We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch in Soweto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sakhumzi's

Sakhumzi's
Vilakazi Street | Soweto, Johannesburg, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #146 of 754 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: African
Restaurant details
Port Eliabeth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch in Soweto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had lunch at this establishment,the food was exceptionally tasty and the ambience was very good. Beers and drinks were ice cold. Waitress wasn't fabulous but the overall experience is well worth a visit. As a South African I loved the idea of being in Soweto, it made me realize how far we have come as a nation.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

After visiting the Mandela house and Hector Peterson museum we stopped at Skahumzi for an early lunch. We were welcomed and seated and after having been served our drinks our waiter took us to the buffet to explain the dishes. The salads were delicious if you ask me and the main courses as well as the dessert also very good! I can really recommend this place! For everyone; friends, families, couples, tourists and locals :)
I wish I could've come back later in the day or at night, I'm sure it's a great vibe!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I wish to express my bad experince in Sakhumzi yesterday(26th December 2013).The waiter explained to us what is on the buffet menu(about 4 types of meat).To our surprise only mogodu and pieces of wors were served at the food station.The lady who was responsible never bothered to explain to us as we were all expecting more meat to be served instead she just ignored us.The mogodu was full of sebete and can you imagine having rice, green salad and mogodu for R120.00.If the lady responsible could have explained
to customers instead when asked she said its not responsibility, rudely so.I wish the owner was a around to see horrible customer service especially on a holiday

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Memorable experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We had an office function touring the township of Soweto and ended off having our lunch at Sakhumzi's. The area set out for us had no air-conditioning or ventilation of any sorts, we would rather have preferred to dine at the outside seating, which was packed. The buffet service which was set up for us in our venue was limited and we had to share the buffet service with several other people which resulted in there not being enough food to be had. The atmosphere however was lovely. The rest room facilities were in a terrible state and could have done with a good clean let alone an upgrade.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“n African experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The vibe in the restaurant was just so amazing. People from all walks of life were sitting together sharing an african experience. African cuisine and township vibe's all mixed at one place, it was great.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakhumzi's also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Soweto, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Sakhumzi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakhumzi's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.