We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Meat Co - Montecasino

The Meat Co - Montecasino
Shop 71, Montecasino Fourways Boulevard Fourways, Johannesburg, South Africa
+27 11 511 0235
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 728 restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good quality meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Good quality meal. We had lamb chops and steak. Overall a good experience. Maybe the prices are a bit on the higher side for South Africa but not high by international standards. I would definitely go again. Meat was perfectly done according to our request.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    31
    55
    29
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The quality of meat here reminded me of my country. Where we have #1 quality meat jeje had an excellent wine. Service wasn't that great. They took a long while to take our order. Only would go back for meal quality.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanston, Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Me and my family often go eat out at Monte and we always end up at the Meat Company, simply because the food is so good. The meat is cooked at exactly your preference. They have a great red wine selection. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The prices were really good for the quality of meat served. We had the fillet mignon. The weekends are really crowded, but we went after the Montecasino Theatre show on a Sunday night and it was not crowded. We were tourists there, but the crowd was mostly local at Montecasino.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klerksdorp, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“ALWAYS WORTH IT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Parking at Monte is a pleasure.
At the Meat Co: Service was friendly and prompt.
Our waiter was very friendly & efficient.
Our food was well prepared, well priced.
We enjoyed our meal and will go there again and again and .........

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Meat Co - Montecasino also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Fourways, Gauteng
 

Been to The Meat Co - Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meat Co - Montecasino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.