We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Eastgate

Save Saved
You added Garden Court Eastgate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Garden Court Eastgate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ernest Oppenheimer Avenue | Bruma, Johannesburg 2026, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 71 hotels in Johannesburg
Hoedspruit, South Africa
1 review
“Convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed there mid-July for the second time this year. The location is very convenient to the airport and shopping at Eastgate. The staff are very friendly and efficient and all the facilities work. My only problem was with the dining room. Buffet dinner offering commercial sausages (bangers), stew, dried out chicken fillets with pumpkin, cauliflower, pap, rice doesn't equate to R165 for me! Breakfast is supposed to commence at 06h30 and I was there as I had to catch an early flight. The food was only all put out by 06h45 and a chef didn't appear to cook eggs until 06h50! I believe the dining room needs some serious attention.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
6
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stay in this hotel several times since it was Holiday Inn. The hotel is renovated now with a more modern look. The service is good and the rooms are large and comfortable with all the facilities we need. The food is nice and the staff is friendly. What I like most is its location, just 5 minutes from the Eastgate Mall and another minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great business hotel, only 15 min from OR Tambo.

Across the road from Eastgate shopping mall. This is a huge shopping centre.

The rooms are simple and you need to pay extra for wifi.
The price is not cheap so if you are expecting something very special rather choose another hotel.
South Africa needs to catch up with the rest of the world when it comes to free wifi.

The breakfast is also simple but included in room price.

The staff are very friendly!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same size
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakuru, Kenya
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at this hotel and I have to say it is really good. It is quite close to the O.R. Tambo international airport. The staff are very helpful and generous. The lady manager there was really polite and very helpful. The location is excellent as the Eastgate mall is just a 5 minute walk away. The food range for non-vegetarians is broad but the vegetarian food is quite limited.We had to eat pasta for about four out of the five nights we were there. We also took a packed lunch on a couple of days which were exceptional. The hotel rooms are very clean and well organized. The beds are very comfortable and I really enjoyed the sleeping experience there. The bathrooms are also clean and the showers are very good.
All in all, a very good comfortable hotel with a very good and professional staff

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 Nights at this Hotel and i must say that the staff is very courteous and helpful. Food is excellent ( except for veg choices which is very limited).
The Room is neat and tidy and very comfortable.
The Mall is just across the street and is walking distance from the hotel. Transfers can be organized for reasonable tarifs, to Sandton or even to the airport.
All in all, it has been a very good experience and i would recommend it to fellow travellers.
As a closing line, i would say that it was quite safe to walk around the Hotel and mall even after 6 PM, but then, might just be a question of luck!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Garden court with my wife and 2 little kids during a family vacation to South Africa.We stayed a night but it was worth it-maybe because it was a weekend. (i understand the hotel is busier on week days).Close to Eastgate mall,arguably the biggest in South Africa.The hotel is in a great location.The rooms are tidy and all facilities are available and functional,bathroom is ok,courteous staff.The hotel is just fine.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As an overnight stop in Jo'burg, the Garden Court Eastgate is easily found and has secure parking, good customers service, comfortable if a little non-descript rooms and decent food.
The staff at reception were helpful, the room was equipped with everything we needed and I'd say this was a good 3 star hotel to stay at whilst in Jo'burg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden Court Eastgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Eastgate

Also Known As:
Garden Court Eastgate Hotel Johannesburg
Garden Court Eastgate Hotel
Garden Court Eastgate Johannesburg
Address: Ernest Oppenheimer Avenue | Bruma, Johannesburg 2026, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Eastgate 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Johannesburg hotel offers proximity to the CBD, while ensuring that guests can enjoy a slower pace during their downtime. Within minutes of the O.R. Tambo International Airport, the Garden Court Eastgate also offers easy access to a range of leisure activities in the vicinity. It is on the doorstep of the Eastgate Mall, one of the country’s largest shopping centres. Set amidst attractive gardens, the hotel also offers excellent facilities including wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Garden Court Eastgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Court Eastgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.