We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay over in Johannesburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ten Bompas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ten Bompas to your Saves list
Ten Bompas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Bompas Rd | Dunkeld West, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Johannesburg
Herts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay over in Johannesburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We often stay over in Johannesburg en route to other South African destinations. We stayed at Ten Bompas for the first time this year on two separate nights because the hotel we normally use was booked. This might prove to be our first choice in future, and we would definitely recommend it. The rooms/suites are very spacious and well laid out, with every amenity including coffee machines. We were able to add an extra bed so our three children could share one room, and there was still plenty of space. There are ipod docks in each room and good wifi signal. There were also lots of lovely extra touches which made the stay special: complimentary mini bar and spirits, with delicious hot snacks provided each evening. Meals are generally delicious: the inclusive breakfast had lots of choice and the chef was especially helpful in adapting choices for our daughter. Dinner was also great, in particular the banoffee pie which we rated the best ever. The staff were friendly and helpful and made our stay very enjoyable, even though we were there for just the one night each time. The mood was calm and peaceful, even in the centre of the city, and we will definitely use Ten Bompas on future trips.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Ismelda

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your recent visit to Ten Bompas Hotel. Thank you for providing such detailed feedback on your stay and it is gratifying to see that you enjoyed the meals in the hotel's restaurant. We started our own vegetable garden in the beginning of 2012 and hope to make produce sourced from the hotel's gardens more of a feature in our restaurant. Although we always served coffee on a complimentary basis we thought it a good idea to also introduce Nespresso machines into the suites for guests who preferred to make their own. It is good to see that you liked this feature. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to Ten Bompas! Warmest regards, Peter Aucamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
12
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Gorgeous suite which has all the amenities you would need for your comfort. The suite is beautiful, It has a large shower, steam bath, fireplace and a complimentary bar.

All I can say is this is one of the best Hotels I have stayed at and I have travelled to and stayed at many hotels. I hope it has maintained it's standards

I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Cocoa-Mocha2012

Thank you for letting us know of your experience at Ten Bompas Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will visit us again. Warmest regards Peter Aucamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for two glorious nights at the end of our Southern African tour. From the moment we walked into the front doors we were made to feel so welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff took a real interest in what we wanted and needed without being noisy and intrusive.
The room or rather suite - was beautiful. The bed after long busy days were just what the doctor ordered. Pillows can always be an issue when travelling - but not here. We had friends over for dinner one evening and the food was really good. We felt safe and secure in a city that does not always feel that way. We will come again and hopefully bring friends with us next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Meredith. Thank you so much for this post, we are delighted that you enjoyed two nights at Ten Bompas. Thank you also for mentioning the efforts of the staff and the kitchen. It was wonderful to have you stay with us and we hope to see you again. Warmest regards Peter Aucamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A birthday weekend to cherish...
The staff at 10 Bompas helped my husband to give me a fabulous treat. The open mini bar and spacious room also added to the stay. Weather was lovely so we really enjoyed the garden.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Blissful Voyager - Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at Ten Bompas. It was wonderful that you and your husband chose Ten Bompas for your birthday treat. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our team contributed to this. Warmest regards Peter Aucamp and the Team at Ten Bompas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We went to Ten Bompas for a birthday dinner on Saturday, 17. It should have got the warning bells ringing that we were the only party on a Saturday night (much later, another table was occupied). At first, we enjoyed the atmosphere, kids were playing in the garden, just the service was slow and unattentive.

The wine arrived- warm with no ice bucket in sight. We had to specifically find the waiter again to ask for both an ice bucket to cool it and for ice to regrettably dilute a fine wine. Not what you expect from an establishment that clearly wants to play in the first league.

It got dark. No one brought a light. We had to find our waitress again (she hardly ever checked on us), and asked for a light. We ordered food. Had to do it twice, as the waitress came unprepared and noticed at the end that she would not be able to remember 8 starters and 4 main courses. She got a notebook and returned. We repeated our orders a few times, especially since my son is a fussy eater and we wanted just plain Tagliatelle (on the menue) without any of the trimmings, just with butter. She asked if he wanted avo. We confirmed, but repeated another 2 times to her: JUST butter and avo - nothing else. She confirmed.

