We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent African restaurant opposite Mandela House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sakhumzi's

Sakhumzi's
Vilakazi Street | Soweto, Johannesburg, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 778 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent African restaurant opposite Mandela House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you want to taste some real african food they have a buffet here for R120 - eat all you can ... Excellent service and some traditional dancing for entertainment too. Good place to unwind after visiting the famous sights.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No visit to Soweto complete without a meal at Sakhumzi's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I really so enjoyed being able to wander the streets in the vicinity of the restaurant, after the sobering visit to the Hector Pieterzen Museum and equally sobering history of Mr Mandela's house. Being a foreigner, I was really impressed and grateful at the welcome to Soweto, and to be thanked for coming, so frequently. Loved the music, food, the courtesy of the staff, and in particular the waitress.

So enjoyed seeing the traffic life in the street (we sat at a street side table).

Brilliant, thank you

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great local experience in Soweto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went here after a long day sight seeing and really enjoyed the local vibe. We were one of the few tourists, so this is a real local haunt. Reminiscent of an australian sunday session, it is casual dining at its best. Try the ribs! Music gallore, good service and friendly faces. Not expensive at all. We ordered off the menu, rather than the buffet.

Great if you are travelling woth kids too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We recently ended our visit to Vilakazi Street's hector Pieterson Museum and Nelson Mandela house with Sakhumzi restaurant and were so impressed. We had an attentive, excellent waitress who explained the menu of snacks and we really enjoyed what she recommended. The atmosphere was vibrant and people watching was part of the experience. A day not to be forgotten.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Johburg at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

For ourselves and our Canadian friends sitting out on Vilakhazi street and being entertained by Saki's team ... Great. Great service, cold drinks and interesting food :) A must for all visitors to South Africa

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakhumzi's also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Soweto, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Sakhumzi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakhumzi's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.