We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience- when there's a big event hosted here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of FNB Stadium

FNB Stadium
Nasrec, Johannesburg South 2147, Johannesburg, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 57 Attractions in Johannesburg
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing experience- when there's a big event hosted here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

FNB Stadium, aka: Soccer City, is a magnificent piece of South African architecture built in the shape of a calabash. While it's beautiful to see up close and marvel in its grandeur, there's not much to do if you plan to just stop by and take a look (besides getting some photos outside of the stadium from a distance). It's best enjoyed when a big music or sporting event is hosted there as the atmosphere is incredible.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    83
    19
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome, rocking venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The FNB Stadium has to be one of the best stadiums I have ever been to for a live event. Looking spectacular from the outside I have to say for a stadium it was also very comfortable inside. My friends and I managed to get seats quite close to the pitch and they had a lot more leg room that other venues especially considering one of our party was 6 ft 7. I haven't yet done the tour but look forward to doing it at some point in the future.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

A must do for any South African. Everything is working and very safe. Absolutely fabulous facility. At night it looks even more spectacular. Thank you world cup 2010! Go and watch a test at the stadium.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We went for many concerts in FNB stadium. Its huge, beautiful architecture, well maintained, capable for handling huge crowd & clean. Not very far from city easy to reach.

Really one of the best stadium ever seen.
Must Go!))

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
“Excellent venue for a concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I watched the Lady Gaga concert there - excellent venue, easy access, no long boring queues. It was great, service at the turnstiles was excellent, the venue was neat, the venue looks great form the outside too. It was a pleasure to go there for the concert - I am looking forward to more such events there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FNB Stadium also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to FNB Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FNB Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.