We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Great Hotel in general :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Morningside Sandton

Garden Court Morningside Sandton
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Garden Court Morningside Sandton to your Saves list
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Rivonia Road & Cullinan Close | Morningside, Johannesburg 2146, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Great Service, Great Hotel in general :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a great hotel, offering great value for money, great location, service and rooms. In general our stay was splendid and i would recommend the hotel to all my firneds and people wanting to be in a vibey and great area for perfect prices. The Breakfast was superb and the staff a pleasure. Porters smiling and reception staff over friendly- what a pleasure. Good job team!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    36
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
10
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My experience with Garden Court Morningside was a very pleasant one. We received great value for the prices we paid. The staff was friendly, our room was clean, the breakfast was good and the hotel has a great location. I will with out a doubt stay here again. Great value!

Room Tip: Book a few weeks before your stay - great prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Recently stayed three nights. I'm a frequent traveler, and this was one of the most pleasant stays I've had in a three star hotel. Clean, good breakfast, pleasant well-lit lobby and outdoor tables, good locations. But most notable was the staff. Very competent and helpful. On the first day there was a small delay in getting a taxi, so the manager himself drove me to Sandton City mall. The next day I had a broken suit button. The entire staff went to work, one sewing, another driving to the nearest store to pick up a selection of buttons to find one that matched. Problem solved in a matter of minutes. On the third day, I left my converter in the lobby socket and it disappeared. The staff gave me a replacement and treated me to dinner. After a long trip and a string of hotels, this was a pleasant and productive stay and very reasonably priced. I'm grateful to the staff and highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: avoid ground floor rooms if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

What a dive. We arrived at the hotel around 10pm, and i was told they had no non-smoking rooms available (this is specified on my reservation). Eventualy i was given a non smoking room, that according to the reception, had been cleaned and was ready for guests. The desk in the room was so dirty, I could not put my suitcase on it. I called for someone to come and clean it. Even the cleaner was shocked. The toilet seat and not been cleaned, the corners were full of cobwebs, and I don't think the carpet has seen a vacuum cleaner this decade. The cupboards are definitely not cleaned as previous guests hand marks are still clearly visibly. The blankets are old and dirty. If it was any earlier in the day, I would have checked out immediately. I am just grateful there were no bedbugs!
The next morning I tried the gym, the state of the equipment is not much better. Pilates balls are flat, mats are dirty and there is no water.
My experience did not improve with breakfast either - muesli was stale and the eggs for omelettes are artificial.
When I went to tell the manager about my experience, she said she had heard that my room was dusty.....
This hotel will not be seeing me again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We recently stayed at the Garden Court Morningside and booked 2 rooms for 3 adults and 2 small children - both with 2 double beds each. The hotel is situated just off Rivonia Road and is 5 minutes from Sandton City Mall, 15 minutes from Montecasino, 30 minutes from OR Tambo airport and walking distance to McDonalds, a shopping centre and a few garages.

Our check in was smooth and we were given both rooms immediately. My sons even received a special welcome pack for kids and were kept entertained for hours with the goodie bag.
The rooms are adequate for 2 adults and 2 children. The TV is unfortunately quite small and the aircon quite loud, however the rooms have comfortable beds and a nice bathroom with a separate shower, basin and bath. You get body wash, soap, shampoo and a shower cap in your bathroom. Other toiletries like, lotion, shavers etc can be ordered from reception free of charge. The room has a lovely tea/coffee making facility and is replenished daily with tea, coffees, hot chocolate, milk and biscuits. The hotel is not noisy and is quite pleasant if you have a room facing the pool.

The breakfast room is small when the hotel is busy but there is additional seating on the terrace overlooking the pool. We ate outside twice and it was lovely taking in the morning sun. Breakfast is really good for a 3 star hotel. They cater for all tastes and have a selection of cereals, fruit, yogurts, a wonderful hot breakfast selection of lamb/chicken/pork sausages, eggs, veggies as well as fresh juices, a selection of muffins and an amazing automatic coffee machine, offering over 6 different drinks. Their feshly baked croissants are delicious! The staff at breakfast are awesome, friendly and so accommodating. They will even bring you, your drinks or eggs if you ask them to.

The hotel has a pool and a small fitness centre which has the standard excerise machines. The security at the hotel is great, with controlled entry and exit at all times. Room service is open from 17h30 till 22h00 and has a good selection of meals and desserts.

The hotel is great value for money and I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vryheid
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed here for two nights recently. The rooms are small but tidy. The aircon is outdated and noisy. The tv is so small it would be better on the seatback for a long haul flight.
I am a member of their frequent guest program and paid for the room using points. I was not greeted by name at reception as is the standard for frequent guests at the Southern Sun hotels. They also asked how I planned to pay for the room and when I explained and showed them again the confirmation papers from the website there was a lot of umming and eventually the reception lady went away to sort out the issue. I was made to wait almost 30 min while they sorted out their paperwork. It was all in order as I had pointed out. I didn't need that after a long drive.
On a positive the pool area is lovely and the breakfast was excellent. On the first day it would have been nice if the Macon had been labelled as such instead of being called bacon but that is a small niggle.
I don't think I would stay here again for a weekend away as it does not meet the normal Garden Court standards but it would be fine for an overnight business stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side and on the right from reception. Rooms to the left face a very busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. The rooms are ok but the tv is too small for a garden court hotel. Bathroom is spacious with seperate shower and bath. The best part of the hotel is the swimming pool and the gardens surrounding the it. Breakfast room can get full easily as it is not very not. Breakfast was fantastic. Would easily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Court Morningside Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Morningside Sandton

Address: Cnr Rivonia Road & Cullinan Close | Morningside, Johannesburg 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#24 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Morningside Sandton 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Johannesburg hotel offers its guests comfort and affordable luxury in the heart of one of the city’s most fashionable suburbs. Allowing convenient access to many of Joburg’s attractions, it is the ideal base from which to conduct business or engage in leisure pursuits. Morningside offers convenience, but still provides peace and quiet at the city’s perimeter, so that visitors can relax amidst the bustle of this vibrant metropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Garden Court Morningside Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Morningside Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Court Morningside Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.