We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome night out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Throbbing Strawberry

Throbbing Strawberry
Shop 1, Douglasdale Village | Leslie Road, Johannesburg, South Africa
27 1170469823
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 762 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had a great night out with friends at this restaurant. It was our first time there and we enjoyed everything - great cocktails, my husband loves the selection of beers, good wine and the food was outstanding! Service could be a bit faster - but the restaurant was packed so it is understandable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    21
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not so exciting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Food average, waiters not so exciting, and value reasonable.

Saturday lunch, should be hectic in Jhb, but not very well supported this time round!

Interesting food selection but felt it was delayed in reaching the table - particularly as the lonesome coffee order arrived piping hot!

About $20/head including limited wine and tip - main course only!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Declining ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Been there many times, but less and less frequent now. The quality has declined dramatically over the last 2 years. Ive seen it happen many times where a great restaurant becomes average the more popular it gets. Pushing to many tables now and paying less attention to the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness, South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I love going to Throbbing Strawberry, and go there quite often to eat, or just have a drink. I have never had a bad meal, and have always experienced good service, except for my last visit, when my table was ignored by all the waiting staff, and even by the "manager" who kept walking through the restaurant, looking but not seeing anything. The wine selection is not bad and their prices have remained reasonable, and even serve my favourite wine by the glass. The menu choices are excellent with decent sized portions, and they also have specials on the blackboard.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Came recommended - but I'll definitely not be recommending it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant came highly recommended by several people. We booked a table a few days ahead of time as we heard it can get busy. Despite having booked a table in advance, we were seated alongside the service counter (actually had to move our table so we didn't keep hitting our heads on the counter). The whole time the blenders were going right by our heads where they were making cocktails. We had to ask for a menu and when the food came it wasn't up to scratch. I ordered chocolate fondant for dessert, but this should be renamed to dry chocolate cake as it was very overcooked. Overall the service was bad and I would have expected a lot more from the food. Won't be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Throbbing Strawberry also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Throbbing Strawberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Throbbing Strawberry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.