We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tradition...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Radium Beerhall

The Radium Beerhall
282 Louis Botha Avenue, Johannesburg 2192, South Africa
(011)728-3866
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #152 of 762 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Portuguese, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tradition...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

For most people who have spent some time living in Johannesburg, the Radium Beer hall is a legend. Whether meeting work mates or a family sit down meal, the Radium holds a nostalgic place in most peoples hearts. The parking is an issue on busy days, so make sure the car is locked with no valuables in sight. What once was a vibrant Italian part of town, is today a bit of a third world society. But the legend of the Radium Beer hall, lives on.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    21
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ficksburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A bit of history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Is a great Olde Worlde place with a nice vibe. There are interesting bits of memorabilia strewn around. It started as a tea room and doubled as an illegal shebeen in days gone dy.

The bar counter itself is reputed to be more than 100 years old.

The food is average, so don't expect gourmet. There is often live music, although the night we went we all disliked the musician, but that was our fault - we should have done a bit more research and checked out who he was.

Its worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“WYBMDIITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Yep, I know, what a title....Next time you are at the Radium and Manny is around, see if this sign still causes many a punter to scratch his/her head.
Well, would you? Answer yes, and it becomes clear that Manny has "developed" this little acronym to get a free drink from you..Would You Buy Me a Drink If I tell You?

Anyway, I digress. I have not been past this historic landmark, but I must say that I have never had the pleasure to taste better prepared Barracuda steaks or grilled sardines with course salt, than I have had at the Radium.

Yes, they do serve food! I mention this because going for a quick ice cold pint at The Radium and ending up staying a "little longer" does make you think that the place is just about a great vibe, but when you savour a few dishes from the menu, you too will be hooked.

For the out of town folk, just take care, the neighbourhood has become dodgy and I am sure Manny had nothing to do with it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice old Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

No pretentions and full of character. Area does not attract you but well worth the visit. Good parking in the side streets. Good simple good value food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to meet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Have been going to The Radium for years and will keep going for years to come. Manny the owner is a legend. Food is fair but add the atmosphere it becomes great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Radium Beerhall also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Radium Beerhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Radium Beerhall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.