We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Italian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ghirardelli's

Ghirardelli's
Nelson Mandela Square in Sandton City, Johannesburg, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #198 of 767 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My most favourite Italian restaurant on Nelson Mandela Square. Friendly staff that gladly serves me my Pizza Fruity di Mare; delicious. But also there other meals are a great pleasure to have. My husband doesn't like fish and seafood, but has still a great variety of other meals to choose from.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    25
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Family Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very helpful setting up a large table as we arrived with 8 people.
Food was typical Italian and service was good especially with large orders.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good food value for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The food here was Italian and was tasty. The portions were big... we should have split a plate. Service was good. Enjoyed the restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good pizzas, but service left a bit to be desired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Visited while on a recent business trip to South Africa.
The pizzas they have are very nce - no issues there.
But the service was disappointing. Staff were not attentive, and got our drinks order wrong. They also did not seem to have a particularly good command of the English language.
Therefore we only visited this one on one occasion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“They almost grab you”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very understand, and not the easiest location to find because it is in a passage next to Trumps. However, lovely and affordable food and great pizza

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghirardelli's also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Ghirardelli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghirardelli's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.