We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean and Well Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Morningside Sandton

Save Saved
You added Garden Court Morningside Sandton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Rivonia Road & Cullinan Close | Morningside, Johannesburg 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean and Well Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

When on business in the Sandton area I always make a point of trying to stay in this hotel. It is good value for money and situated away from the bustle of Sandton. However, it is close enough to some great restaurants in the Sandton Square area. A steakhouse is currently been built on the hotel property and should open in 2013. If eating out, get the really friendly reception staff to organise you a reasonably priced taxi, and avoid the really expensive rip off taxis at Sandton Square. The hotel serves great breakfasts and has a really nice pool area to enjoy an evening drink. The room are clean and spacious, however, the bathrooms are starting to show their age with peeling wallpaper. Great all round hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
7
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone, Botswana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel several times now. Bringing the kids was not a problem. The room was big enough for a couple and 2 kids. Good selection for breakfast, though variety wasn't changing much when we stayed for 3 nights, though fresh daily. The staff were friendly and helpful. Kids enjoyed the pool and the gym was great as well. Wifi available and affordable. Not much activities during the holidays though. Worth the rate!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klerksdorp, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Morningside Garden Court is situated very close to the Hub of Sandton, close to MonteCasino and other shopping areas, but just far enough to be peaceful and quiet. Love the location, it has a beautiful pool as well as a gym for those that want to work out before a super breakfast.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise - but are only accessible by able people as the hotel does not have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a great hotel, offering great value for money, great location, service and rooms. In general our stay was splendid and i would recommend the hotel to all my firneds and people wanting to be in a vibey and great area for perfect prices. The Breakfast was superb and the staff a pleasure. Porters smiling and reception staff over friendly- what a pleasure. Good job team!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My experience with Garden Court Morningside was a very pleasant one. We received great value for the prices we paid. The staff was friendly, our room was clean, the breakfast was good and the hotel has a great location. I will with out a doubt stay here again. Great value!

Room Tip: Book a few weeks before your stay - great prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Recently stayed three nights. I'm a frequent traveler, and this was one of the most pleasant stays I've had in a three star hotel. Clean, good breakfast, pleasant well-lit lobby and outdoor tables, good locations. But most notable was the staff. Very competent and helpful. On the first day there was a small delay in getting a taxi, so the manager himself drove me to Sandton City mall. The next day I had a broken suit button. The entire staff went to work, one sewing, another driving to the nearest store to pick up a selection of buttons to find one that matched. Problem solved in a matter of minutes. On the third day, I left my converter in the lobby socket and it disappeared. The staff gave me a replacement and treated me to dinner. After a long trip and a string of hotels, this was a pleasant and productive stay and very reasonably priced. I'm grateful to the staff and highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: avoid ground floor rooms if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

What a dive. We arrived at the hotel around 10pm, and i was told they had no non-smoking rooms available (this is specified on my reservation). Eventualy i was given a non smoking room, that according to the reception, had been cleaned and was ready for guests. The desk in the room was so dirty, I could not put my suitcase on it. I called for someone to come and clean it. Even the cleaner was shocked. The toilet seat and not been cleaned, the corners were full of cobwebs, and I don't think the carpet has seen a vacuum cleaner this decade. The cupboards are definitely not cleaned as previous guests hand marks are still clearly visibly. The blankets are old and dirty. If it was any earlier in the day, I would have checked out immediately. I am just grateful there were no bedbugs!
The next morning I tried the gym, the state of the equipment is not much better. Pilates balls are flat, mats are dirty and there is no water.
My experience did not improve with breakfast either - muesli was stale and the eggs for omelettes are artificial.
When I went to tell the manager about my experience, she said she had heard that my room was dusty.....
This hotel will not be seeing me again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Court Morningside Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Morningside Sandton

Address: Cnr Rivonia Road & Cullinan Close | Morningside, Johannesburg 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#20 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Morningside Sandton 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Johannesburg hotel offers its guests comfort and affordable luxury in the heart of one of the city’s most fashionable suburbs. Allowing convenient access to many of Joburg’s attractions, it is the ideal base from which to conduct business or engage in leisure pursuits. Morningside offers convenience, but still provides peace and quiet at the city’s perimeter, so that visitors can relax amidst the bustle of this vibrant metropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Garden Court Morningside Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Morningside Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Court Morningside Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.