Food took forever to arrive -weird, since we were the only guests at that time. Then only 5 of 8 plates arrived. 3 arrived 8 minutes later! My son's Tagliatelle arrived with all the trimmings, and not as ordered. I told the waitress, and she sheepishly said that the food is pre-mixed and it can't be changed ( I didn't think this would be Wimpy - I thought the food would be prepared fresh!). She also said nothing when we ordered, even after we repeated a total of 3 times during the lenghty order process that we want nothing else.

She took his plate back to the kitchen. Another eternity later he was served - now with chicken!!! Which part of: 'JUST butter, NOTHING else' was too hard too understand?

Another mix- up with the desserts, which I repeated 3 times to her, and she recited back wrongly 2 times...

The only redeeming factor was the food, which is undeniably brilliant. But this can't weigh up warm wine, waiters that disappear all night and a complete disregard of customer wishes.

A pity for the chef, he can't save such poor service!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Enibas

Thank you for your feedback of your recent dinner at Ten Bompas. It is such a pity that an otherwise good meal could be upset by poor service. Although the waitress misunderstood the order, this should not have happened with better training and with proper supervision by the manager on duty. As with all items on the menu, the tagliatelle is prepared to order and can easily be prepared without the accompanying ingredients. We are grateful for your comments as it has enabled us to take up each of the issues raised with the waitress, the duty manager and the rest of the serving staff. We previously arranged formal tastings of the menu for the servings staff with an instruction on how the dishes are prepared. Your comments illustrate the need for us to continue this practice. While we are sorry that the service was disappointing, we are happy that you found that the food served was of a high standard. I hope that you will give us another chance and that we have the opportunity of serving you again at Ten Bompas, this time ensuring that the quality of service matches the food. Warmest regards, Peter Aucamp, Ten Bompas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have just spend a full day on a senior management strategy session at this venue. A great venue with a good understanding of what it takes to make the meeting succesful. The attention to detail was good. Mangement checked in from time to time and made sure all our needs are attended to. The lunch was fantastic. Well done and keep it up

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for posting your feedback on your recent conference. It is wonderful for us to hear that you were looked after by the management and staff and especially that you enjoyed the lunch. We are improving our facilities with a new wireless skype system in the boardroom. If there are any other items you feel we need or should address, please let us know. We are about to create a slightly larger conference venue at 8 Bompas which will be able to accommodate more guests. Thanks again, warmest regards Peter Aucamp and the Ten Bompas team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed at the Bompas for one night after coming off an African camping safari. Could not have picked a better place to stay. Such great value for money and the best service from any hotel I have ever stayed in. Staff were incredibly attentive and went out of their way to assist. Free mini bar and laundry included in room rate was a real bonus. Food was fantastic. The salmon was out of this world and very reasonably priced. The breakfast was terrific too. Great selections of continental and hot foods all freshly prepared. Only flaw of the place is that there is no gym. Rooms were immaculate and great design and fit out. Very relaxing you don't feel like you are in Joburg at all. Would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone travelling to Joburg for business or pleasure. Better than any other 5 star hotel I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Kellie, thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Ten Bompas on this site. We were delighted that you enjoyed the suite and also got to eat at our restaurant. With only 10 suites, it is difficult to have a gym that would suit most needs so we make use of the gym facilities at Planet Fitness a large gym about a 5 minute drive from the hotel. Warmest regards Peter and the team at Ten Bompas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ten Bompas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Bompas

Address: 10 Bompas Rd | Dunkeld West, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#18 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ten Bompas 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary boutique hotel with Ten large suites located in peaceful garden setting close to the business and commercial areas of Rosebank, Hyde Park and Sandton. Also home to Winehouse popular al fresco restaurant serving French cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ten Bompas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ten Bompas Sandton
Ten Bompas Hotel Sandton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ten Bompas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.