service!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Enibas

Thank you for your feedback of your recent dinner at Ten Bompas. It is such a pity that an otherwise good meal could be upset by poor service. Although the waitress misunderstood the order, this should not have happened with better training and with proper supervision by the manager on duty. As with all items on the menu, the tagliatelle is prepared to order and can easily be prepared without the accompanying ingredients. We are grateful for your comments as it has enabled us to take up each of the issues raised with the waitress, the duty manager and the rest of the serving staff. We previously arranged formal tastings of the menu for the servings staff with an instruction on how the dishes are prepared. Your comments illustrate the need for us to continue this practice. While we are sorry that the service was disappointing, we are happy that you found that the food served was of a high standard. I hope that you will give us another chance and that we have the opportunity of serving you again at Ten Bompas, this time ensuring that the quality of service matches the food. Warmest regards, Peter Aucamp, Ten Bompas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ten Bompas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Bompas

Address: 10 Bompas Rd | Dunkeld West, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ten Bompas 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary boutique hotel with Ten large suites located in peaceful garden setting close to the business and commercial areas of Rosebank, Hyde Park and Sandton. Also home to Winehouse popular al fresco restaurant serving French cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Ten Bompas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ten Bompas Sandton
Ten Bompas Hotel Sandton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ten Bompas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.