We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Johannesburg Midrand

Save Saved
You added Mercure Johannesburg Midrand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Pretoria Road Box 7853 Halfway house, Johannesburg 1685, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 71 hotels in Johannesburg
uk
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Very nice business hotel, staff very nice and helpful, rooms well appointed, clean and beds very comfy and quiet....its all i ask for!

Stayed here a couple of nights, had dinner outside in the restaurants which were also nice - the bills were passed back to the hotel. Breakfast was good value too.

There is a also a big shopping mall within walking distance.

Room Tip: i stayed at the back away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
11
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Location is quite convenient for Gautrain or for drivers. Rooms very pleasant indeed: well-furnished, clean, and comfortable. Prices are very reasonable indeed (I paid about R520 or R550, I think). Internet access (paid for) did exactly what it said it would. Staff were really lovely - a definite strong point! Highly recommended. Didn't have breakfast, as it appeared overpriced ... but there are plenty of other options around.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

the location of the hotel and the website were fantastic.
it was very easy to find, the booking and the reservation was fast and reliable.
All service in reception and in the room were on high expectations. i will be glad to be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I made the reservation utilising the Internet. Upon arrival I was told that I had not paid, despite completing this process via the Hotels website. I required a place of safety to store my Notebook and iPad, the Receptionist informed me that a safe was available in my room. When I enterd the room I placed the devices and other valuables in the safe provided and attemted to set the electronic lock - unfortunately the battery power which enables the lock had run flat. I contacted Reception to rectify the problem, I was however informed that this was not possible. They could move me to another room or I could store my valuables within the Reception Safe-deposit area. I real and frustrating inconvenience. Breakfast was totally over priced.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

it was overall a good stay,conveniently located between joburg and pretoria,so it will be best bet to have transport of your own.reception staff was friendly and helpfull.it is near the Boulders shopping mall,and also other shops.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Its a very good bed and breakfast, idealy located for people travelling for work, not really for the tourists. It does not have room service but you can order delivery from various restaurants in Jo'burg or just in front of the hotel you have one of the cities largest malls so you could dine there. The rooms are average, again they are good for business travellers not really too many frills. Each unit has a small kitchen. Service as some of the earlier comments state varies a lot. The breakfasts are really good, wish they did dinners too. Its in a quieter part of town and a good 20-30 minutes from some of the sites.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Johannesburg Midrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Johannesburg Midrand

Also Known As:
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel Johannesburg
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel
Accor Johannesburg Midrand
Address: Old Pretoria Road Box 7853 Halfway house, Johannesburg 1685, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Johannesburg Midrand 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the business district, 30 minutes from OR Tambo international airport, 20 minutes from Sandton Convention Centre, within walking distance of the Gallagher Estate, the biggest conference centre in the southern hemisphere. 92 comfortable airconditioned rooms, secure outdoor parking. Pay shuttle service on request. 24 hour security. The restaurant is open from Monday to Friday (6.30 a.m.-10.30 a.m.) and on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays (7.00 a.m.-11.00 a.m.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Johannesburg Midrand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Johannesburg Midrand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.