We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Qualityfor excellent price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Johannesburg Midrand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Johannesburg Midrand to your Saves list
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Pretoria Road Box 7853 Halfway house, Johannesburg 1685, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
A TripAdvisor Member
“High Qualityfor excellent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

the location of the hotel and the website were fantastic.
it was very easy to find, the booking and the reservation was fast and reliable.
All service in reception and in the room were on high expectations. i will be glad to be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I made the reservation utilising the Internet. Upon arrival I was told that I had not paid, despite completing this process via the Hotels website. I required a place of safety to store my Notebook and iPad, the Receptionist informed me that a safe was available in my room. When I enterd the room I placed the devices and other valuables in the safe provided and attemted to set the electronic lock - unfortunately the battery power which enables the lock had run flat. I contacted Reception to rectify the problem, I was however informed that this was not possible. They could move me to another room or I could store my valuables within the Reception Safe-deposit area. I real and frustrating inconvenience. Breakfast was totally over priced.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetown
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

it was overall a good stay,conveniently located between joburg and pretoria,so it will be best bet to have transport of your own.reception staff was friendly and helpfull.it is near the Boulders shopping mall,and also other shops.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flatronCapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Its a very good bed and breakfast, idealy located for people travelling for work, not really for the tourists. It does not have room service but you can order delivery from various restaurants in Jo'burg or just in front of the hotel you have one of the cities largest malls so you could dine there. The rooms are average, again they are good for business travellers not really too many frills. Each unit has a small kitchen. Service as some of the earlier comments state varies a lot. The breakfasts are really good, wish they did dinners too. Its in a quieter part of town and a good 20-30 minutes from some of the sites.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhi2001_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
153 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

The Mercure Hotel in Midrand is ideally situated for anybody needing to go to Gallaghar Estate. It's just a short drive (some even walked) from the hotel to the conference and exhibition centre. I wouldn't recommend it to tourists though as its far away from the tourists sites and in the middle of a business area. Was very impressed when I saw that the hotel contributes to the planting of a tree if you re-use your towls for 3 days by hanging it up. Big was my disappointment when I found that even if you hang up your towls, they still replace them. Duh?!?!? What's the use? Another problem is that they have no swimming pool.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FireflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

A good hotel with decent breakfasts. Had a great view. But service was a bit spotty. Depended on who was working at the front desk. Rooms are average to small (at least the one we had). More of a business hotel than a tourism one. Efficiency seems to be top priority.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goboy776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

The hotel is located in Midrand, a modern small city with a central business district located between Jo'burg and Pretoria. It is located in a safe area with some shops around (petrol station opposite, Pizza Express, Restaurants etc.). The staff was very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. As we booked a very special online rate we did not expect so much. But the rooms were clean, adequate, a lot of TV channels, the bathroom was also very clean. We had no opportunity to test the breakfeast. However, the staff was very heldfull all the time, they did phone calls for us, reserved other hotels of the Accor Group etc. Overall, it is a good hotel with a excellent price rate in a safe area. They have also own (safe) parking facilities.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank frawey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.1 mi away
The Gallagher Hotel
The Gallagher Hotel
#6 of 9 in Midrand
3.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chisam Guest Lodge Pty Ltd
Chisam Guest Lodge Pty Ltd
#47 of 73 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
9.9 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#24 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Hotel Midrand
Premier Hotel Midrand
#1 of 9 in Midrand
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
15.4 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
0.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#5 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Johannesburg Midrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Johannesburg Midrand

Address: Old Pretoria Road Box 7853 Halfway house, Johannesburg 1685, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Johannesburg Midrand 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the business district, 30 minutes from OR Tambo international airport, 20 minutes from Sandton Convention Centre, within walking distance of the Gallagher Estate, the biggest conference centre in the southern hemisphere. 92 comfortable airconditioned rooms, secure outdoor parking. Pay shuttle service on request. 24 hour security. The restaurant is open from Monday to Friday (6.30 a.m.-10.30 a.m.) and on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays (7.00 a.m.-11.00 a.m.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Johannesburg Midrand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel Johannesburg
Accor Johannesburg Midrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing