We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is outstanding...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ten Bompas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ten Bompas to your Saves list
Ten Bompas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Bompas Rd | Dunkeld West, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Service is outstanding...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night in May following a lengthy amount of time on the road in Africa. While it was a little above our budget, we decided to splurge and I'm so glad we did! This boutique hotel is lovely - great food, spacious rooms, excellent facilities - but what sets it apart is the service. Attentive, personable, friendly staff made our stay here one to remember, even if was just 24 hours. The free laundry, wifi, mini bar, transfers, champagne, etc; here you really feel the commitment to great service and this for us, was what we really appreciated above all else.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Adam, thank you so much for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Ten Bompas. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel but even more at your comment that it was the staff at the hotel who made the difference to your stay. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us hope to see you again at Ten Bompas. Peter Aucamp and the Ten Bompas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
12
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel nice staff always ready to help makes sure a person is statisfeid with the good service givern

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Jarrodbaby

Thank you so much for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. Fantastic that you enjoyed your stay with us - we hope that we have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Kind regards Peter Aucamp and the rest of the team at Ten Bompas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Everything about this hotel is superb, the location, the quality of sleep, the cleanliness, the service, the space, the small size, the fantastic armosphere, the wifi, the gardens and outdoor dining in the very beautiful gardens and especially the food. There are no other hotels in Johannesburg that offer all of this together. A wonderful experience!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
We are humbled by this wonderful review of our small hotel. We hope to keep it up to this standard. Thank you so much, Peter and the rest of the team at Ten Bompas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is an amazing hotel. A genuine oasis within the hustle and bustle of Jo'Burg.

All the large rooms are very tastefully and individually decorated. There's wi fi and a complimentary mini bar and laundry service too (Yes, you did read that right!). Large comfy beds and plenty of room as well.

Staff are super helpful. Sides restaurant has great food and there's lots of good wines too.

I stayed on business, but would recommend Ten Bompas to anyone visiting Jo'Burg.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Moody 79 - we are delighted that you enjoyed Ten Bompas and that it offered a peaceful environment. We have taken note of what you like about the hotel and intend to continue to ensure that it provides a home away from home to the pressured business guest! Hopefully we can look forward to your next visit! Peter Aucamp and the rest of the team at Ten Bompas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend in May 2011. The service was very friendly and professional and made you feel welcome from the very beginning.

The suite we had was amazing, with lots of thoughtful touches such as ipod dock, fireplace, open bar, complimentary canapes and champagne. The fire was a little tricky to work out though, and the room was a bit too cold.

We had dinner and 2 breakfasts at the restaurant which were absolutely fantastic.

The grounds itself were well maintained but nothing very special.

This hotel is a nice alternative from a larger place, with the personal touch and a few eclectic features that make it memorable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We have now added a vegetable and herb garden which we hope you will visit. We hope to see you again! Warmest regards Peter Aucamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Ten Bompas on the way back from a wedding in Mozambique. We typically prefer boutique hotels over large chains and with all of the great reviews and the lure of individually designed rooms it sounded like a superb idea. Overall we were very pleased. The breakfast was no doubt the best I've ever had at a hotel. The service was splendid - in particular, our concierge was phenomenal. In fact, he is such an asset to the hotel that if it were up to me, I'd make him part owner, seriously. My only complaint is that it was c-o-l-d in our room! We visited in the winter time and it honestly seemed colder in our room than it did outside at night. Even with the fireplace going and the heat on maximum it was still too cold to walk around the room without bundling up. I discovered this was due in part to drafts coming from the windows and doors leading to the patio area. Otherwise, it was wonderful. We would certainly recommend the hotel to others but I think if we're paying $500 nightly I expect to be comfortable in the room without having to wear my winter jacket!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We took note of your comments on the draft - this has been fixed by inserting rubbers under the aluminum doors. We can confirm that the hotel rate in 2012 is now less than US400 a night for a full suite and includes full breakfast, complimentary mini bar, laundry and high speed wifi. We hope to see you again! Warmest regards Peter Aucamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights with my husband and 2 year old daughter. We all loved Ten bompas. From the moment we checked in, we felt we made the right choice for our hotel in Joburg. Super friendly and attentive staff, nothing was a problem, and all our requests were dealt with efficiently and with a huge smile. The restaurant was the best food we had in all our trip in SA. The suites are large, confortable and very secluded, all you hear is the sound of birds, and had a small outdoor area to relax in. The bathroom has steam room (v. cool) shower and a separate bath. The laundry is free (yes!) and was done at super high speed. The minibar is also free with all you may need to make your room time more enjoyable. The 5 pm treat (changed everyday) was also a lovely surprise.
The garden is an oasis, and was perfect for us to have lunch while our toddler run around!
This was by far my favourite hotel in SA.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wombat1, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Thank you so much for taking time to post a review on our hotel and your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Ten Bompas and appreciate that you identified those aspects of the hotel which you liked. We have passed on your kind comments to our team.We hope that we will have another opportunity of welcoming you to Ten Bompas sometime in the future. Peter Aucamp, Ten Bompas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ten Bompas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Bompas

Address: 10 Bompas Rd | Dunkeld West, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#21 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ten Bompas 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary boutique hotel with Ten large suites located in peaceful garden setting close to the business and commercial areas of Rosebank, Hyde Park and Sandton. Also home to Winehouse popular al fresco restaurant serving French cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ten Bompas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ten Bompas Sandton
Ten Bompas Hotel Sandton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ten Bompas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.