We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of StayEasy Eastgate

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
StayEasy Eastgate
Save
You added StayEasy Eastgate to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 South Boulevard road | Bruma, Johannesburg 2026, South Africa (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I did a years tour of South Africa and have stayed at many hostels, B&B's and hotels. My first stop was the Stay Easy in Johannesburg which was like a Best western in the states. Comfortable rooms, not luxurious but you are also not paying the price of a luxurious hotel. Every thing in the room and the hotel was very clean and the staff were very kind and helpful. If I visit South Africa in the future I will definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    13
    0
    4
See reviews for
12
9
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I loved the hotel,clean,good,very close to mall,but they could try to change the breakfast daily especially for those staying longer periods

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay area
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights during the 2010 world cup. Rooms were decent size, clean and comfortable.The hotel staff were nice and helpful. The eastgate mall is about a 5 minute walk and we felt safe walking to it during the day and the mall has a good number of restaurants to choose from.

Somewhat far from the central locations like Sandton. You need a car if you plan to travel around Johannesburg.

Gave a low point on value because the room rates were very high during the World Cup. That probably is not the case at other times during the year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
352 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

This hotel is well located in a fairly safe area, very close to the freeway from the airport into central Johannesburg but far enough away to be very quiet at night. The trip from the airport takes 25-30 minutes in rush hour traffic and less than 10 minutes without it. Central Joberg is another 20 minutes down the road. Eastgate is a convienient option if you have business in the City and don't fancy hanging around there at night.
The rooms are smallish but fine for one person. There is no closet space but room to hang a few shirts and a suit and a safe big enough for a laptop. The bathroom is miniscule and not scrupulously clean but the shower is good. There is a small swimming pool and a nice gym a few blocks away for which the hotel will sell you a voucher, but few other relaxation facilities. There is no restaurant but there are a number of fast-food places a short drive away. You can walk to the closer ones but the security staff at the hotel do not reccomend it, especially at night. There is a huge mall on the other side of the freeway, 2 minutes drive. I would not stay here without a car.
All the staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful and made an effort to remember my name; not something I expect in a hotel that markets itself as a budget stopover place. Breakfast was good. All in all an excellent value for money package.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2005

Great Value for money, small rooms but clean and comfortable, great shower. Decent Breakfast

  • Stayed July 1999
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
#38 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
6.2 mi away
No photo provided
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#42 of 71 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#33 of 71 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#18 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
12.5 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
#36 of 71 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to StayEasy Eastgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StayEasy Eastgate

Address: 8 South Boulevard road | Bruma, Johannesburg 2026, South Africa (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — StayEasy Eastgate 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For affordable accommodation in the eastern suburbs of Johannesburg choose the StayEasy Eastgate Hotel. Situated midway between the Joburg CBD and the O.R. Tambo International Airport this hotel is a favourite of business and leisure travellers alike. Equipped with all the comforts of home, offering excellent service and great facilities this hotel offers some of the most affordable accommodation you will find in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stayeasy Eastgate Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage StayEasy Eastgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.