We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La dolce vita!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Del Sol

Cafe Del Sol
Olivedale Corner Centre | Pres.Fouche Drive. Randburg, Johannesburg, South Africa
011 704 6493
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 738 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
“La dolce vita!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This little piece of heaven tucked away in a little shopping centre in Olivedale is a gem of delicious food, fine service and a warm inviting ambience. I had the beef wellington which was cooked to perfection. My colleagues ordered various gnocchis and ravioli and it turns out, it was just like 'mamma use to make'. Italiano resonates through every pore and indulgence reins supreme. You have to try this place or you haven't lived! :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    58
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Festive Celebration with style and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a fabulous evening. We certanily had to make a booking as we can now understand why this restaurant is ranked so high on Trip Advisor. Our waiter was a delight with an excellent sense of homour as he as serving nine fussy girls for our book club dinner. He was on top form and managed to get all the drink orders correct without even writing it down. The main meals were delicious and unusal combinations. We received quick service. This is truly a gem of a restaurant. Thanks for making our book club Christmas dinner a festive celebration!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The rudest most unfriendly maitre de I have ever dealt with”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The rudest most unfriendly maitre de I have ever dealt with. What a load of rubbish!
I will never ever go back and recommend that everyone avoid this venue

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Have always had great meals here. Staff well informed and keen to provide an excellent service. If squid heads are your favourite, and they should be here, order early as they are very popular.

The restaurant can get quite noisy, try get a table in the annex area which is a bit quieter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
1 review
“Sensuality on a plate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have been dining at CDS for a while and it just keeps on getting better and better. There is a lot to be said for a business that is family owned and run, hands on, always there. In my opinion one of the best if not THE best in Johannesburg. Go and be amazed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Del Sol also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Cafe Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.