We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe del Sol” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Del Sol

Cafe Del Sol
Olivedale Corner Centre | Pres.Fouche Drive. Randburg, Johannesburg, South Africa
011 704 6493
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 766 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sandton, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cafe del Sol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a hidden treasure in Johannesburg,warm friendly staff, excellent food and the visability of owner and her family highly recommended!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    69
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not Italian.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Was hoping for more when I visited this restaurant. I was not dissapointed but reading the reviews my expectations may have been raised too high. The food is good but cannot be called Italian. It is more fine dining then anything else. Service is good and the owners are hands on. Prices are high, but not rediculous considering the portion sizes and the quality. Ambience is fine. I may return.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“STUNNING!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

the BEST waiters-the Best service and the most awsome food..i honestly felt that what i had ordered was made especially for me..the BEST RESTAURANT in Johannesburg

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great service, delicious food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had lunch today in Cafe del Sol. Although we arrived at 2:45 pm, right before the kitchen closed, they professionally and politely accomodated us and provided a very friendly service. Moreover, the food was just delicious. All of us loved our choices, mainly pasta and risotto. I will sure go back to enjoy the risotto porcini... probably the best one in town. Thanks!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“The best restaurant near Olivedale Clinic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Have eaten two meals here (one dinner and one lunch).

The food is fresh and tasty.

The manager/staff are pleasant and well-informed.

The pricing is in keeping with the quality of the food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Del Sol also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Cafe Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.