We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet getaway for business or recreation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Johannesburg Midrand

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Pretoria Road Box 7853 Halfway house, Johannesburg 1685, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 71 hotels in Johannesburg
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet getaway for business or recreation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Located in the outskirts of Johannesburg at Midrand city, the Hotel offers a quiet environment for business and entertainment.

Party lovers will however not find a lot of entertainment spots around the Hotel, as the Suburb in which the hotel is located is an affluent suburb.

Security at the hotel, especially when you decide to stroll outside the hotel compound is average. Friendly staff and really good infrastructure.

With buthtubs that are really clean, you would not wish for rain showers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2917-gm, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Midrand, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Aroundtheworldformak

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Mercure Hotel Midrand and for sharing your experience.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Michelle Cross
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
11
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a little dated in terms of rooms, but they are currently refurbishing the bathrooms and installing rain showers. Although not the newest, it has been reasonably well kept up, and contains all the things you would expect in a business room, including safe, refrigerator, kettle etc. It's a little disappointing that internet is not included (you get a nominal 20MB per day free, but that's nothing); and when we tried to use the business centre we found the computer still runs Word 2003 (!) Staff were well trained and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2917-gm, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Midrand, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear FrequentTravellerKV

Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor and we appreciate your comments.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Michelle Cross
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

They have a friendly staff, very good infrastructure. I only stayed there for one day, but that was enough to recommend it. The dinner and breakfast were amazing, I could finally taste the flavor of good food after some time travelling.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2917-gm, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Midrand, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Fernando M

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Midrand. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michelle Cross
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have stayed at this location a number of times over the last 2 years and have found it excellent value.

The hotel whilst not being in the best immediate surrounds are secure and gated and make the guest feel very safe. It is well located for the motorway and surrounding facilities.

Reception and breakfast staff are very helpful and any queries dealt with promptly.

I always use this hotel when flying in and out of OR Tambo Airport or watching cricket at Centurion / Wanderers, as while it is not the closest I find it is the best value.

Wireless Internet is good, but could be better value; breakfast is good quality but relatively expensive.

Room Tip: Have only ever stayed in a ground floor room, and find these to be excellent. Ask for a no-smoki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2917-gm, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Midrand, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear PatrickJones

Thank you for the review for our hotel, we appreciate the positive feedback.

Thank you for the loyalty you have shown to our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Yours Sincerely

Michelle Cross
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The staffs were very helpful and professional. It is a small gated hotel right behind the convention centre. This was very convenient for me as I didn’t have to spend money on taxis. Very nice and clean rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h2917-gm, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Midrand, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear DrD74

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours Sincerely

Michelle Cross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Johannesburg Midrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Johannesburg Midrand

Also Known As:
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel Johannesburg
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel
Accor Johannesburg Midrand
Address: Old Pretoria Road Box 7853 Halfway house, Johannesburg 1685, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Johannesburg Midrand 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the business district, 30 minutes from OR Tambo international airport, 20 minutes from Sandton Convention Centre, within walking distance of the Gallagher Estate, the biggest conference centre in the southern hemisphere. 92 comfortable airconditioned rooms, secure outdoor parking. Pay shuttle service on request. 24 hour security. The restaurant is open from Monday to Friday (6.30 a.m.-10.30 a.m.) and on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays (7.00 a.m.-11.00 a.m.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Johannesburg Midrand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Johannesburg Midrand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mercure Johannesburg Midrand to your Saves list